We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A great stay!!!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sierra Sands Family Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Sierra Sands Family Lodge
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Mears
Certificate of Excellence
Buffalo, New York
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A great stay!!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2011

We chose the Sierra Sands in large part based on the excellent reviews on Trip Advisor, and we're so glad we did. Our accomodations were flawless. The front desk staff was ultra-friendly and happy to help with local info and recommendations. The facility was great....pool and hot tub provided a wonderful refreshing break from the Dunes. The room was clean, comfortable, and well attended by the staff. We rented bikes right on site to ride around town....how convenient is that??? We enjoyed a DVD rented right from the front desk. This is a first class family hotel. You might try to find cheaper.....BUT if quality and comfort are important to you.....STAY HERE!!!!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bongobob42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

317 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    265
    42
    2
    2
    6
See reviews for
233
31
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Ann Arbor, Michigan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2011

We stayed at Sierra Sands for two nights in late Aug. It was a great experiences. They are super nice to all the customers, feel like stayed at your own home. We would recommend this hotel to everyone visiting the area. Silver Lake Sand Dune is a fun place to tour around. We walked all the way to lake Michigan, and the view is beautiful.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carol J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plainwell
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2011

went on a girls getaway weekend and stayed at Sierra Sands. This is a great place to stay.....clean, close to everything, very friendly and helpful staff and we just loved the pool and whirlpool. There were picnic tables, grills and a campfire area too. We had the family mini suite and we all slept so good. I would stay here again and would recommend this hotel. Plus there is plenty of parking for your vehicles and easy to get out of the parking lot too. Overall we had a great time.... thanks so much!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PlainwellBarbi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dayton, OH
Level Contributor
51 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2011

We stayed in a kid's suite with our 7- and 10-year-old, which is pretty much a regular room but in between what would normally be 2 queen beds is a partial wall, and there are bunk beds instead of a 2nd queen - practical and economical for a family of four if you don't like sleeping RIGHT NEXT TO your kids. Comfy beds, super clean rooms, very quiet - perfect place for a vacation getaway for families. Loved the pool, the continental breakfast was really nice (and tasty), and the service was outstanding. These are conscientious people who really care about running a great business and serving their hotel patrons well. There isn't a ton to do in Mears outside of go-karts/mini-golfing and going out on the dunes, that is, if you don't bike, hike or have a boat; there is practically no town to speak of, and no decent dining options (though we did pick up an awesome pizza from The Parkside Store), but Pentwater is just up the road and has a fantastic beach, lots of shops and restaurants. If you like burgers, check out the Brown Bear!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fitqueen15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Howell, Michigan
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2011

Staff was very friendly, pool was excellent for the kids to relax and hot tub for the parents. Breakfast was great with the homemade cinnamon rolls and fresh coffee. Everything was close to do and the staff recommended several great things for the family to do.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dad48843
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mears
7.6 km away
Dunes Express Inn & Suites
29.9 km away
Weathervane Inn
Weathervane Inn
#1 of 1 in Montague
4.0 of 5 bubbles 234 reviews
32.4 km away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#2 of 17 in Ludington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 412 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
32.0 km away
Snyder's Shoreline Inn
Snyder's Shoreline Inn
#11 of 17 in Ludington
3.5 of 5 bubbles 132 reviews
31.6 km away
Comfort Inn Whitehall
Comfort Inn Whitehall
#1 of 5 in Whitehall
4.0 of 5 bubbles 371 reviews
33.0 km away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Ludington
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sierra Sands Family Lodge? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sierra Sands Family Lodge

Property: Sierra Sands Family Lodge
Address: 7990 W Hazel Rd, Silver Lake, Mears, MI 49436-8605
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Michigan > Oceana County > Mears
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Mears
Price range (per night): ₹ 6,454 - ₹ 11,538
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newest family friendly lodging at Silver Lake Sand Dunes. Featuring Kid’s Suites with separate cozy bunkroom for children to enjoy their own TV/Play Station as well as a Two Bedroom Family Suite. Standard Rooms include two queen beds, flat screen TV, DVD player. Heated outdoor pool and spa, inviting park area, equipped with basketball area, playground equipment, picnic tables and grills. Experience the thrill and beauty of Silver Lake Sand Dunes and the beautiful beaches of Lake Michigan. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Sierra Sands Family Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sierra Sands Family Hotel Mears
Sierra Sands Family Motel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing