We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Tired & neglected” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Marquette

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Holiday Inn Marquette
Ranked #8 of 19 Hotels in Marquette
Traverse City, Michigan
Level Contributor
105 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Tired & neglected”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 October 2011

I have felt that I can rely on the Holiday Inn brand name the past few years as being pretty consistent in regards to quality and cleanliness. However, this past weekend I was disappointed. The Marquette Holiday Inn sits on a busy highway in Marquette and is well located for business or personal travel needs. After checking in we parked near the entrance door that the front desk staff directed us to and proceeded to carry in our luggage for a two day stay. Immediately we noticed stained and dirty carpeting near the entrance door and leading up to the elevator. The carpeting in the elavator was filthy and so was the area around it when we got off at our floor. The room itself was fairly clean but I would call it average at best. What we noticed later that evening when going to bed was that the large center window was not closed completely and despite several attempts it would not seal entirely. With a busy highway right outside, the traffic noise continued through the night. As someone who does quite a bit of home repair, I could see that the window would no longer seal and due to it's age would probably never be a tight fit again. While I was not expecting a 4 star hotel setting, I was expecting an updated and clean hotel experience. I had read that the parent company of Holiday Inn was putting more and more pressure on the franchise's that need updating but obviously that is not the case in Marquette, Michigan. This is not a terrible place to stay but certainly not up to Holiday Inn standards elsewhere.

Room Tip: Stay in a room that does not face the highway
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HelpYouTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

278 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    85
    85
    70
    26
    12
See reviews for
78
51
22
89
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore, Maryland
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 October 2011

The hotel is convenient but offers nothing special. The rooms are adequate but there are very few outlets and I had to rearrange furniture to get an outlet for my computer. Good internet connection. The ambiance is a bit tacky and there are constantly groups of people by every entrance smoking and/or drinking beer. Unlike other hotels in this price range, there is no complimentary continental breakfast, no complimentary newspapers and the laundry room was questionably clean and more expensive. There is a restaurant on site which is expensive for the quality. I might stay here again, but not if there were another choice.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Malonnie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mt.Prospect
Level Contributor
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2011

Had an uneventful stay. Rooms were clean, staff was very nice. Good breakfast buffet. Awesome large pool and hottub. Would definetly stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dmat998
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huntley, Il
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 September 2011

The room was $ 170.99 a night but we had an emergency so we took it.
The carpet was dirty in the room on the 5TH floor, the elevator carpet was dirty.
The bathroom smelled.
The new TV reception was terrible as well as the internet connection

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tedgeri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Marquette hotels

Chicago, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2011

We were there for NMU move-in weekend. We were in a room next to someone with a big dog that barked half the night. When they came back they and their young kids were very noisy . We also had to put up with a loud TV in the room the other side of us till wee hours of the morning. Then just as an added bonus we came home with bed bug bites!!! We would have been better off camping out in the dorm parking lot at NMU

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank liane s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ann A, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Marquette, responded to this review, 22 September 2011
We appreciate you taking the time recently to tell us about your experience at our hotel. We take our guest comments and reviews very seriously and had the room you stayed in inspected by a certified exterminator and are pleased to report there were no bed bugs found in the room. Our guests' comfort and security are our number one priorities and we certainly hope you will choose to stay with us again if your travels bring you to Marquette.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marquette hotels
0.9 km away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#1 of 19 in Marquette
4.5 of 5 bubbles 466 reviews
1.1 km away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Marquette
1.4 km away
Staybridge Suites Marquette
Staybridge Suites Marquette
#10 of 19 in Marquette
5.0 of 5 bubbles 11 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 km away
Hampton Inn Marquette/Waterfront
2.9 km away
Landmark Inn
Landmark Inn
#4 of 19 in Marquette
4.5 of 5 bubbles 320 reviews
0.9 km away
Days Inn Marquette
Days Inn Marquette
#5 of 19 in Marquette
4.0 of 5 bubbles 745 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Marquette? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Marquette

Property: Holiday Inn Marquette
Address: 1951 US Highway 41 W, Marquette, MI 49855-3119
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Michigan > Upper Peninsula > Marquette
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 19 Hotels in Marquette
Price range (per night): ₹ 7,199 - ₹ 14,463
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Marquette 3*
Number of rooms: 191
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether you are coming to Marquette for business or just for fun, you will find all that you need at the full service Holiday Inn. We pride ourselves in exceeding your expectations by going the extra mile for each guest, treating you like a valued friend, and being ready when you need us. Your home away from home is located within minutes from some of the area s most popular attractions including: Northern Michigan University Marquette General Health Systems Superior Dome Berry Events Center Lakeview Arena Shimmering Lake Superior Nationally recognized Greywalls Golf Course For business or pleasure We can help make your day. Enjoy a swim in our crystal clear indoor pool; the largest in the area, or relax in our over-sized whirlpool. Our family, friendly pool area has the space needed to accommodate all of our hotel guests. Don t miss a workout just because you are away from home. Take advantage of our on site fitness center conveniently located near the pool area. Polish that presentation at the business center or print off your boarding passes in our well equipped business center. Whatever brings you to Marquette, the Queen City of the U.P., we are here for you. We are the Holiday Inn of Marquette. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, IHG, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Marquette reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Marquette Hotel Marquette
Marquette Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing