We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Waste of time”

Vierling Restaurant and Marquette Harbor Brewery
Ranked #9 of 102 Restaurants in Marquette
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$ 5 - US$ 25
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Special Occasion Dining, Child-friendly, Local cuisine, Bar Scene
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Reservations
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

After being hung up on, then no answer for an hour, then told they were not taking reservations for tonight. When we get there they say they are full and you need a reservation. When we said we were told you were not taking reservations they said that means we are full. Guess I failed comprehension class. Wish they said full when we called so we didn't waste time going there

Date of visit: August 2021
1  Thank 307jrk
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (802)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

5 - 9 of 802 reviews

Reviewed 30 July 2021

We were a family of seven. The service was great, the food was awesome, and the beer was really good as well! Loved the historic aspect as well. Would definitely eat here again!

Date of visit: June 2021
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Bearsmom7
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 15 July 2021 via mobile

We got right in without a reservation--lucky for us! Both had Whitefish dinners but 2 different preparations-one scampi style and one grilled/seasoned. All proteins have multiple prep styles so there's something for everyone. The Blueberry cosmo was delish! Lots of craft beers too

Date of visit: July 2021
1  Thank CYNTHIA K
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 14 July 2021 via mobile

An elegant saloon with tables having a nice view of Lake Superior. You would hardly notice the place if you weren’t looking for it—very nondescript. But you step inside into a beautifully decorated very lively bar/restaurant filled with locals who know how good it is. We were there on a Tuesday night and were lucky to score a table. Otherwise, you can dine at the bar if some stools open up. Outstanding menu, carefully prepared food. I would recommend the white fish as it’s fresh and a speciality. Salads were interesting. Desserts looked good. They make their own beer and it was great, too.

Date of visit: July 2021
1  Thank SantaBarbaraBruin
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 9 July 2021

We got the very last reservation here for dinner on a Tuesday and were told we would have to sit in the "side room". That was unfortunate since this room was isolated from the rest of the restaurant, had no view and was totally lacking in ambiance. I had a martini that was not very generous in size but was only $5.25. My wife had a salad with ham, boiled egg and turkey, very little of the turkey. I had whitefish picatta which was smothered in capers. All the capers and sauce kind of obliterated any taste of the whitefish. I washed this down with Vierling's signature blueberry beer which was great.

Date of visit: July 2021
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Gorton54
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travellers who viewed Vierling Restaurant and Marquette Harbor Brewery also viewed

Marquette, Upper Peninsula
Marquette, Upper Peninsula
 
Marquette, Upper Peninsula
 

Been to Vierling Restaurant and Marquette Harbor Brewery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in India. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.