We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location, location, location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Best Western Plus Dockside Waterfront Inn
Ranked #3 of 39 Hotels in Mackinaw City
Certificate of Excellence
Baldwinsville, New York
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Location, location, location”
Reviewed 30 September 2011

Based on nothing else but location, this is where you want to stay in Mackinaw City. And the hotel is good too! It's located on the main-drag, walkable to dozens of resturants and the ferries to Mackinaw Island. The hotel has a wide beach on Lake Huron, which we would have enjoyed earlier in the year. Our particular room was on the third floor, in a part of the hotel where you needed a key card AND a brass key to get in. But the room was very large, with large scale furnishings (two queen beds, table and chairs, but no desk.) The WiFi worked. There was a large breakfast room (also on the third floor) and we didn't leave hungry! Pool and hot tub off the lobby looked inviting, but there were so many other things to do in the area that we never got to try them out.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Don_Rose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anna L, General Manager at Best Western Plus Dockside Waterfront Inn, responded to this review, 2 October 2011
Thank you for completing the survey regarding your recent stay at our property.

Your business is very important to us and we value your feedback. By telling us what you liked about your stay and how we can improve, you are helping us deliver a superior experience for you and other guests in the future. We hope you will come back and see us again soon.

If I can be of assistance in the future, please don't hesitate to contact me at 231-436-5001.

Thank you again for taking the time to complete the survey. We appreciate your loyalty to our brand.


Sincerely,

Anna Lieghio
General Manager
BEST WESTERN PLUS Dockside Waterfront Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

843 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    321
    271
    131
    67
    53
See reviews for
335
323
15
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (197)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Level 5 Contributor
99 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2011

We tend to stay at hotels that we have great service, nice staff and good locations. This Best Western has them all. The rooms are nice, traditional and the stay comes with a continental breakfast which is much of what the usual encompasses. This will be our third stay in four years.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank traveler0008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anna L, General Manager at Best Western Plus Dockside Waterfront Inn, responded to this review, 4 October 2014
Thank you for completing the survey regarding your recent stay at our property.

Your business is very important to us and we value your feedback. By telling us what you liked about your stay and how we can improve, you are helping us deliver a superior experience for you and other guests in the future. We hope you will come back and see us again soon.

If I can be of assistance in the future, please don't hesitate to contact me at 231-436-5001.

Thank you again for taking the time to complete the survey. We appreciate your loyalty to our brand.


Sincerely,

Anna Lieghio
General Manager
BEST WESTERN PLUS Dockside Waterfront Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Smyrna Beach, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2011

Very nice hotel right on the water, lovely views of the lake. lots of shopping, restaurants and attractions within walking distance. Complimentary breakfast is a step above most hotels, great selection. would definitely recommend. Price is a little high but considering lakefront location in a resort area well worth it.

Room Tip: request lakefront
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank curtis h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anna L, General Manager at Best Western Plus Dockside Waterfront Inn, responded to this review, 2 October 2011
Thank you for completing the survey regarding your recent stay at our property.

Your business is very important to us and we value your feedback. By telling us what you liked about your stay and how we can improve, you are helping us deliver a superior experience for you and other guests in the future. We hope you will come back and see us again soon.

If I can be of assistance in the future, please don't hesitate to contact me at 231-436-5001.

Thank you again for taking the time to complete the survey. We appreciate your loyalty to our brand.


Sincerely,

Anna Lieghio
General Manager
BEST WESTERN PLUS Dockside Waterfront Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fostoria, Michigan
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 September 2011

Wrapping up the end of a 2 week vacation we decided to spend the last two nights in one of our favorite vacation spots, Mackinaw City and the island. Being on the road in cities we weren't familiar with we chose a few less than comfortable places but knew what we were getting here. Although we've stayed at alot of hotels in Mackinaw city we chose the Best Western Dockside for it's location. We had done alot of driving the last two weeks and wanted a place close to everything. Our room was a king, jacuzzi courtside. When we opened our door we were in awe! It was beautiful! Very classy looking, clean and the staff was friendly and professional too. And the price...well you can't beat it for what we got. Very pleased, as we knew we would be, and would recommend this hotel. It's great for families with the clean, beautiful beachfront as well. My daughter and I stayed here a few months ago and had a balcony suite. It was so nice and beautiful that we went and got super and brought it back to eat it on our balcony rather than coose a restaurant. Awsome place. you should try it.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sheree101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anna L, General Manager at Best Western Plus Dockside Waterfront Inn, responded to this review, 2 October 2011
Thank you for completing the survey regarding your recent stay at our property.

Your business is very important to us and we value your feedback. By telling us what you liked about your stay and how we can improve, you are helping us deliver a superior experience for you and other guests in the future. We hope you will come back and see us again soon.

If I can be of assistance in the future, please don't hesitate to contact me at 231-436-5001.

Thank you again for taking the time to complete the survey. We appreciate your loyalty to our brand.


Sincerely,

Anna Lieghio
General Manager
BEST WESTERN PLUS Dockside Waterfront Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burlington, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2011

If you are looking for a nice hotel with a good location that includes breakfast (self serve), this might be your place. We reserved a king room with a balcony with a view of Lake Huron. The room was clean and large. The balcony was small but big enough for 2 chairs and a table. The view is beautiful and the beach is very nice. If it wasn't a cool, windy day in September we would have taken advantage of it. It looks like the swimming would be excellent there as well. The only things that could use some attention was the water pressure in the shower and the floor in the bathroom was freezing cold (we put down a towel to act as a rug to keep our feet warm). The breakfast was self serve in a large dining room and happy to say the coffee was surprisingly good. They had enough to choose from such as make-your-own waffles, toast, sausage and scrambled eggs, nothing special but got us through until lunch. I might suggest that you bring your own ketchup, it was the cheapest most watered down ketchup I've ever had.

Overall though, the location is great. It is next to the ferry dock to Mackinaw Island and a short walk to many nice shops, restaurants & pubs. I would reccomend this hotel to family & friends with a couple of precautions.

Room Tip: I think is is worth the extra money to have a room with a balcony facing the beach, unless you are j...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MoMoYXU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anna L, General Manager at Best Western Plus Dockside Waterfront Inn, responded to this review, 2 October 2011
Thank you for completing the survey regarding your recent stay at our property.

On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for not exceeding your expectations. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you gave us to implement improvements to ensure we offer a better experience for guests in the future.

I hope that you will consider staying with us again so that we can have another chance to provide you with a superior experience.

If I can provide any assistance, please don't hesitate to contact me directly at 231-436-5001.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mackinaw City
0.6 km away
Baymont Inn & Suites Mackinaw City
0.7 km away
Clarion Hotel Beachfront
Clarion Hotel Beachfront
#19 of 39 in Mackinaw City
624 reviews
0.9 km away
Mackinaw Beach and Bay - Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Hamilton Inn Select - Beachfront
Hamilton Inn Select - Beachfront
#20 of 39 in Mackinaw City
895 reviews
11.2 km away
Best Western Harbour Pointe Lakefront
0.1 km away
Comfort Inn Lakeside
Comfort Inn Lakeside
#12 of 39 in Mackinaw City
222 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Dockside Waterfront Inn? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Dockside Waterfront Inn

Property: Best Western Plus Dockside Waterfront Inn
Address: 505 S Huron Avenue, Mackinaw City, MI 49701
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Michigan > Cheboygan County > Mackinaw City
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Mackinaw City
Price range (per night): ₹ 6,554 - ₹ 32,447
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Plus Dockside Waterfront Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 113
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Hotels.com, Expedia and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Plus Dockside Waterfront Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Dockside Waterfront Hotel Mackinaw City
Best Western Mackinaw City
Mackinaw City Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing