We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Nice stay for the price” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of American Boutique Inn - Lakeview

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
American Boutique Inn - Lakeview
Ranked #7 of 39 Hotels in Mackinaw City
Certificate of Excellence
Grand RApids, MI
Level Contributor
57 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Nice stay for the price”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2011

Staff was very friendly and helpful. Rooms very nicely decorated and clean. Breakfast and wine were good. Only complaint was that it was a little noisey and the outside light was too bright in the room. Overall, a good buy.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank HonestOpinion1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

220 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    107
    71
    26
    9
    7
See reviews for
66
97
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Bay City, Michigan
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 October 2011

This hotel is one of Mackinaw's best kept secrets! The owners are very friendly and personable. The room I was in was decorated beautifully and I had a great view of the lake and of course, The Mighty Mac. In addition, breakfast was delivered to me in a cuite wicker basket. Great Job Bonnie & Bill!! :)

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hiexpress
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 September 2011

Staying here twice a year for the last decade, excellent experience everytime! Owners Bonnie & Bill have taken great pride in the beautiful landscaped grounds so one can just relax in reading a book, take a swim in the pool, or people watch. Rooms are very clean...thanks to Patti & Mary! Within walking distance to bridge,park,and downtown.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank donlsales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wyandotte, Michigan
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2011

Hotel was very clean friendly staff. beautiful view of the bridge. very close to downtown access. breakfast was great.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pink146
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Level Contributor
31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2011

Looking over the previous reviews it appears the response towards this hotel has been overwhelmingly positive. I had a very contrasting experience. My wife and I checked into a room for two nights at this hotel approximately one month ago and we had a bad experience on pretty much all levels. Let me start by going over the positives: The staff, for the most part, was very courteous and the breakfast basket - though limited in features - was a friendly offering on the hotel's part. Those are the only positives I can recall. Everything else was sub-standard. I'm going to attempt to reflect chronology to keep track of our entire impression. The first thing we noticed when stepping into the room was that it was dreadfully hot. There is no centralized air conditioning and the wall unit was not turned on, so when we stepped into our room it was suffocating. The wall unit was very inconsistent, not to mention loud, and we never managed to achieve a comfortable temperature throughout the duration of our stay. Along with the heat, the other sensation you are overcome with when walking into the room is the fetid smell. I don't know how to describe it, besides that our room smelled of neglect and biological degradation. It was disgusting, fortunately enough the housekeeping staff accidentally left an air freshener in our room the first day and we were able to spray the room throughout the first night. You will notice that the room is tiny. In fact, everything is tiny. You have to be innovative to fit your bags in this room. There isn't enough counter space or desk space to house two nights worth of garments for a couple. The bathroom, which had this cheap tile layout that you could expect in a public rest area, was literally one and a half steps to the toilet and a step to the right for the dingy bathtub with an outdated shower-head. The overall decor to our room was of a senior citizen's assisted living community that had been supplied by a local dollar store. The furniture was all very inconsistent with the theme of the room and it was uncomfortable and impractical. The nightstands were incapable of holding anything other than the alarm, the telephone, and the tiny desk lamps that were on them. Amusingly enough, neither of them were working so we just unplugged and removed them so we would have a place to put our cell phones. The room was fairly devoid of outlets that work. The television was pathetically small and old-fashioned, it was about the same size as my laptop's monitor. The desk was, as I mentioned about the rest of the furniture, completely impractical. There was not enough room to fit your legs under it, let alone establish some workspace. The wi-fi was constantly fading in and out and the staff was unsure how to address it other than to encourage us to try back in 15 minutes. The water heater was insufficient for the number of units the hotel offered because every morning we had to take a cold shower. The checkout time was 10:30 and they're fairly inflexible about it because they seem to run at near full occupancy. The location was bad. There is no actual bridgeview or water view, the hotel is not on the beach, you have to cross the street to access the public beach. The location is about 1/2 mile from the nearest ferry dock, so although it's definitely walkable, it's not the best location. The parking lot is devoid of an appropriate number of spots and, if you arrive late, you'll find yourself having to park across the street. The sole housekeeping staff that I saw, a young man, managed to sweep the second level's floor's contents onto my head as I was making my way towards my room. I made it a point to mention to him what he had done and he didn't bother apologizing or even acknowledging that he should have been more proactive about making sure to not let that happen. I imagine the same staff member managed to leave some of his cleaning supplies, along with the air freshener, in our room - which we genuinely thought were meant for us because the room wasn't cleaned well. One more positive thing I forgot to mention at the start of the review, the hotel conveniently supplies you with a fly swatter and you will need it. This was, perhaps, their most usable amenity. There is no in room fridge or safe, the sink counter top is tiny. There is no in room ironing board and, when you ask the front desk, all they have to offer is a worn tabletop ironing board that is hardly capable of getting a pressing job done properly. We picked this hotel based on tripadvisor's and other users' recommendations, and because we found the photos charming. Don't be adventurous. At least with a holiday inn or super 8 there are certain limits to the lack of quality their rooms and features offer. American Boutique Inn redefined our perception of a bad hotel.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank tai786
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
williamandbonnie, Owner at American Boutique Inn - Lakeview, responded to this review, 17 August 2011
We're very sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay with us. We did not hear any complaint from you during your visit so it was impossible to address or even verify any of the issues that you mention in your review. Our guests continually compliment us on the ambiance of the rooms and public areas, Our friendly staff, our immaculate housekeeping, our ample breakfast bar offerings, our complimentary evening wine and cheese reception, our spacious shaded landscaped grounds with ample seating areas, views of the water and the Mackinac Bridge, and our proximity to Shepler's Mackinac Island Ferry and downtown shopping. (Three blocks)
Bill Bertchinger
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mackinaw City hotels
0.8 km away
Baymont Inn & Suites Mackinaw City
1.1 km away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Dockside Waterfront Inn
1.7 km away
Clarion Hotel Beachfront
Clarion Hotel Beachfront
#16 of 39 in Mackinaw City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 577 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 km away
Mackinaw Beach and Bay - Inn & Suites
1.2 km away
Comfort Inn Lakeside
Comfort Inn Lakeside
#17 of 39 in Mackinaw City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 195 reviews
2.5 km away
Clearwater Lakeshore Motel
Clearwater Lakeshore Motel
#1 of 39 in Mackinaw City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 923 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to American Boutique Inn - Lakeview? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about American Boutique Inn - Lakeview

Property: American Boutique Inn - Lakeview
Address: 517 N Huron Ave, Mackinaw City, MI 49701-9727
Region: United States > Michigan > Cheboygan County > Mackinaw City
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Mackinaw City
#5 Romantic Hotel in Mackinaw City
Price range (per night): ₹ 5,618 - ₹ 14,078
Hotel Class:2.5 star — American Boutique Inn - Lakeview 2.5*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on a full city block with shade trees, lush gardens and water fountains overlooking Lake Huron, and just across the street from the Mackinac Bridge and the Old Mackinaw Point Lighthouse. Award winning themed rooms. Expanded continental breakfast served in our SerendipiTea Room or opt for our signature "Breakfast Basket" delivered to your room. Evening candlelight wine and cheese reception for guests staying in themed rooms. Luxurious outdoor pool heated to 88 degrees (mid-May thru mid-Sept). Professional personalized service. Discounted ticket for Shepler's Mackinac Island Ferry available in our lobby. Free shuttle service to and from the dock. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your American Boutique Inn - Lakeview reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
American Boutique Inn - Lakeview Hotel Mackinaw City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing