We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“New Hotel, Friendly Staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Mackinaw Beach and Bay - Inn & Suites
Ranked #9 of 39 Hotels in Mackinaw City
Ohio
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“New Hotel, Friendly Staff”
Reviewed 5 August 2009

We were in Mackinaw City for a triathlon and 5K race. When looking for a room in Mackinaw City, we called 2 other hotels, and neither seemed interested in answering our questions or assisting us.
The staff at the Beach-Bay was friendly and extremely helpful. We called before we arrived and they were happy to answer our questions. Upon arival, they found a room in which to lock our bikes.

Our room was a suite, and quite roomy. It was very clean, and I'm pretty sure we were the first people to stay in it. My one complaint about the room is that it was a bit dark. The only windows are in the bedroom, and maybe brighter light bulbs or more light fixtures would help.

The indoor pool is very nice - slightly larger than at comperable hotels. There is a waterfall in the pool, which my son liked.

The free breakfast was OK, but not great. It was similar to other free breakfasts at mid-priced hotels.

At the time of our visit (July 25, 2009) the hotel was not quite finished. They had not landscaped, the exercise room had yet to open, and the beach had not been groomed. I'm fairly certain that these will be completed soon.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Couscous4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mbbresort, Guest Services at Mackinaw Beach and Bay - Inn & Suites, responded to this review, 6 February 2010
Couscous4,

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your recent experience at the Mackinaw Beach and Bay Resort. I will be sure to share your many kind words with our staff. I'm very glad to hear that you enjoyed your Lakefront Suite. Also, thank you for your design suggestions. I will be sure to share your thoughts on the room lighting with our management. As you noticed the hotel was not quite finished, but we have since finished the fitness room and our landscaping was completed this fall. Thank you for bringing to our attention the condition of the beach. We have started regular grooming of the beach in response to comments we have received.

Please let us know if you have any additional questions or suggestions as we are continuously seeking feedback to improve all guest experiences. Thank you again for choosing the Mackinaw Beach and Bay Resort; we look forward to your next visit.

Best Regards,
Andrew Shaffer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

566 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    268
    161
    72
    32
    33
See reviews for
250
178
6
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (116)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Oak Creek, Wisconsin
Level 5 Contributor
24 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2009

We had stayed at this property for 2 nights on July 31st and August 1st. This property had been open less than a week, it is a very nice hotel with very friendly and helpful staff. Our suite had a separtate bedroom with one king bed, the main area had a queensize bed and a queensize sleeper sofa, each room had a flat type TV. Separating the room was an area which has a sink, refrigator and micowave. It had a nice size bathroom. It had a balcony with a great view of the Machinaw Bridge and the lake. It does have a excellent breakfast with waffles, bisquets and gravy and some great muffins and cinnimom rolls along with all the other normal breakfast buffet things. It was nice to have the extra room that normal hotels rooms usaully don't have.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mbbresort, Guest Services at Mackinaw Beach and Bay - Inn & Suites, responded to this review, 6 February 2010
jmswessel,

Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience at the Mackinaw Beach and Bay Resort. Our staff works very hard to ensure that each guest's stay is memorable so I will be sure to share your kind words. We really appreciate your choosing the Mackinaw Beach and Bay over the many other options you had and especially appreciate you, as our guest, choosing to stay with us for your vacation.

Please let us know if you have any additional questions or suggestions as we are continuously seeking feedback to improve all guest experiences. Thank you again for choosing the Mackinaw Beach and Bay Resort; we look forward to your next visit.

Best Regards,
Andrew Shaffer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mackinaw City hotels
0.9 km away
Best Western Plus Dockside Waterfront Inn
1.3 km away
Baymont Inn & Suites Mackinaw City
0.2 km away
Clarion Hotel Beachfront
Clarion Hotel Beachfront
#18 of 39 in Mackinaw City
624 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 km away
Hamilton Inn Select - Beachfront
Hamilton Inn Select - Beachfront
#20 of 39 in Mackinaw City
894 reviews
0.8 km away
Comfort Inn Lakeside
Comfort Inn Lakeside
#12 of 39 in Mackinaw City
222 reviews
0.6 km away
Clearwater Lakeshore Motel
Clearwater Lakeshore Motel
#1 of 39 in Mackinaw City
1,015 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mackinaw Beach and Bay - Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mackinaw Beach and Bay - Inn & Suites

Property: Mackinaw Beach and Bay - Inn & Suites
Address: 929 S Huron Ave, Mackinaw City, MI 49701-9500
Region: United States > Michigan > Cheboygan County > Mackinaw City
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Mackinaw City
#7 Romantic Hotel in Mackinaw City
Price range (per night): ₹ 5,455 - ₹ 18,995
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Mackinaw Beach and Bay - Inn & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 71
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Mackinaw Beach and Bay - Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mackinaw Beach And Bay - Inn And Suites
Mackinaw Beach And Bay Hotel Mackinaw City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing