We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Ok, I guess”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Mackinaw Beach and Bay - Inn & Suites
Ranked #9 of 39 Hotels in Mackinaw City
Detroit area
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Ok, I guess”
Reviewed 15 October 2011

We stayed at this hotel for a night based on Trip Advisor reviews. The hotel was fine, after the rave reviews, i was expecting a bit more. We asked for a room on an upper level and ended up on the ground level. This was a bit disconcerting because the door right by our bed opened up right on the beach- although our room was LITERALLY right on the beach which I could see as an advantage during the peak season. The TVs were tiny, the walls were concrete, the couch was uncomfortable, there was a hole in the ceiling over the shower where tissue had been stuffed into it instead of patching it, there was a tip envelop asking for a tip for the maid, and breakfast was disgusting.

Had we happened upon this place, we would probably say it was an ok place to lay our heads or a great place to bring a family because kids could come and go to the beach straight out of the room. Unfortunately, we came with an expectation and left with an "ho hum" feeling.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DetroitareaKate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

545 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    260
    152
    71
    30
    32
See reviews for
243
170
6
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (112)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Adrian, Michigan
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2011

This was our 2nd time to stay at the Mackinaw Beach and Bay Inn, it was just as nice as the first time we were there.The staff was very helpful, the free Hot Breakfast Bar was very good. Plan on going back next year. The price is
very reasonable. The private balcony faced Lake Huron, and Mackinaw Island.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank michgrandma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Myers, Florida
Level Contributor
43 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2011

Great place to stay - all rooms are suites with water views. Stayed here in early October 2011 so rates were extremely reasonable and until a tour bus showed up it felt like we had the place to ourselves. Our room had a master bedroom with a king bed and the sitting room had a queen bed, couch, and a desk. Both rooms had TV's. The patio was a great place to sit and enjoy the view. Very close to the boats that take you to Mackinac Island. The breakfast is pretty generic and what you'd normally see for a complimentary breakfast in a hotel - nothing special but gets the job done.

Definitely recommend and I'd stay here again if I visited the area.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank badgergirl75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham
Level Contributor
49 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2011

I stayed here with 2 friends, for 2 nights, in one of the Lakefront Suites. Our balcony looked out over Lake Huron, and was kept spotlessly clean. Front desk staff were polite and helpful. The hotel is well situated for downtown Mackinaw City, and for the ferries. The pool looked nice, although we didn't use it because of our busy schedule. The breakfast was okay, but I have had better ones in other American hotels.

Apart from the breakfast, I feel that the hotel represented really good value for money.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bondenNottingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holland, Michigan
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2011

The handicap suite was very clean and I travelled with a friend. We stayed for four (4 nights late in the season (end of September - early October) due to the reasonable rates. We each had a room and tv so no arguing over what to watch. The bathroom was between the two rooms. The room overlooked the water. We could watch the ferries come and go, see Mackinaw Island and the bridge. The breakfast area was not far to walk to - it was next to the check in desk. We did not use the pool. The staff and help were very friendly. The hotel was very clean.

Room Tip: All rooms overlook the water. Staff and help very friendly.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carolyn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mackinaw City hotels
0.9 km away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Dockside Waterfront Inn
1.3 km away
Baymont Inn & Suites Mackinaw City
0.2 km away
Clarion Hotel Beachfront
Clarion Hotel Beachfront
#15 of 39 in Mackinaw City
578 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 km away
Comfort Inn Lakeside
Comfort Inn Lakeside
#17 of 39 in Mackinaw City
195 reviews
0.7 km away
Hamilton Inn Select - Beachfront
Hamilton Inn Select - Beachfront
#28 of 39 in Mackinaw City
818 reviews
0.2 km away
Bridge Vista Beach Hotel & Convention Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mackinaw Beach and Bay - Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mackinaw Beach and Bay - Inn & Suites

Property: Mackinaw Beach and Bay - Inn & Suites
Address: 929 S Huron Ave, Mackinaw City, MI 49701-9500
Region: United States > Michigan > Cheboygan County > Mackinaw City
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Mackinaw City
#7 Romantic Hotel in Mackinaw City
Price range (per night): ₹ 5,571 - ₹ 17,295
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Mackinaw Beach and Bay - Inn & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 71
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mackinaw Beach and Bay - Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mackinaw Beach And Bay - Inn And Suites
Mackinaw Beach And Bay Hotel Mackinaw City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing