We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
8 people have started booking this hotel
Lowest price we found
US$ 798
View deal
FindHotel
StayForLong
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Other miscellaneous taxes and hotel fees which are not fixed or due at time of booking may be payable at the property at time of stay. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (4,531)
Filter reviews
4,531 results
Traveller rating
3,056
719
358
244
154
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
3,056
719
358
244
154
Show reviews that mention
All reviews cupola bar the main dining room course dinner jockey club no tipping grand experience bucket list dress code high tea once in a lifetime lunch buffet grand porch cruise ship per person terrace room off the menu front porch
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
121 - 126 of 4,531 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

The hotel is extremely beautiful. The entertainment was very good and the rooms are very clean. Staff goes out of the way to please, although they did seem tired because they work very long shifts and they are short staffed.

It’s very expensive to stay at the Grand Hotel.

Room tip: Being lots of money. Plan to dress up in the evening after 5:30 pm. Bring comfortable shoes, a lot of walking around island.
Date of stay: August 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Guide772555
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General Manager, General Manager at Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Whether you are looking for amazing service or beautiful accommodations, you can count on Grand Hotel to deliver. We are thrilled that you were able to have an amazing experience and we can't wait to welcome you back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

The pool was a disappointment. The entire area has lost its historical integrity. The cabanas should have been in the same, familiar wide stripes to tie them in with the yellow and white awnings. It feels like any other resort pool now. Nothing about it matches the historical Grand Hotel palate. The pool itself is smaller than it once was. We are surprised that this modern design was approved by the Mackinac historical committee. It has lost its historical charm. We are really heartbroken. We’ve been coming every summer for many years. Wrong designer, should have hired someone who cares about American history. Hideous cabanas that stick out like a sore thumb (should tie in with the hotel’s decor and does not) with its banal, stupid design.
Sorry but had to tell it like it is. Guess who is paying for this colossal mistake? The guests. :(

Date of stay: August 2021
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank RenAllen22222
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General Manager, General Manager at Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you for your feedback. Please accept our apologies for any disappointment with the pool. We worked hard to retain historic integrity, so we're sorry to hear you felt that was not the case, and we'll keep your comments in mind. Please consider staying with us again during your next trip.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We have enjoyed four recent trips to the hotel. The hotel changed hands a couple years ago. It has always been a beat up hotel, but we paid the high charges for the charm and experience.

On the positive side, the new owners redid the pool with a water slide which my kids really liked. the pool area and changing rooms are much cleaner too. The workers are all real nice and they care about your stay.

On the negative side, prices have gone up. No more Chicago Tribune ads about super great rates. We paid more for a no meal package than we did for the breakfast package just two years ago. When I asked about paying for breakfast for one day, it would cost $42.50 per person, and it is all buffet. The pool converted 1/3 of seating to Cabana (paid) so get there early to get a seat. Free coffee is gone and the coffee shop charges $5 for a Grande. Lucky Bean is a short walk and they charge $3. Lunch and dinner in town is quite reasonable.

A fun stay, but I will have to be careful about the money here.

Date of stay: August 2021
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank chicagolouis
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General Manager, General Manager at Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

We're proud to include you among our returning guests. It's great to know that our fun pool and friendly staff impressed you. However, we apologize for any distress about our rates and included amenities. We work hard to remain competitive while recognizing that we offer a unique experience. The next time you're in town, we welcome you to stay with us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

A must visit for any traveler to stay at this iconic hotel where you arrive by horse drawn carriage.. Each of the rooms are a different design with no two rooms alike. We had two double canopy beds with floral design wallpaper with yellow the primary color (Room 23) first floor which is convenient not having to wait on elevators. No view as even numbers have a view of lake. In-room coffeemaker with excellent coffee (Pikes Place). CAUTION: not enough electrical outlets as only one socket in which the refrigerator and lamp are plugged into. When ready to make coffee you need to unplug lamp and plug in coffeemaker while sliding out slightly the refrigerator. Everyone needs to sit in a porch rocker and take a picture., These are very popular so snag one when you can.

Room tip: Even numbers lake views
Date of stay: August 2021
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank married96
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General Manager, General Manager at Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

It was a pleasure hosting you at Grand Hotel! We're glad our beautiful property and unique decor added to your experience. However, we apologize for any issues with the in-room amenities, and we'll keep your comments in mind. Should you be in the area again, please come back to see us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Most things about the stay were clearly 5 star caliber. There were little things that were just a bit off. for example on the morning we were leaving we had been told it took 2 hours for bag pick up and delivery to the boats. When we called on the morning of our departure with our plans made, they informed us it would be 3 hours instead. We literally carried our bags with us to the boat. There were multiple things of this nature. All in all we would highly recommend the place and plan to return.

Date of stay: August 2021
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank 1Mark0412
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General Manager, General Manager at Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Mark,
It was a pleasure to host you during your recent visit! Our staff works hard to ensure we meet the needs of our guests. We're glad our accommodations provided you with the experience you expected. That said, we do apologize certain aspects of your stay didn't meet your expectations or our own and we've notified our team of your comments to ensure they are properly addressed. We hope to get the chance to welcome you back the next time you're in town.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews