We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Grand Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Grand Hotel
Ranked #5 of 12 Hotels in Mackinac Island
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Excellent!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2012

This review may come late but nevertheless, I would like to applaud the excellent service at Grand Hotel during our stay last October 2011 at the "Somewhere in Time" weekend. The rooms where very clean and takes you back in time. The staff were very helpful and receptive to your needs. The food was unbelievably good!. Can't wait to go back their with my family. Keep up the good job!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nomad2368
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

2,380 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,615
    363
    178
    140
    84
See reviews for
653
1,062
52
144
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (823)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2012

The Grand lives up to, and exceeds, its name. It is truly a special place with a remarkable combination of history, elegance, beauty, service, and unique offerings found nowhere else. We now have in our possession outstanding memories our family will never forget.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Michelehodges
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, CA
Level Contributor
53 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2012

OK, I have been holding off writing this review until I could really take the time to do it right.

We stayed here in October 2011 for the "Somewhere in Time" weekend. It has been a dream of mine ever since I saw this movie when it came out (way back in 1980!) to stay at this hotel. Last autumn, I finally made it a reality. We spent six months sewing period-appropriate costumes and creating hats and purses to go with them, which turned out to be worth the effort as nearly everyone in attendance turned out in their finest 1912 couture. (Random nit: I was a little annoyed by how many people didn't really do their research, though--there were some women there in Marie Antoinette-era gowns, bustle dresses and other seriously anachronistic regalia.)

Getting there is half the fun. We flew into Traverse City airport (about a two hour drive though some really pristine country) and arrived in Mackinaw City a bit early in order to poke around the tourist shops. As they were getting ready to shutter up for the winter, we got some pretty amazing deals--up to 60% regular retail. Tip: buy your souvenirs on the dock side not the island side if you want to save some serious cash. We took Shepler's ferry over and it was a smooth process and an easy boat ride. You can get some decent discounts on the ferry tix if you buy them online.

By far the happiest surprise was that, upon our arrival, we found that they had comped us an adjoining room! At first, we all thought it was a mix-up and we were all pinching ourselves until the manager confirmed it. For a party consisting of four women, we could not have been more pleased. The rooms are absolutely charming and quaint. We were on the fourth floor, which is where Richard Collier's room was situated in the film.

This hotel is even more breathtaking in real life than it appears in the movie. It is well kept and clean and furnished in beautiful antiques. The package deal that you purchase for the SIT weekend, at first blush enough to give you sticker shock, includes all of your meals, and given the price of a single meal, the food alone was well worth it (not to mention the "no tipping" perk included in the package, which saves a bit too). I think we figured out that between the included food and drinks (not all drinks included, but see below re cocktail reception), we saved about $600 per person! There's an option to add the days bookending the weekend for just $159 a night and that is a SCREAMIN' deal of which I highly recommend taking advantage. The meals were decadent and delicious. They import Jamaican waitstaff for the restaurant, and those folks provided perfect white-glove service. There is a free nightly cocktail reception on the front porch--which, by the way, is the longest in the world at some 600+ feet--and this includes a full open bar and some amazing nosh (every type of cheese you could imagine and smoked trout with capers and cream sauce, anyone??).

There were several fun events tied in to the movie that took place at the hotel, including a screening of the movie where they handed out cocktails (and I've been searching ever since for the peanut butter vodka that was in my drink!). Some interesting panel discussions were held with some of the few remaining actors (sad we didn't go years ago, as Little Arthur was the biggest star in attendance) and a lot of the production people. We took a tour of filming locations and they did a bunch of re-enactments of scenes from the movie.

One unexpected bonus was that we brought the Southern California weather with us; from what I understand, it's usually about 40 degrees during SIT weekend, and it never dipped below 70 during our stay!

My sole complaint is that the hotel was not terribly helpful with accommodating disabled folks. Ironically, one week before our trip, I ruptured my ankle and ended up on crutches, and another member of my party walks with a cane. There are no cars on the island, and the only forms of conveyance are walking, bicycling and horse-n-buggy. Let's just say we got to know the horses by name! As a result, I got to see a bit less than I was planning to of the island itself, which was disappointing. When we took our film locations tour, the hotel was kind enough to provide a carriage so that we could still go, but there were a few locations we were not able to see, such as the gazebo. The other disappointment was that the Esther Williams swimming pool (so named because one of her flicks was filmed there) was closed for the season. I thought at least I could go use the jacuzzi. However, it is clear across the property; there was no way to get down there on crutches and the concierge had no solution to offer. It also would have helped a LOT to know right away that there was an elevator that went all the way down to the street level in front; the pair of us with challenges struggled for two days with that huge flight of steps until we finally discovered this.

All in all, this was one of the most memorable vacations I have ever taken. There are people that go every year, which, frankly, I think might sap some of the magic out of the experience. And this experience is one that I couldn't be more happy to have turned into a treasured memory.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank EuterpeThelo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Detroit
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2012

We visit the island at least once a year and have stayed at Grand Hotel several times. We most recently stayed last year for a weekend, but this is a review of the hotel as a family resort from a week-long stay with our kids (then 14, 11, and 4) a few years ago.
Most people asked what in the world we did on the island for a whole week, but honestly we left not having done many of the things on our list. The older kids went to the pool, played games in the parlor (now Sadie’s trophy room), hung in the arcade (complementary tokens given out), and endlessly explored the island on their bikes. Mackinac is a safe place and our only instruction, after arming them with a cell phone, was, “Don’t get on a ferry”. They loved the freedom. Our younger daughter went to the children’s programs for about three hours each day, which included lunch and is complementary…that’s a remarkable amenity! For any families more accustomed to the $50 - $80 daily fees at other resorts, this is a huge savings. Rebecca’s Room is like a giant play room where younger kids can play, draw, read, whatever. We also played bocce and croquet on the lawn, enjoyed pre-dinner cocktails and Cokes on the porch while the kids played giant chess, and ran over to the Jockey Club in pajamas for s’mores at night. There is a special menu for kids at dinner as well as a buffet of favorites like pizza, chicken nuggets, and mac n’ cheese.
There are a lot of adult evening options in the hotel and related restaurants, but we hung out mostly at the Audubon and Cupola when we weren't in town. You’ll see the same servers in different locations throughout the week, and they’ll remember what you drink. The service throughout the hotel is consistently very good and frequently outstanding. One night we mentioned to the sommelier how bummed the kids were that the pretzel bread served at dinner isn’t available at breakfast. The next morning: pretzel bread in our breakfast basket. Service does occasionally lack (ironically, often at the main restaurant, Salle a Manger), but if you have a problem tell someone because our experience is that service recovery is taken seriously. I was not happy with our server at dinner one night and the maitre d’ came by to correct the situation immediately. The food is generally very good but we have had a few disappointing misses, along with a couple of questionable management choices (Lipton tea at breakfast? Really?).
We upgraded to a lake view room, requesting more space over a better view, and got a great dbl/dbl room with a rollaway that had plenty of space for our family. I’ve stayed all over the hotel and I’m certain this was one of the largest rooms that isn’t a suite. We couldn’t have put our whole family comfortably in some of the smaller interior rooms.
A general note about the rooms and the setting: this is an historic hotel and the entire guest experience is designed to reflect that. It creaks, it has exposed fire code pipes, the televisions are grudgingly included, and I'd never decorate my family room like this. But there is something cool about getting a metal key that says Room #8 instead of a plastic card for room 2019. If your expectation of a great vacation setting is the Emirates Palace, this might not be the place for you. I was one who was mildly disappointed when the A/C was installed. We find it elegant but comfortable, where we can relax, sink into the lobby sofas and laugh with the kids without getting the stink eye from some disapproving matron. We don’t let them run through the hallways and there is a dress code to respect, but that’s just common courtesy. Proper dress is required on the main floor, porch, and entertainment areas. The 4-yr-old daughter loved dressing up; the tweenaged son…not so much. Guests wearing jeans or other casual clothes in the evenings can exit/enter the hotel near the salon and take the elevator by Marlee’s gallery to the guest room floors upstairs.
Away from the hotel on the island there are so many things to do besides eat far too much fudge: take horses through the trails up island, hire a carriage to tour the residential areas, fly kites. Some things we weren’t sure about, or thought would be lame, were more fun than we thought. We hadn’t been to the Fort in a few years and ended up staying way longer than expected. The new Manoogian Art Museum is an absolute gem, with a space downstairs where kids can spend a lot of time coloring, drawing, and generally creating whatever they feel like. Highly recommended! Behind the museum, off the park, there is a stairway that leads up to the East Bluff. If you walk it at night tons of bats will fly around you. It gives me the heebiejeebies but the kids think it’s awesome.
If you’re considering where to take your family, Grand Hotel is a super option. Check their website for packages with rooms and you'll find rooms for 2012 from $310/night in the summer, less than many other island hotels. We’ve been to some great family resorts in the US (Wequassett, The Broadmoor, and Sea Island/ The Cloister) but our favorite is Grand Hotel. We’ll be back again this summer

Room Tip: A room with a (small) balcony, even in the back of the hotel, is a nice place to have a glass of win...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank lifeisgoodtome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saratoga Springs, Utah
Level Contributor
37 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2012

Suites are comfortable and charming. Dining room was full service to say the least with delicious food. The Big Band at night was so much fun to dance to. Mackinac Island is one of my favorite places to go and The Grand Hotel is one of my favorite places in the nation to stay.
Really love it!!

Room Tip: The island is lush, but often times if you are in the back, you aren't looking at the island, bu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank VacationJunky4445
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mackinac Island
0.7 km away
Lake View Hotel
Lake View Hotel
#8 of 12 in Mackinac Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 816 reviews
0.7 km away
Murray Hotel
Murray Hotel
#12 of 12 in Mackinac Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 233 reviews
0.8 km away
Hotel Iroquois
Hotel Iroquois
#2 of 12 in Mackinac Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 620 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.2 km away
BEST WESTERN Harbour Pointe Lakefront
1.1 km away
Harbour View Inn
Harbour View Inn
#7 of 12 in Mackinac Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 665 reviews
1.0 km away
Island House Hotel
Island House Hotel
#6 of 12 in Mackinac Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 679 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel

Property: Grand Hotel
Address: 286 Grand Avenue, P.O. Box 286, Mackinac Island, MI 49757
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Michigan > Upper Peninsula > Mackinac County > Mackinac Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 12 Hotels in Mackinac Island
Price range (per night): ₹ 24,001 - ₹ 59,316
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 390
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to America’s Summer Place. Every year since 1887, Grand Hotel has welcomed guests and families to Mackinac Island, where cars are not allowed and bikes and horse drawn carriages are the favored modes of transportation. As Travel + Leisure’s 500 World’s Best Hotels and Conde Nast Traveler's Top 5 Midwest Resorts in 2012, Grand Hotel offers outstanding accommodations where no two guest rooms are alike. Enjoy spectacular views of the Straits of Mackinac in a rocking chair on the world’s largest porch,complimentary children's programs, The Jewel golf course, swimming, tennis, lawn games, gardens, bicycling, carriage tours, shopping, Sadie's Ice Cream Parlor, and an experience you will never forget. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Mackinaw Island Michigan
Grand Hotel Mackinac Island Michigan
Grand Hotel Island Mackinaw
Grand Mackinac Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing