We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Old world charm but not enough to do” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Grand Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Grand Hotel
Ranked #5 of 12 Hotels in Mackinac Island
Certificate of Excellence
cleveland, ohio
Level Contributor
177 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Old world charm but not enough to do”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2012

I stayed at the Grand Hotel in the summer of 2011. I had stopped for a day once in 1988 but had only been on the fabulous porch and in the lobby, and had wanted to go back and spend some time. I went with my sister and we had a charming pink and green room with matching canopy beds and a geranium theme. Really charming and I didn't find the room small, as others have mentioned. Perhaps I have different expectations. We did eat in the dining room in order to have the whole experience. I found the food very mediocre and very overpriced. During the day we went to town but that was good for only one day. I mentioned to the hotel they need more night time activities. They have a bar/disco and showed us a documentary film about winter in Mackinac. I was ready to leave on the third day. I think they need to plan more activities or they are going to die out.

Room Tip: I suggested to the desk they put together a notebook with pictures of the various rooms. Each room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank sandra99999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GHKellie, Manager at Grand Hotel, responded to this review, 17 April 2012
Thank you for your review and your suggestions. We do have nightly live music and dancing with Alex Graham and the Grand Hotel Orchestra in the Terrace Room along with a pianist in the Cupola Bar and a nightly movie. We hope you will visit again on your next trip to Mackinac.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

2,366 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,602
    362
    178
    140
    84
See reviews for
647
1,057
52
142
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (816)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Mich
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2012

The experience of a stay at The Grand Hotel should be enjoyed by all. Yes, it is pricey and yes it can be stuffy but it oozes Old World charm. The rooms are small but considerably larger than a hotel in Europe. The rooms are decorated just beautifully.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank janye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GHKellie, Manager at Grand Hotel, responded to this review, 9 April 2012
Thank you for our review, we are happy to hear that you will be back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, IL
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2012

We stayed for two nights in late june. The weather on the island was awful, but we had an amazing time!
The hotel has amazing service. We had a room on the first floor. It was lovely, with a lake view, but it was a bit small. The first night, the people above us were making so much noise at four in the morning and the people in the hallway were quite loud. The next morning, we complained to the front desk, and they moved us to a larger, more luxurious room on the fourth floor. It was so quiet and nice! The front desk was very professional and understanding throughout the whole process. The staff in the dining room were also very nice. Whenever we asked them to take something off a certain dish, (allergies), they would.
The food was the only part of the hotel that wasn't amazing. The breakfast was good, eggs, bacon, pancakes, and smoothies, and the lunch buffet was interesting. The dinner was not bad but not great. The appetizers lacked flavor, the salads were decent, and the main courses seemed to be prepared to serve a large amount of people, almost like cruise ship food. The dessert, however, was AMAZING! I had a wonderful chocolate cherry cake that everyone at our table tried the first night and then ordered the second. I'd come back for the cake, certainly. There is also a dress code after 6:30 PM, so it's fun to dress up for dinner.
Like I said, the weather when we visited was terrible, fifty degrees or sixty degrees. However, we still could enjoy the heated pool when it was freezing an drizzling rain out. The pool would certainly be fun in hotter weather.
The decor at the hotel was also cool. It was very old fashioned and there were certainly bold color choices and mismatched rugs. It all fit together in a truly amazing way. Some other reviews complained about vinyl couches, but the furniture totally fit in with the cottage-y old fashioned feel of the place. The lobby also had an interesting array of little shops, including an art gallery, a cafe, and a candy cart. There was also a screening room where you could watch "Somewhere in Time", a movie filmed at the Grand in the 1950s. Interesting touch!
We will definitely be back next summer. We had an amazing time and will probably make plans on the spur-of-the-moment, as we want to enjoy the island when the weather is nice.

Room Tip: If you don't mind not having a view, go for an interior-view room. They are large and spacious!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Kennedyo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GHKellie, Manager at Grand Hotel, responded to this review, 9 April 2012
Great information provided, thank you for your review. Sorry about the weather, if only we could control such things we would love to! Maybe on your next visit the weather will cooperate better.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Midland, Michigan, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2012

This is a beautiful piece of history that allows you to come in and look around. As a hotel it is as glamorous as it looks and the food is impeccable. It is one of the finest "old school" resorts in the world.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank James B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GHKellie, Manager at Grand Hotel, responded to this review, 9 April 2012
While you are here taking a look around, be sure to try the Grand Luncheon Buffet for an experience you will not soon forget.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Huron, MI
Level Contributor
48 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2012

Wow, Every aspect of this hotel is a bit of old fashioned class. When the guests all get dressed after 6pm, it makes for a wonderful experience. Probably the only place I know that retains the turn of the century charm and elegance. Nicest place I have ever stayed. .... it's the whole experience that makes this place special.

Room Tip: Pick what you can afford.. I didn't stay in the room much so it didn't matter to me.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Frankbrett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mackinac Island
0.7 km away
Lake View Hotel
Lake View Hotel
#7 of 12 in Mackinac Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 816 reviews
1.1 km away
Harbour View Inn
Harbour View Inn
#6 of 12 in Mackinac Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 665 reviews
0.8 km away
Hotel Iroquois
Hotel Iroquois
#2 of 12 in Mackinac Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 619 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 km away
Island House Hotel
Island House Hotel
#11 of 12 in Mackinac Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 534 reviews
0.7 km away
Murray Hotel
Murray Hotel
#12 of 12 in Mackinac Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 233 reviews
8.2 km away
BEST WESTERN Harbour Pointe Lakefront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel

Property: Grand Hotel
Address: 286 Grand Avenue, P.O. Box 286, Mackinac Island, MI 49757
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Michigan > Upper Peninsula > Mackinac County > Mackinac Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 12 Hotels in Mackinac Island
Price range (per night): ₹ 25,125 - ₹ 61,719
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 390
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to America’s Summer Place. Every year since 1887, Grand Hotel has welcomed guests and families to Mackinac Island, where cars are not allowed and bikes and horse drawn carriages are the favored modes of transportation. As Travel + Leisure’s 500 World’s Best Hotels and Conde Nast Traveler's Top 5 Midwest Resorts in 2012, Grand Hotel offers outstanding accommodations where no two guest rooms are alike. Enjoy spectacular views of the Straits of Mackinac in a rocking chair on the world’s largest porch,complimentary children's programs, The Jewel golf course, swimming, tennis, lawn games, gardens, bicycling, carriage tours, shopping, Sadie's Ice Cream Parlor, and an experience you will never forget. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia so you can book your Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Mackinaw Island Michigan
Grand Hotel Mackinac Island Michigan
Grand Hotel Island Mackinaw
Grand Mackinac Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing