We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“too scary for younger children”

The Haunted Theatre
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This is a very fun Haunted House. It's all about laughing and screaming. If you don't know how to laugh and scream and have fun, you will not like this attraction...... Don't waste your time or money. It is definitely very "old school". The idea for the Haunted House was based on Indian Legends from the past. Artist friend Dale Kuipers hand crafted and artistically created the finer displays. Everything was made from scratch........all the art work.....all the mechanics.....everything.. I realize that there are several displays that should be totally pitched, but I have a hard time convincing the owner to do that. He is very very "old school" I know it needs to be updated. Back in the 1890's this location housed a Rollar Rink, which is hard to imagine. Then it was a family theatre........then a movie theatre.........then in the early 1970's Frank Nephew and Robert Benser purchased the building. In 1974 they leased the building to Welden Blum and Joe Feuquay. Welden Blum is still today the owner of The Haunted Theatre. Dale Kuipers was the artistic talent........Welden was the Engineer..........Joe was the Businessman. Others involved with their creative talents were Rick Beeman and Sheldon Bennet. This location, many many moons ago must have been part of Indian History, perhaps even a burial ground.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
736 reviews
456 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 465 helpful votes
“too scary for younger children”
Reviewed 22 July 2011

Our 5 year old really wanted to try this but he was too afraid to make it past the first hallway. There were several other younger children who paid admission and then didn't go past the first exhibit. There is an area where you can turn around and leave. The person taking tickets did offer a flashlight to use and said the people who usually jump out could be asked not to do so. They really did try.

Visited July 2011
Helpful?
3 Thank alibarbaraMilwaukee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

107 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    30
    27
    29
    13
    8
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Indiana
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Cheesy but a blast!”
Reviewed 13 July 2011

This ghost house is as retro as the island itself. At first very old-fashioned, innocent, cheesy "scary" figurines, but by the end, my kids were pushing me out the exit, screeching and laughing the whole way. We were totally entertained. We definitely made some good family memories in there!

Visited July 2011
Helpful?
2 Thank pattiq22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michigan
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Cheesy with a side of Cheese”
Reviewed 22 June 2011

This haunted "theatre" is not scary unless you happen to be 5 and jump and loud noises (which only happen 3 or 4 times the entire time).

I was first disappointed because they apparently don't adhere to their "Open at 11am" policy. From what we heard afterwards, it sounds like they quite often don't open shop until after noon. In my book, if you run a business, you run it professionally. When you say you open at 11, you are ready to accept the first paying customer at 11. It was 11:30 before anyone showed up, and another 10 minutes before she was ready to take money.

It is a CASH ONLY place, so plan to bring cash with you.

The scenes depicted were designed somewhere around 20+ years ago, and from what I saw, they have not been updated in the least since then.

I was hoping for a people driven haunted house attraction- where the spooks are completely unpredictable. The scenes were not scary in the least. I see worse every day on the news.

The few times they used sound effects to spook you, yes, they were startling,but brief.

My overall thoughts- yeah, it'll scare the younger kids. My 9 year old didn't go all the way through. However, adults should be able to walk through with absolutely no issues.

Visited June 2011
Helpful?
3 Thank gilly2878
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“It's a scream!”
Reviewed 4 June 2011

I went through the Haunted Theater as a young teenager 20 years ago and I just went through it now as an adult so I can attest that it is FUN for all ages and it is still a good SCARE for all ages. Some of the wax monsters look a little old and the maze is not very long - it only takes about 5-10 minutes to walk through it - but it is a unique experience on Mackinac and something I always look forward to revisiting. It is not as terrifying as the haunted houses at Niagara Falls, but it will make you scream. There was a group of young girls in front of my group and they were screaming and laughing all the way through to the end, so obviously the theater has lost none of its appeal to kids or adults like me. If it's too scary for you, tell the ticket agent or run for your life out the emergency exit, but don't ask for your money back - no refunds for chickens!

Visited June 2011
Helpful?
2 Thank wingawek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Traverse City, Michigan
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Waste of Money”
Reviewed 4 June 2011

We went on a 5th grade field trip. All the boys wanted to go here. We agreed to let them. They lowered the price for school trips to $6 and free for chaperones, which was nice. But the attraction was not worth even the $6 my son paid. There is nothing but a dark maze with very unrealistic "scary" characters to look at through a window. There's a giant rat, a scary looking bat, and a couple of skeleton people. A few things go bump and make noise. All in all it takes only a few minutes to walk through, and it wasn't scary at all. Not worth the money at all. Try to encourage your kids to go somewhere else, but good luck. They'll probably want to go and see it for themselves anyway. At least they won't go back again.

Visited June 2011
Helpful?
2 Thank cindylynn13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Haunted Theatre also viewed

Mackinac Island, Mackinac County
Mackinac Island, Mackinac County
 
Mackinac Island, Mackinac County
 

Been to The Haunted Theatre? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing