We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (250)
Filter reviews
250 results
Traveller rating
74
102
48
18
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
74
102
48
18
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the pub good size road noise cooked breakfast comfy bed main meal evening meal last minute booking full english comfortable stay ground floor bottled water excellent breakfast main road overnight stay pudding car park
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 250 reviews
Reviewed 26 November 2018 via mobile

From the minute we arrived staff were extremely friendly and helpful. Nothing was too much trouble. Accommodation was very clean, good price and spacious. Choice of food on the menu was very good, as well as the pricing. All in all we had a great evening and the comfortable bed at the end made it an enjoyable stay 10/10 for the stay.

Date of stay: November 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank S9393DCdavec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2018 via mobile

Had two rooms at The Crown for a meet up with two adults and four children. Rooms were large, clean and comfortable (although would have preferred bath to shower in the family room) and staff were friendly. Food in the attached pub was very good value, especially breakfast which was exceptional value as kids eat free! We enjoyed our stay and we would seek out a Marston's Inn again.

Date of stay: November 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Gooddenough
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2018 via mobile

When first arriving at The Crown we received a more than frosty reception from who I assume was the manager, who seemed rather annoyed that customers were entering the building.
After finally finding a table large enough to accommodate our party we were abruptly told that we couldn’t sit in front of the fire exit despite not being in front of it.
After waiting for 30 minutes for our order to be taken we went up to check that a waitress would be coming over and we were told ‘someone will be with you in a minute’, however after a further 15 minutes our order still hadn’t been taken. A waitress was delivering food to a nearby table, therefore we asked her if she wouldn’t mind taking our order afterwards, she looked very unimpressed and replied ‘I suppose so’.
Our order was finally placed but after 20 minutes our drinks had still not arrived therefore I went to the bar to enquire as to their whereabouts and was appalled to discover the manager ‘didn’t realise’ we had ordered drinks yet for reason had placed our ticket in the ‘completed pile’ of tickets.
An hour and a half after arriving at the restaurant our food finally arrived, but not before we politely asked for some cutlery and received a set of 20 plonked on our table by the manager who stated ‘I don’t know how many you want’ despite there only being 8 of us sat there. We enjoyed our desserts but overall the service we received was abysmal.
As a waitress myself this level of customer service would not be acceptable in my place of work (Harvester), and I am shocked that we didn’t received an apology for this awful experience until we went to pay the bill where we were offered a 20% discount, but the waitress didn’t even manage to get that right and only gave us 10%.

Date of stay: October 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank DayTrip09853335968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2018

Staying local to a wedding venue, this Inn was better value than the Premier or Holiday local to it. Very god room, clean and all required there. good towels, extra pillows, proper mugs and plenty of tea/coffee. Very comfy bed.
Excellent breakfast in the morning.

Date of stay: October 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank HELEN H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2018

Very clean room big enough for a stopover on way back north from Devon .
Menu in Restaurant was very extensive, if there was nothing on there you liked you must be hard to please.
Breakfast was very good could have paid more for bigger portions but the standard was good enough for us.

Date of stay: September 2018
Thank keithpJ613ZA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews