We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Midwest Hospitality is Alive & Well at Hall House”
Review of Hall House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kalamazoo
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hall House
Ranked #5 of 6 Kalamazoo B&B and Inns
chicago
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Midwest Hospitality is Alive & Well at Hall House”
Reviewed 17 April 2012

Midwest hospitality is alive and well at Hall House. You will receive a warm welcome, stay in a beautiful room with private bath and have a delicious hearty breakfast waiting for you each morning.
As mentioned in other reviews, Kathy is a super hostess and she is quite helpful with providing information about places to visit in Kalamazoo. Hall House is steps away from Kalamazoo College and it is also convenient to Western Michigan and downtown Kalamazoo.

Hall House is the kind of B&B that you will look forward to staying at again and again

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank midwesttravelgal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
200

87 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    76
    8
    0
    2
    1
See reviews for
11
41
10
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lakeville, Minnesota
Level Contributor
70 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2012

The Hall House, custom-built in 1923, was a house constructed by an entrepreneur who wanted an eclectic home on the campus of Kalamazoo College. Back then, the era was Art Deco and its moldings and construction style offer a pleasant alternative to the ornate Victorian houses that we usually visit. We stayed in the Rutherford room, up the magnificent wooden staircase, first one on the left. A large, spacious room which faces the SW, it admits plenty of sunshine during the day. Bright! Airy! Refreshing! The bathroom is completely finished with ceramic tile - on the walls, on the floor, and in the shower stall. What a marvelous house to live in! We stay in B&B's because we like to meet others - people who travel have stories to tell! David and Cathy were personable hosts and helped us understand the nuances of and good places to go in Kazoo. Reserve your booking early and send a check to seal the deal! During the college season, sometimes they fill up without warning. Of course, we will be returning to Kalamazoo in the near future - can you guess where we will stay?

Room Tip: We are sold on the Rutherford room - bright & airy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank unclevad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waterloo, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 December 2011

I love to be spoiled and Kathy does a wonderful job of it!! I stayed at the Hall House by myself for two nights while visiting family in town. Kathy was a superb hostess. She cooked up some marvelous breakfasts! I love the array of food choices. The room was large, very comfortable, and immaculately clean. The bed provided a restful night's sleep. I particularly like the soft sheets! I have stayed at the Hall House on numerous occasions. Truthfully, while in Kalamazoo, I wouldn't consider staying anywhere else. I like the best and that is the Hall House!

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank luv2g078
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, OR
Level Contributor
42 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 November 2011

From the moment you walk in the door, you feel welcomed. The innkeeper is friendly, relaxed and helpful with restaurant recos. We stayed in the Rutherford Room, which was huge and so, so comfortable. The B&B is only a few minutes' drive to downtown restaurants, and it's right on the K College campus so it was perfect for a morning run/walk. Breakfast was lovely and relaxing. We've stayed at a lot of B&B's - and this one was one of the best.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank STFPortland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2011

My partner and I spent two nights at Hall House when we traveled to K-zoo for some cycling. Kathy Griffith made us feel right at home, and our room was spacious and comfortable and offered every amenity. The location was fine for us, a nice stroll into downtown, and we also got good recommendations from Kathy for restaurants in the area. When we return to K-zoo (and we will), we'll be sure to stay with her again!

Room Tip: The Rutherford Room was very nice with a good, firm mattress. We didn't see any other rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Willfred66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kalamazoo hotels
1.4 km away
Radisson Plaza Hotel at Kalamazoo Center
0.6 km away
Comfort Inn Kalamazoo
Comfort Inn Kalamazoo
#20 of 31 in Kalamazoo
104 reviews
8.8 km away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Kalamazoo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 km away
Staybridge Suites Kalamazoo
5.4 km away
Best Western Plus Kalamazoo Suites
5.2 km away
Red Roof Inn Kalamazoo West - Western Michigan U
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hall House? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
200
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hall House

Property: Hall House
Address: 106 Thompson St, Kalamazoo, MI 49006-4537
Region: United States > Michigan > Kalamazoo County > Kalamazoo
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Kalamazoo
Price range (per night): ₹ 7,033 - ₹ 12,195
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A distinctive city inn; A 1923 Georgian Revival home. Five tastefully appointed guest rooms. Two w/fireplace, one romantic jaccuzzi suite w/king bed and gas fireplace. All with private bath, DIRECTV, phones. Free high speed wireless access available. Smoke free. Across the street from Kalamazoo College, near Western Michigan University, downtown, theaters, restaurants, museums. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing