We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Loved it:)”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Henderson Castle Inn
Ranked #6 of 6 Kalamazoo B&B and Inns
GreenLeadersGold level
Sterling Heights, Michigan
1 review
“Loved it:)”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2012

We stayed in the Italian room, which had the air of an authentic castle's Master Suite. The house is full of engineering marvels, like the heated marble flooring in the Italian room, the fiber optic "stars" in the earth & sky room, and the panel in the roof which automatically slides open to allow access to the roof and hot tub.

Francois, the owner, was extremely attentive and made sure our stay was excellent. The morning breakfast was delicious gourmet french toast made by Francois himself, the Master Chef. He treated us as though we were the only guests, even though he was preparing breakfast for a large company party that began within the hour.

The place is in need of some cosmetic repairs, but seems to be undergoing renovation in phases.

I would highly recommend this place - Francois is extremely dedicated to his work and passionately attends to the building and its guests.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KarenMarie24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

212 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    78
    36
    35
    22
    41
See reviews for
32
125
7
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kalamazoo, Michigan
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2012

For our first anniversary, I wanted to surprise my wife with an incredible, but relaxing weekend. Having stayed at several B&B's before, I thought I knew what to expect. The first part of our weekend was a stay at the castle on Friday night, and it truly exceeded my expectations, and hers. Francois and staff ensured that every detail was paid attention to; from having enough time to get settled into our worldly room filled with fiber optic star constellations to a thorough detox in both the steam shower and dry sauna before our couples massage to an UNBELIEVABLE dinner with freshly prepared items. The conversation between my wife & I and another couple was wonderfully paced with the arrival of each course--from the start, there was a fresh garden salad topped with the chef's vinaigrette dressing and French bread; next, was the most amazing tomato bisque made from organic cream at a local farm just hours before being made; the entrées were prepared table-side--both were tantalizing and my beef medallion left me speechless for several minutes...the first time of the night; this was followed by the perfect dessert--a bit of French vanilla ice cream lightly topped with a blend of sauce and fruit that was reminiscent of bananas foster. This meal left us completely satisfied and well prepared for the relaxing stay in our room, wherein we turned off the lights and dimmed the stars to create the perfect ambiance to feel like we were truly outside looking up at the sky. The next morning, Francois prepared his signature French toast with a tasty fruit compote. Following breakfast, we ended up heading to the rooftop to feel the blowing snowflakes while soaking in the warmth of the hot tub that overlooks all of downtown Kalamazoo. Needless to say, the entire experience left us wanting for more and looking forward to our return to Henderson Castle.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Troy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kalamazoo, Michigan, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2012

My girlfriend and I both love the Henderson Castle. We made reservations for dinner and asked for a Vegetarian/Vegan meal. Our request was accommodated without any issues and the food was amazing. Great atmosphere and food, you can’t go wrong. Great date place!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Matt H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Downers Grove, Illinois, United States
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2012

My wife and I had a wonderful stay in this gorgeous turn of the century home. All of the antiques and woodwork were fantastic. Francois is a great host and wonderful chef as well. Don't miss the breakfast, and consider having dinner "in" if you don't have other plans. You will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portage, Michigan
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2012

It is going back in time as soon as you begin walking up the path to the entrance. Once inside, everything changes and the peaceful environment begins to quickly take over.

I always have admired the castle in the 20+ years of living in Kalamazoo, but actually entered this wonderful place and stayed overnight in the Castle for the first time in the fall. It was a fabulous experience of being saturated in beauty. The view from the roof, while drinking wine in the hot tub was indescribable - you just have to experience it for yourself.

Thank you to all of the staff who took such great care of me!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Betty C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kalamazoo hotels
1.7 km away
Radisson Plaza Hotel at Kalamazoo Center
8.6 km away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Kalamazoo
1.0 km away
Comfort Inn Kalamazoo
Comfort Inn Kalamazoo
#21 of 31 in Kalamazoo
3.0 of 5 bubbles 100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 km away
Staybridge Suites Kalamazoo
6.9 km away
Hampton Inn Kalamazoo
Hampton Inn Kalamazoo
#3 of 31 in Kalamazoo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 180 reviews
7.0 km away
Four Points by Sheraton Kalamazoo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Henderson Castle Inn? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Henderson Castle Inn

Property: Henderson Castle Inn
Address: 100 Monroe St, Kalamazoo, MI 49006-4433
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Michigan > Kalamazoo County > Kalamazoo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Kalamazoo
Price range (per night): ₹ 9,076 - ₹ 17,633
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Henderson Castle Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to The Henderson Castle, the most popular bed and breakfast in Kalamazoo. Whether you're local or coming from Grand Rapids, Detroit, Lansing, South Bend or Chicago, you'll find us to be the best destination for your anniversary, birthday, wedding, graduation or romantic getaway. Situated in the historic West Main Hill neighborhood, you're minutes away from the theatres, shopping and vibrant night life of downtown Kalamazoo, but secluded enough to enjoy a quiet night free from the noise of the city. When you're with us, you'll have a royal experience. Wake up to an incredible breakfast prepared by our French chef Francois Moyet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your Henderson Castle Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Henderson Castle Hotel Kalamazoo
Henderson Castle Inn Bed And Breakfast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing