We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel, strange location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Candlewood Suites Kalamazoo
Ranked #8 of 31 Hotels in Kalamazoo
detroit
Level Contributor
83 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Good hotel, strange location”
Reviewed 16 July 2011

This hotel is plunked down next to what looks like a failed industrial incubator -- a former GM plant that used to employ 3,000 people that now looks as though it employs about 3 dozen, based on the number of cars in its parking lot when we arrived. There are lots of other factories within a mile or two, though -- this is Kalamazoo's industrial area. The hotel itself is several hundred yards from any other building between the GM plant and the highway. You can't really walk to anything nearby except a gas station and a couple of other hotels. That said, the hotel itself is fine -- very clean, almost new. The rooms are spacious and comfortable, with a nice firm bed, flat panel TV, table for two, recliner, and nearly a full kitchen -- full size refrigerator, microwave, two-burner cooktop and silverware, dishes, pots, pans and glasses for two. (Obvoiusly this place is meant for extended stay.) There's a little convenience store in the lobby with microwave meals and other foods you can buy. There's also wicked fast hard-wired Internet access, five mpbs download and 2 mpbs up. If you're doing business at one of the factories nearby, or here for a hockey game or tournament at nearby Wings Stadium, this place would be OK. (No pool is a drawback for families with kids who like to play in pools, though.) Otherwise, Kalamazoo has better choices in this price range.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank madmatthew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
debbiem12, General Manager at Candlewood Suites Kalamazoo, responded to this review, 12 April 2012
Since our opening in the fall of 2009, we have established ourselves as one the top performing hotels in the greater Kalamazoo area. The once closed GM plant is now a thriving business park that has brought hundreds of jobs to the Kalamazoo area. We are indeed delighted to have contributed to the vitality of the area with the addition of our extended-stay property to the hospitality market. We offer studio and one-bedroom suites---all featuring full size appliances and cookware. We are growing as fast as the speed of our internet! We extend a sincere welcome to both business and leisure travelers coming to the Kalamazoo area, and thank those valued guests who have selected us for their traveling needs.

Sincerely,
Debbie Mahone
General Manager
Candlewood Suites-Kalamazoo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

120 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    61
    38
    11
    7
    3
See reviews for
28
19
11
48
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Munith,MI
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2011

I stayed at the Candlewood Suites for one night. I must say it was a extremley nice place to stay. The beds were good and a very very clean hotel. The staff was friendly and helpfull also. If I ever need to stay in Kalamazoo again or any place with a Candlewood suites, I will check for avalability.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wolverine777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
debbiem12, General Manager at Candlewood Suites Kalamazoo, responded to this review, 12 April 2012
On behalf of our entire staff here at Candlewood, we would like to thank you for your kind remarks. We value our guests and we are delighted that you enjoyed you stay with us! Please visit us again if you are traveling in the Kalamazoo area!

Sincerely,
Debbie Mahone
General Manager
Candlewood Suites-Kalamazoo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Titusville, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 December 2010

We retuned multiple times over an 8 month period, so we got to experience every aspect of this hotel. The rooms are upscale with granite countertops & tasetful decorating, high speed internet and great workspaces. They were very clean and have fantastic beds. The staff is so helpful and made us feel like we were coming home. We enjoyed weekly Manager's Receptions with catered meals, fresh fuit every morning and free on site laundry facilities. We highly recommend Candlewood Suites of Kalamazoo.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank evangelista_joan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
debbiem12, General Manager at Candlewood Suites Kalamazoo, responded to this review, 12 April 2012
Thank you! Thank you! Thank you! The true test of the success of our hotel is the extent to which we make our guest feel at home! We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us. We are so happy we made you feel at home!

Sincerely,
Debbie Mahone
General Manager
Candlewood Suites-Kalamazoo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Allen Park
Level Contributor
30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 September 2010

This hotel looks pretty new and it caters more to the business traveler. They only have housekeeping once a week unless you request it otherwise, but for just passing through, it was fine. It was clean and maintained well. The rooms have a small kitchenette in them, too.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank drwalt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
debbiem12, General Manager at Candlewood Suites Kalamazoo, responded to this review, 12 April 2012
Thank you for your positive feedback. We strive to ensure that our guests have a pleasant experience during their stay. We hope we have the opportunity of servicing you again in the future.

Sincerely,
Debbie Mahone
General Manager
Candlewood Suites-Kalamazoo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
Reviewed 17 July 2010

No free breakfast, rude staff, hotel room dirty, difficult to access, nothing in walking distance, and did I mention no free breakfast? Cmon folks for the price I was paying, a hotel like this should have a free breakfast. Only nice thing was that the rooms were pretty nice inside except for the cleanliness issue. If they get a better staff and a free breakfast I might consider going back. Until then I am going to continue to stay at the nearby options that offer free breakfast.

  • Stayed August 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank waterski6987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
debbiem12, General Manager at Candlewood Suites Kalamazoo, responded to this review, 12 April 2012
We would like to meet the expectations of each of our valued guests. I deeply apologize that we failed to meet your expectations. As a brand, Candlewood Suites hotels do not serve breakfast, as is our standard. Many of our extended-stay guests have found that our fully-equipped kitchens have lead to a huge savings in terms of food costs. Though we do not feature a complimentary breakfast, we do offer complimentary coffee, tea and fresh fruit daily. Additionally, we feature our Candlewood Cupboard, an on-sight convenience store where snacks and drinks may be purchased our charged to your room. Again, I apologize that our brand failed to meet your needs and hope that you may give us another chance should you revisit the Kalamazoo area. Thank you again for staying with us.

Sincerely,
Debbie Mahone
General Manager
Candlewood Suites-Kalamazoo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kalamazoo hotels
12.4 km away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Kalamazoo
0.4 km away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Kalamazoo
5.9 km away
Radisson Plaza Hotel at Kalamazoo Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.5 km away
Staybridge Suites Kalamazoo
0.4 km away
Four Points by Sheraton Kalamazoo
12.4 km away
TownePlace Suites Kalamazoo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Candlewood Suites Kalamazoo? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Candlewood Suites Kalamazoo

Property: Candlewood Suites Kalamazoo
Address: 3443 Retail Place Dr, Kalamazoo, MI 49048-8819
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Michigan > Kalamazoo County > Kalamazoo
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Kalamazoo
Price range (per night): ₹ 7,227 - ₹ 10,001
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Candlewood Suites Kalamazoo 2.5*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Brand New Extended Stay Hotel in Kalamazoo. Part of the IHG Holiday Inn Family so you get Priority Club Rewards Points for staying with us. We're centrally located right off I-94 exit 80 for Sprinkle Road. Each suite includes a full kitchen with everything you need to start cooking. Each suite also has a 32 inch flat screen TV, wired and wireless hi speed internet for free, free fitness and business center and free laundry facilities. Food and beverages available onsite in our Candlewood Cupboard. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Candlewood Suites Kalamazoo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Candlewood Suites Kalamazoo Hotel Kalamazoo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing