We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful experience!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Boyne Highlands Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Boyne Highlands Resort
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Harbor Springs
Certificate of Excellence
Southgate, Michigan
Level Contributor
81 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Wonderful experience!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 September 2011

I just returned from a annual golf weekend at Boyne Highlands. The golf was spectacular! One thing that needs mentioning is that every other part of the resort was spectacular as well. The customer service was excellent, the accomodations were very good, and where ever I ate the food was excellent. Breakfast isn't available anywhere on the property for people that tee off at 7:00 a.m., but that was the only negative experience of the entire weekend. The resort has so much to offer even the non-golfers had plenty to do. Stay here!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rf2316
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

249 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    131
    78
    23
    11
    6
See reviews for
88
54
1
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, Michigan
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 September 2011

As an avid mountain biker I've always wanted to do a downhill course where chairlifts run you back to the top, Until I discovered Boyne Highlands (and Boyne) I didnt know Michigan offered this activity at any resort. ..I just returned from a weekend up north that included doing their downhill courses. Each of the trails come directly down (or wrap around) the front side of the hill and go thru the tree lines. The trails are super tough (IMO) and are laced with man made (wooden) jumps ranging from a few feet high to over 8 feet high. These trails not only have good jumps, but theyre pretty steep with some really quick switchbacks on some of them ("Shock" & "After Shock").

Not only did this resort have my favorite sport (mountain biking), but it also had Zip Line tours that zig zagged down the hill thru the treelines. I also saw (numerous) golf courses, lawn games and tennis.

I've always given these resorts my business in the winter, but never gave much thought to a summer visit (til now).

I would highly encourage people with an appetite for fun to visit.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lawrenceporter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saginaw
Level Contributor
27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 September 2011

We went there for a scrapbook weekend retreat. The hotel was wonderful,staff very helpful. The grounds were so calming to walk around and well kept....a little chilly when we were there....but very nice...and rooms are very clean.

  • Stayed March 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dursnece
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michigan
Level Contributor
112 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2011

We’ve stayed at Boyne Highlands before, always choosing the Main Lodge for accommodations which we’ve always been pleased with. The rooms in the lodge have character and have a certain charm to them. It seems that we generally end up on the third (top) floor which means the rooms have sloping ceilings and smaller windows but that they also are unique. The beds have been cozy and the views of the slopes beautiful even in the summer (which is when we’ve stayed).

We’ve enjoyed being able to sit outside at the base of the slopes and enjoy the ‘smore making evenings as well as a drink from the bar even if it means fighting off summer’s mosquitoes in order to enjoy a starlit night. This last trip we took advantage of the complimentary lift tickets to go to the top in order to enjoy amazing views of the landscape around us. Perhaps the best part of the view is what can only be called the million dollar vista of the bay off in the distance, seeing the shimmering blue water under a bright sunny sky was truly a treat! I’d also say that the mountain bikers really do have it made there; it seemed to me that the trails looked well groomed and offered plenty of opportunity to justify a dual suspension bike. I must admit that the next time we have mountain bikes with us I’d be tempted to try my hand on these awesome downhill trails. Yes, they rent bikes but frankly I’d like to spend some more time on the trails at home before taking on the challenges that these offer. I was also surprised that there weren’t more mountain bikers; this makes these trails a quiet treasure.

I called this review a mixed bag and I’ll now turn to the reasons why. I began this review with favorable comments about staying in the main lodge, to which we’d happily return, and so I’ll offer my opinions on our most recent stay in the Heather Highlands –Inverness. I can’t say that we were overly impressed with our stay in this section of the resort. It’s not that it was bad; it just wasn’t on par with our previous visits. Yes, it was $50 a night less expensive but to be frank, the savings were not worth it.

The Heather Highlands is seemingly two buildings that are perpendicular and connected to form a backwards L. When you initially drive around the loop from the main lodge you see the first section along with a well hidden parking lot to the side. In order to reach the other section, call it the base of the “L” you turn into an entryway a little further along and your initial reaction is that you’ve made a wrong turn. There you’ll see a collection of housekeeping and maintenance vehicles as well as an unusually empty lot, not nearly as welcoming as the main lodge. The entry into the building is from a side door at the base of the building and is without much fanfare, this section of the resort is perhaps a little more “tired” the hallways are painted a dark green which make them seem a bit darker than they ought to be. Turning the key and opening the door to the “suite” you’ll find a very typical hotel room; closet, small sink, microwave, coffee maker and refrigerator housed in a section of kitchen cabinetry that also holds some glassware, flatware and silverware. While the carpet looks new the rest of the room could use an update, the queen beds seemed more like doubles to me and were quite firm, not a bad thing, just an observation. There is a sliding glass door-wall that opens out onto a balcony which is shared with the adjoining room. This adjoined situation is apparently what creates the suite. There is a two door arrangements that separates the rooms however this does little to isolate sounds between the rooms, it was very easy to hear conversations in the other room which is disappointing.

What was also disappointing was that our confirmation, as quoted below, was for a suite:

“Inverness Suite - one bedroom condo with two queen beds in bedroom, one king murphy bed and one queen sleeper sofa in living area, gas fireplace, kitchenette and two bathrooms.”

When we inquired at the front desk as to the discrepancy between our confirmation and our room we were told that the other half of the suite was the adjoining room with the Murphy bed, sofa, living area and gas fireplace. Apparently that also meant that the people in that room didn’t even have a regular bed! We were told that despite our reservation and confirmation, we would have to pay “extra” for that section, which seems odd since it was what was confirmed.

Ultimately, the Inverness “room” was adequate though potentially noisy depending on neighbors. It was a little dated and frankly not as charming as the main lodge. Would we stay in the Heather Highlands again? Maybe, but only if we had the complete suite, not just one of the halves. Would we stay in the Main Lodge, yes, absolutely since we’ve always enjoyed it. Hence the mixed bag, beautiful setting, very relaxing with abundant recreational opportunities however the quality of your stay will be dictated by the section of the resort in which you stay. So while I give high marks to the Main Lodge I give average to lower marks for the Heather Highlands.

Room Tip: Stay in the Main Lodge, I'd rate this as excellent!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pablo_a2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clarkston, Michigan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2011

We traveled to Boyne Highlands for our wedding anniversary. Overall it was a wonderful trip to a great resort. The rooms were spacious and the beds were very comfortable. We loved the golf packages that made it affordable to golf the beautiful courses. When we weren't golfing we loved all the free activities at the resort - tennis, par 3 course, putt putt, bean bag toss, ladder golf, bonfire, chair lift rides, boats and more! The restaurants were good and nearby Harbor Springs and Petosky are beautiful! We will be back!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lcmeyer8506
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Harbor Springs
13.3 km away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Petoskey
10.6 km away
Stafford's Perry Hotel
Stafford's Perry Hotel
#2 of 15 in Petoskey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 555 reviews
5.4 km away
Colonial Inn
Colonial Inn
#3 of 4 in Harbor Springs
4.0 of 5 bubbles 107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.0 km away
The Apple Tree Inn
The Apple Tree Inn
#7 of 15 in Petoskey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 406 reviews
13.0 km away
@ Michigan Inn & Lodge
@ Michigan Inn & Lodge
#6 of 15 in Petoskey
4.0 of 5 bubbles 710 reviews
12.0 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Petoskey
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Boyne Highlands Resort? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boyne Highlands Resort

Property: Boyne Highlands Resort
Address: 600 Highland Drive, Harbor Springs, MI 49740
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Michigan > Emmet County > Harbor Springs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Harbor Springs
Price range (per night): ₹ 5,107 - ₹ 18,463
Hotel Class:3 star — Boyne Highlands Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 386
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Byne Highlands has grown to become one of Michigan's premiere all-season resorts and we've taken care to preserve the things that matter. That's why we provide plenty of excitement - from Zipline Adventures to horsedrawn sleigh rides - right alongside exceptional golf, dinner theatre, and countless opportunities for guests to share time together with family and friends. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your Boyne Highlands Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Boyne Highlands Hotel Harbor Springs
Boyne Highland Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing