We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An unlikely gem”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
JW Marriott Grand Rapids
Ranked #4 of 48 Hotels in Grand Rapids
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 July 2012

So who knew? There's a JW Marriott in Grand Rapids. After staying here a couple times as a pitstop on our drives up and back to Northern Michigan for vacation, it's now our mandatory stopover. Really easy on/easy off for the highway. The facility is in great shape, with a relaxing view of the river. Sit outside at sunset and grab a beer and an appetizer as the sun goes down. Amass the family and invade the cabanas, for that matter. Rooms are quiet, comfortable, very JW. Staff is extraordinarily polite and pleasant. Stayed on the concierge floor, which always simplifies life. Not a thing wrong with this place... (Self park is easy, too.)

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank getupgetout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (968)
There are newer reviews for JW Marriott Grand Rapids
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

751 - 755 of 968 reviews

Reviewed 22 July 2012

We stay here often as we visit our elderly parent in a nearby Senior Complex. From entering the gorgeous circular entry drive to the friendly reception desk, this is a first class destination. We were given a 20% reduction on our meal in the wonderful 6-1-6 since we're are Elite members, and swooned over a delicious meal . We enjoyed the fitness center and refreshing pool as well. Always clean, all staff are friendly and we love the bar and lobby seating areas. Oh, there's a Starbucks too!

Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
Thank dre51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2012

We love this place! The very first time we stayed, they didn't have our room type ready so they upgraded us to the concierge level. Needless to say, we're hooked now & can't quite imagine staying on the "regular floors" without the fabulous perks in the lounge. We love the vibe of the place, although the music piped through by the elevators can be really loud if you have a room nearby.

If you can afford the splurge, enjoy the concierge service with drinks, apps, & breakfast included. It is well worth it, especially when you consider the fabulous view over the river.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Zebe912
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2012

I've stayed at the JW in Grand Rapids several times and every time my family and I return, the facility and staff exceed our expectations. The key is the small touches, ranging from free wi-fi (surprisingly UNcommon at many major hotels these days) to luxury amenities in the bathroom. The rooms are large, comfortable, and immaculate with thick towels and heavy bed linens. You will find an extremely relaxing and comfortable room to rest or work.

The staff is spectacular; always looking for ways to help, whether it's a recommendation for a place to eat or something fun to do in GR.

One last word; if you enjoy good food, do not miss the onsite six.one.six restaurant. Often people think "hotel restaurants" aren't terribly good. NOT THE CASE HERE. The menu is carefully crafted and every ingredient is meticulously selected. Nothing is on the plate that does not add to the overall experience. More importantly, the staff is very generous and extremely informative about ingredients, their source, preparation, and wine recommendations. Don't miss this when you stay here!

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bill C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2012

beautifull place to go !
Modern inside !
Good service !
Beautifull room !
Beautifull views !
Nice swimmingpool !
Breakfast very big buffet for american standards
It is not cheep, but worth the money !

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sgoorts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Grand Rapids hotels
0.2 km away
Amway Grand Plaza, Curio Collection by Hilton
0.3 km away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Grand Rapids Downtown
0.2 km away
Courtyard Grand Rapids Downtown
Courtyard Grand Rapids Downtown
#12 of 48 in Grand Rapids
369 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Holiday Inn Grand Rapids Downtown
0.4 km away
CityFlatsHotel
CityFlatsHotel
#19 of 48 in Grand Rapids
236 reviews
1.6 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Grand Rapids Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to JW Marriott Grand Rapids? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about JW Marriott Grand Rapids

Address: 235 Louis Campau Prom, Grand Rapids, MI 49503
Region: United States > Michigan > Kent County > Grand Rapids
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Grand Rapids
#1 Business Hotel in Grand Rapids
#2 Family Hotel in Grand Rapids
Price Range: ₹ 18,799 - ₹ 25,022 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — JW Marriott Grand Rapids 4*
Number of rooms: 336
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The JW Marriott Grand Rapids is everything you would expect and nothing you could have imagined. Situated in the heart of downtown Grand Rapids, Michigan, the JW Marriott Grand Rapids is meticulously designed for both business and pleasure. As the first JW Marriott hotel in the Midwest, the hotel offers 337 well-appointed, smoke-free rooms and suites on 23 posh floors. Each of which is outfitted with atypical amenities like a 37" plasma TV, as well as numerous other uncommon personal luxuries. From shareholder's meetings to lavish wedding receptions to intimate weekend getaways to The Spa, the JW raises the bar. In luxury. In service. In dining. In everything. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia and TripOnline SA so you can book your JW Marriott Grand Rapids reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Grand Rapids
Grand Rapids Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing