We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Never disappointed!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Grand Rapids East
Ranked #1 of 49 Hotels in Grand Rapids
Certificate of Excellence
North Haledon, New Jersey
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Never disappointed!”
Reviewed 3 May 2012

I stayed at the County Inn & Suites once again last weekend when I was in Grand Rapids for a wedding. The ceremony was at a downtown church and the reception we in the Kentwood/Calvin College area. The hotel was the perfect location for that. The hotel is right by the interstate, which puts you in downtown GR in about 5 minutes. Just 5 minutes down the E Beltline is SE Grand Rapids.

The hotel has an option where you can request a room upgrade ahead of time for a nominal fee. We were very pleased to be upgraded from a standard king bed room to a one bedroom suite for only $9 a night!

The staff is very courteous and pleasant, always greeting you when you are seen. Check-in and check-out were both a breeze.

The breakfast is perfect! Usually eggs, a meat and a potato of some kind, plus the regular standard continental fare and a waffle maker.

I will definitely stay here again and recommend this to anyone I hear is going to Grand Rapids!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Johnvb87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CX_GAMI, Front Office Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Grand Rapids East, responded to this review, 8 May 2012
Dear Johnvb87,

Thank you very much for writing a review about our hotel! I'll let our breakfast attendants know of your nice kind words. I'm glad you were able to take advantage of the eStandby upgrade for the suite. I appreciate your feedback very much, Johnvb87! Thank you for taking the time to write a review about our hotel! I saw your prior review as well. Thank you for your time, Johnvb87.

Sincerely,

Ian Kirkwood
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

910 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    677
    192
    32
    4
    5
See reviews for
343
180
41
257
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wake Forest, North Carolina
Level Contributor
117 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2012

First let me say in the following in their favor. This hotel had a terrible review about a week ago because of bed bugs. When I called for reservations I asked them about that. They admitted it and told me what they had done to eliminate the issue. Our room was totall clean with no bugs.
Second I wanted a hotel near Frederick Meijer Gardens so I could get to hotel fast and easily after our visit ot the Gardens. This hotel fits ths bill.
Third the staff are nice and professional though we did not have a lot to do of contact with them.
They folllow water saving measures like limiting the sheet/towel changes if you are there for a 2-3 days or longer.
Here is why I rate the place average"
1) Lumpy beds and placed too high off the floor.
2) poor lighting, only two lamps in the room and the only over head light is at the entrance near the bathroom
3) bathtub is very shallow and the sides are narrow making it very hard to get in and out. I had just used the showed, but the surface of the tub is slightly slick so that a shower would have been a problem for me.
4) Decor is standard. Soothing but dull colors in dark blue and beige. Nothing bright or cheery anywhere. Makes the place look dull and out-of-date.
5) I mentioned the water saving measures which I liked, but they also have a lot of trash causing amenities like the wrapped soaps. There has to be a better way.
6) Don't expect a nice view. It is right off the freeway and the East Beltline (busy four lane divided road). We had a room on the 3rd floor and it was noisy.
6) There is no restaurant. There is a set-up for contintental breakfast, but nothing else. The breakfast has a good variety with waffles made on a waffle maker, french toast, eggs, and sausage. However, my husband tried the french toast and said it was only average. I had a lighter breakfast. Be forwarded then - don't expect room service.
We paid over a $100 for one night (Friday) and that was the senior citizen rate. I should have bid on Expedia to do better. However, knowing what I know now, I would look for a better hotel chain and try to get a good price elsewhere.

Room Tip: Don't pick a room in the front - too close to highway and busy streets. Check Expedia or similar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Margo96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CX_GAMI, Front Office Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Grand Rapids East, responded to this review, 30 April 2012
Dear Margo96,

Thank you very much for your feedback on your stay. I appreciate your comments very much! Regarding your review, I have some feedback. We have step stools available upon request if you ever need assistance getting into the beds. Some of our handicap accessible rooms also have a lower bed and bathroom layouts that might be more attuned to your needs. We also provide bath mats upon request at the front desk if the tub is a bit slippery. You are correct, we don't have a restaurant or bar on site. Being a select service level hotel we only offer breakfast in the mornings. However, we like to think of it as a deluxe continental buffet because we offer so many choices. I'm glad to hear you and your husband enjoyed it! I will let our breakfast attendants know of your nice kind words. This past weekend certainly was busy! Being sold out, our rates did go up. If you are ever worried about noise issues, ask the front desk on which rooms will be the quietest. We would be more than happy to help!

Booking through a 3rd party reservation system might save you money at a different hotel chain, but I can guarantee that booking through the hotel directly will get you the lowest rate. Also, if you know you are coming into town in advance, there are other ways to save on the rate! Booking an advanced purchase rate can save up to 20% on some days. There are seasonal deals that might include up to 35% off the rack rate for specific weekends also. I'm happy to hear you enjoyed the Frederik Meijer Gardens. It is a wonderful atrium and they certainly do a great job! I appreciate your lengthy review of our hotel. I hope that if you are in the area we can service you again! We would be happy to have you. If you have any questions or concerns please email me. I would be more than happy to help you!

Sincerely,

Ian Kirkwood
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dearborn
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 April 2012

We stay at this hotel for work and are there for a day or two almost weekly. Place is great and hotel staff are the best. I've never had an issue. Most of my stay has been for work but I would not hesitate to book here for my own travel to Grand Rapids and west Michigan for sightseeing. Its become my benchmark for rest of chain and others.

The breakfast bar is extensive and well tended. Also, they are generous about coffee, tea, fresh-made cookies, fruit and granola bars throughout the day. Plenty to satisfy a traveling family or those of us here for work and grabbing breakfast and a snack for later.

Its a great place, Come on down.

Room Tip: Back side faces the freeway but you only hear a rumble. Its not bad.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PatSDearborn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CX_GAMI, Front Office Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Grand Rapids East, responded to this review, 20 April 2012
Dear PatSDearborn,

Thank you very much for reviewing our hotel on Trip Advisor! I'm happy to hear you enjoyed your stay! I appreciate your kind feedback very much! Come back again soon.

Sincerely,

Ian Kirkwood
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GARDEN CITY
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 18 April 2012

My mom and I came to Grand Rapids for the Winter Jam Tour on 04/01/12 and to get-a-way for my mom’s birthday. When I called to make reservations, I spoke with Stephanie and told her about our plans. After talking with her, I felt like I was a long-lost friend or a part of her family.

We arrived early and were given early check-in, which was nice because we were able to unwind from the long drive before going to the concert. We were given a two queen bed suite on the 3rd floor and it was great!!! The room was very clean and welcoming. At other hotels we have experienced strong disinfectants or chemical smells and did not experience that here. The beds (even the pull-out couch) were comfortable. I also took advantage of the desk so that I could study for my national boards.

All of the staff members were very accommodating, extremely pleasant, and went out of their way to make sure that our stay was enjoyable.

Considering that we are not from the Grand Rapids area, we needed directions to everywhere we went. The hotel staff provided us with easy to follow directions that saved us time and frustration. The front desk person gave us suggestions about different restaurants in the area and had menus for us to look at so we could decide what type of cuisine we wanted. We ended up going to Malarkey’s right in front of the hotel. The food was good and also encountered friendly staff there! (Try the Buffalo Chicken Cheese Dip – YUMMO!!!)

Due to time, we did not use all of the amenities; however, we did look around and were quite impressed with what the hotel had to offer. The continental breakfast was yummy! It was nice to have coffee, hot water, and cookies available whenever we wanted them. It was great being able to “sneak” down stairs for a break from studying.

We DID NOT have any bed bugs or any sign of them, so reading "MichiganReview123's" review is very surprising to me.

We were close to the elevators and really did not hear too much from people arriving and departing, which was surprising (especially because it was Spring Break and there were a lot of young people around), but gladly accepted! If/when I (or my family) come to the Grand Rapids area again; we will definitely be staying here.

Room Tip: Call for reservations - do not "book" online.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shannyk5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CX_GAMI, Front Office Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Grand Rapids East, responded to this review, 20 April 2012
Dear Shannyk5,

Thank you so much for your enthusiastic response! I'll let Stephanie know of your nice kind comments! She certainly is a great manager. Come back again soon, Shannyk5! I will certainly have to try that buffalo cheese dip next time I head over to Malarky's. It sounds delicious. We look forward to having you stay with us again!

Sincerely,

Ian Kirkwood
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Detroit, MI
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 April 2012

I stay at this location everytime I am in Grand Rapids. The service is great, always really friendly and happy to help any way they can. If you are planning a night in downtown Grand Rapid, I highly reccommend this hotel - seeing as downtown GR is only a very easy 10 minute drive.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Allison D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CX_GAMI, Front Office Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Grand Rapids East, responded to this review, 20 April 2012
Dear Allison,

Thank you very much for reviewing our hotel on Trip Advisor! It means a lot to me and our staff that you took the time to write a review about your stay. Come back again soon! ArtPrize is right a round the corner.

Sincerely,

Ian Kirkwood
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Grand Rapids hotels
5.5 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Grand Rapids Downtown
7.5 km away
Drury Inn & Suites Grand Rapids
Drury Inn & Suites Grand Rapids
#5 of 49 in Grand Rapids
5.0 of 5 bubbles 119 reviews
7.0 km away
JW Marriott Grand Rapids
JW Marriott Grand Rapids
#3 of 49 in Grand Rapids
4.5 of 5 bubbles 923 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.7 km away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Grand Rapids Downtown
7.3 km away
Holiday Inn Grand Rapids Downtown
6.9 km away
Amway Grand Plaza, Curio Collection by Hilton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Grand Rapids East? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Grand Rapids East

Property: Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Grand Rapids East
Address: 3251 Deposit Dr NE, Grand Rapids, MI 49546-1465
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Michigan > Kent County > Grand Rapids
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Grand Rapids
#2 Romantic Hotel in Grand Rapids
#2 Business Hotel in Grand Rapids
Price range (per night): ₹ 9,567 - ₹ 14,738
Hotel Class:3 star — Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Grand Rapids East 3*
Number of rooms: 154
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
What is it like to Be Our Guest at the Country Inn & Suites Grand Rapids East? It's a family getaway, with all the comforts of home. It's feeling free to borrow a book from our library, sit by the fireplace, or relax in the whirlpool. It's a hot breakfast that is always free and friendly staff that is always ready to help. But most of all, it's feeling like a guest in our home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Grand Rapids East reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn & Suites Grand Rapids East Hotel Grand Rapids
Country Inn And Suites Grand Rapids East
Country Inn Grand Rapids
Grand Rapids Country Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing