We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (93)
Filter reviews
93 results
Traveller rating
15
23
27
18
10
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
15
23
27
18
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviews free shuttle grand river chess game staff was friendly and accommodating great hotel for the price shuttle driver an older hotel stayed one night great view of the river hotel restaurant close to downtown king bed front desk staff holiday inn concert lounge brewery
Filter
Updating list...
36 - 41 of 93 reviews
Reviewed 3 October 2017

It hadn't been my first or even second choice and wasn't expecting much when we pulled up to the hotel. The neighborhood is rather industrial but very close to freeways, major roads and shopping. What e n we got inside the hotel lobby, we could see it had been updated and I was happy to see how m know deen, bright and fresh everything looked. The girl at the front desk (Denise) was nice and helpful a nd let us check in even though we were a bit early. The room was clean and bright and looked newly renovated. The only things I didn't like we're pretty minor...they need hooks or towel bars in the bathroom and the sink drains super slow. Other than that...the room was fine. We had breakfast in the hotel restaurant. We had the hot buffet a nd it was hot and fresh and had both healthy and not healthy eating options. We didn't use the indoor pool or hot tub but we were happy they were options. There is also a lovely outdoor courtyard...perfect for reading or relaxing. Parking was free and there were plenty of spaces available as well as a free shuttle. Bottom line...this is not a luxury hotel but we would stay there again and bet there will be even more updates and pleasant surprises.

Room Tip: We stayed on the 7th floor and were pleased. Ask for a room with a view of the river!
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank kathya399
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brad S, General Manager at The Grand River Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member, responded to this reviewResponded 22 December 2017

Kathya399,

Thank you so much for sharing your experience with us! Your feedback is very important to us and it is greatly appreciated! I look forward to meeting you on your next visit to The Grand River Hotel!

Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2017 via mobile

Although the hotel looks nice.. being kept awake by a horrible band, being lied to and leaving with a purse full of ants ruined this trip. It was almost 11pm when we finally switched rooms. Avoid at all costs.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Anchored05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert B, Management Company at The Grand River Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member, responded to this reviewResponded 6 December 2017

Thank you for your review. I am sorry to hear that you had issues with your stay. We did have a live band on the outdoor patio however, the band stops by 9pm.

Please allow us the opportunity to make things right and give us a second chance!

Thank you,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2017 via mobile

Not the worst hotel I've stayed at, but definitely not the best. You can tell they've tried to update the hotel, but it's not the nicest. The mattress was somewhat uncomfortable, the lamp in our room flashed on and off at random times, the bathroom door wouldn't close unless slammed, and the safety lock on the hallway door was half broken. Overall it was clean and the staff was ok, but I don't think I'd stay there again. Not worth the money we spent for 2 nights, but we were limited with options since it was during ArtPrize.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank erinmc83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert B, Management Company at The Grand River Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member, responded to this reviewResponded 6 December 2017

Thank you for your review Erin! The renovation has been completed and we are ready to accept our guests!

Please allow us the opportunity to re-introduce you to the hotel!

Thank you,

Rob

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2017

Hotel is convenient to downtown and really is right on the river. We had a very good meal in the lounge/restaurant. First room adjoined another and the noise from the room next door was as if people were in the room with us. Moved to another room that was more quiet, until the live band started up on the patio & played until after 11 (not something we needed after a long, hot day). Room appeared clean and newly remodeled, but seemed a little like the renovation was done on the cheap: light on desk was turned off but periodically flashed bright light until unplugged; low-flow toilet did not dispose of even small amount of paper (then gave up completely!) You can slap paint on something, but bad is bad.

Room Tip: Ask that rooms not be adjoining. For quiet, ask to be on the side opposite the stage (I think this is only Fridays during summer).
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank tlmck01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brad S, General Manager at The Grand River Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member, responded to this reviewResponded 22 December 2017

Timck01,

Thank you for your review. I am sorry to hear that you had issues with your stay. We did have a live band on the outdoor patio however, the band stops by 9pm.

Please allow us the opportunity to make things right and give us a second chance!

Thank you,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2017

At first glance this hotel looks AMAZING! Swanky with the new furniture and colors. But it stops there. Sinks don't drain. Only decaf coffee in room. No soap. I repeat, no bar soap! Had to go to desk 3 separate times to have cards re-keyed because they didn't work. Asked for soap and was told sorry they don't have any. Only time we used elevator what to take luggage up and then down because it was so so slow. Lukewarm coffee in the lobby; but thumbs up for the flavored creamers! Only gave 2 towels when we paid for three people in the room. Waiter at the restaurant was awful. The beds have PLASTIC wrapped over the mattresses so every time you moved it made noise. Air conditioner compressor was terribly loud and woke us up all night. People in the room next to us let their young kids scream and run up and down the hallway. Drunks banging on door all hours of the night. That happened 3 separate times. Do not stay here. Suck it up and spend the money for a better experience. We left tired and angry

Room Tip: Rooms next to elevator are super noisy
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michelle A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brad S, General Manager at The Grand River Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member, responded to this reviewResponded 22 December 2017

Michelle A,

Thank you for your review. I am sorry to hear that you had issues with your stay. We truly appreciate your feedback!

Please allow us the opportunity to make things right and give us a second chance!

Thank you,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews