We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (504)
Filter reviews
504 results
Traveller rating
138
183
109
42
32
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
138
183
109
42
32
Show reviews that mention
All reviews railway station dining room nutshell tour historic hotel overlooking the lake old style breakfast buffet good size stayed two nights room was large friendly helpful staff train line course dinner salad main road day trip public areas
Filter
Updating list...
24 - 29 of 504 reviews
Reviewed 28 July 2018 via mobile

We stayed here for 2 nights recently and could not fault a thing. From the moment we walked in we were made to feel very welcome. The service at the front desk and in the dining areas was fabulous. Our room was very comfortabe and what a treat to sit on the terrace and look at the lake area. Location was amazing too as we could access the platform to our trains through the rear entry of the hotel yet no noise disrupted our rest at any time. Breakfasts and dinners were delicious and the choices were very appealing. This hotel is a total gem !

Stayed: July 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Beth H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2018

This hotel is beautifully situated by a big lake. We had a lovely large room with a sofa and an arm chair. Plenty of space and good size twin beds. My only contention is that I asked reception staff four times to fix my TV so that I could watch english news, but no one gave a toss.

Room Tip: If your room is facing the back, ask for ear plugs as the railway line is adjacent to the hotel and cargo trains pass by all night.
  • Stayed: July 2018, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2018

Probably the smallest single room I've ever had in a hotel. Nowhere to put my small case except in front of the wardrobe which meant I couldn't open the doors. Room right above the railway station and the room shook every time a train came in and the train announcements are loud. Bed is so narrow and against the wall. Bathroom is tiny but at least the shower was hot and powerful. It's probably the only hotel that just gives one packet of coffee and creamer. It is still light at almost midnight but the curtains didn't close properly as the rail was too far from the window.

  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LizinKL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2018 via mobile

We stayed at the motel on the other side of the hotel. Perfect for me and my friends road trip stay over. It’s like a small apartment with a small kitchen area. Here you have a fridge, dishwasher, coffee maker and cooking options. Main room featured two beds and a sitting area. Bathroom was clean and simple. No extra shampoo or conditioner. But soap in the shower and by the sink. Outside we had a table and two chairs. It’s not fancy in any way but we loved it. You have more freedom living like this than in a hotel.

We even had access to the hotel pool.

Stayed: June 2018, travelled with friends
Thank Lene N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2018 via mobile

We stayed for 4 nights as part of a tour - we therefore did not choose the hotel.It is dated, repairs were being carried out on the terrace which was closed - we only learnt this because the owner appeared in the restaurant one night to advise that it was her son’s birthday celebration.
Reception staff were surly. Young guys on bar service were friendly and helpful.
Our room was large with a sofa bed but the shower room/toilet was tiny and the floor got very wet. Lighting was dim and old fashioned. One tiny wardrobe.The room was overly hot despite no heating. We had to open the windows overnight and as our room overlooked the railway platform we were woken each time a train passed.
Breakfast was adequate. The buffet dinner wasn’t great, no staff around for queries.
A bar meal was good.
We were glad to leave and wouldn’t visit again.

Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Jaquiwel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews