We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Stay”
Review of The Atheneum

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Atheneum
Ranked #16 of 33 Hotels in Detroit
East Lansing, Michigan, United States
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Great Stay”
Reviewed 6 March 2012

We actually cancelled our reservations at another hotel to stay an extra night in the Atheneum. The suite had a refreshing floor plan, the service was extremely friendly, and the complimentary shuttle bus and valet service was very useful for anything not in walking distance. I would recommend this hotel to anyone. The couch was a little small and uncomfortable but the bed far from made up for that!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shelby V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

513 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    181
    173
    87
    34
    38
See reviews for
70
182
25
115
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Michigan
Level 6 Contributor
97 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2012

Went to Detroit for a concert at the Filmore. This hotel has a free shuttle to take you where you want to go. Great feature since it was raining/sleeting. It is really ornate in an acient Greece way, but why not, it is in Greektown (-: Suite was really large and modern. Two Flat screen TVs. Couch was a little plastic. Bathroom was unbeliavable large. Fishbones restaurant just outside was a good place for cocktails and snacks. Greektown Casino and many other great places to eat withing steps. Staff was friendly. At the time we stayed, it was the least expenisve in the area, and I can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank L82travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ohio
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2012

Stayed here over the weekend. Check in was under 5 minutes. No line, there are multiple desks to check you in. Staff was very helpful answering a few questions. We were in a hurry to get to a show but were starving so I called room service to see what the wait time was on some food. They said about 25-35 minutes but it was at our door in about 10. The shuttle was available right when we went downstairs and it got us to the theater in about 5 minutes. When I called the hotel to have the shuttle pick us up I was pleased to hear that it was already waiting for us at the entrace. Yes, it was noisy when we sat in the living area but when we headed to the beds we didn't hear anyting. Not sure what everyone who complains about the noise is expecting. Since there are other people in the hotel you will hear them when sitting next to the hallway. Everything was clean in the room. I would stay here again in a heartbeat and suggest it to anyone staying in Detroit.

Room Tip: If you are disabled or elderly ask for an accessible room. The shower/tub edge is really high. I a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank griffithl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ohio
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 February 2012

I feel like every reviewer has that one experience that pushes them to create profile and write their first review. For me this was the place. First, I have to give credit where credit is due, the rooms were very nice and the front desk and bell staff was very gracious. Aside from those two things, this hotel was really lacking. The staff in the Bone Grill restaurant was atrocious! I have never been told “you need to go wait at the back of the line” to be seated, at any restaurant. Especially, when we were the only ones waiting to be seated! Really?! This was after we had been redirected to 3 different hostess stands. Finally the worst part of this hotel - the walls in the rooms are paper thin. The folks in the next room started carrying on (laughing and talking) at about 2:30am and kept it up, until about 8am. We could hear their entire conversation and basically got no sleep. They really need to invest in some better insulation, because I really have no interest in a hotel room and that doesn’t allow me to actually sleep. Keep this in mind before booking a stay here.

Room Tip: None of the rooms are quite, unless you have no one staying in the rooms directly next to you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank suzannable
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nashville
1 review
Reviewed 28 February 2012

I don't think I would come back to this hotel again, however the front desk staff was AMAZING and the staff in the A bar and Fishbone restaurant (attached to the hotel) was beyond awesome. The walls are a little on the thin side regarding sound, but again the staff really made up for any short comings.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Volunteer S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Detroit hotels
0.3 km away
Greektown Casino Hotel
0.7 km away
Aloft Detroit at The David Whitney
1.3 km away
MGM Grand Detroit
MGM Grand Detroit
#3 of 33 in Detroit
1,089 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 km away
The Westin Book Cadillac Detroit
2.2 km away
MotorCity Casino Hotel
MotorCity Casino Hotel
#10 of 33 in Detroit
651 reviews
0.8 km away
Crowne Plaza Detroit Downtown Riverfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Atheneum? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Atheneum

Property: The Atheneum
Address: 1000 Brush St, Greektown, Detroit, MI 48226-2906
Region: United States > Michigan > Detroit
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Detroit
#7 Luxury Hotel in Detroit
#10 Romantic Hotel in Detroit
#11 Business Hotel in Detroit
Price range (per night): ₹ 9,820 - ₹ 15,533
Hotel Class:4 star — The Atheneum 4*
Number of rooms: 174
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your The Atheneum reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Atheneum Hotel Detroit
Atheneum Hotel Detroit
Atheneum Detroit
Atheneum Suite Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing