We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,094)
Filter reviews
1,094 results
Traveller rating
495
347
150
67
35
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
495
347
150
67
35
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsford fieldcomerica parkgreat locationfront deskvalet parkingwithin walking distancetwo blockstigers gamegreektown casinopeople movercouple blocksopera houseclean hotelgreat place to staysporting eventsthe hotel staffstaff was very friendly and helpful
Filter
Updating list...
81 - 86 of 1,094 reviews
Reviewed 10 January 2018

These folks are really focused on making you feel at home. From the front desk of people charmers to the very friendly wait staff in the restaurant, your comfort is their focus. They even made me butter sauteed fresh spinach and poached eggs for breakfast...not even on the menu. To die for!

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Frank K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephanie W, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Detroit Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 11 January 2018

Thank you for your review! We are so happy you felt at home with us! We agree it is our goal to make you feel welcome and comfortable. We hope to see you back soon to enjoy more of our hotel and the delicious breakfast too!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2018

The beds in to rooms were very nice. The lobby and restaurant were had nice appointments and were clean. The pool was very small and the hot tub was anything but hot. The exerciser room was small (sized for 1 - 2 people) with equipment for a good workout.
Over all the price for accommodations was high and so was breakfast ($19.90). Quality of breakfast was about a 5 out of 10 but only because you could order a semi good omelet.

  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn
Thank N21HVbriane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephanie W, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Detroit Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 9 January 2018

Thank you for your feedback. We are happy to hear you enjoyed our recently renovated guest rooms! We do however apologize for your experience with the pool, fitness center, and restaurant as it does not meet our standard. We assure you that guest experience is our number one priority. We will use this feedback to communicate with operating departments to assure a conclusion for the best guest experience with theses amenities going forth. We hope to see you back in the near future for an even better experience!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2018

When we arrived the staff was friendly and helpful. They called & arranged taxi service for each of our local trips. When our flight was delayed for 5 hours staff arranged for us to staff in our rooms longer & was quite accommodating

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn
Thank bettyaham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kizzy M, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Detroit Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 6 January 2018

Good day Betty!

Thank you for choosing our location for your travels to Detroit! It sounds like you had a terrific time! I am truly happy to hear that all staff service met your expectations, we hope to see you again when your travels bring you back to the area!

Thank you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2018

This was not a great experience. Noisy heater and hard to get temperature adjusted, along with too soft pillows made sleep less than good. The room was turned over quickly (per housekeeping) and was not cleaned well. Internet was slow, and at times it was almost not moving. The breakfast room did not accommodate the demand and we had a 20 minute wait near the hotel entrance where it was freezing due to the below freezing temps outside. The price was not worth spending for the location.

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn
Thank Larry W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephanie W, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Detroit Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 5 January 2018

Thank you for your feedback. We apologize for your experience at our hotel during your stay. We would like to assure you that guest satisfaction is our priority and these experiences will be communicated within the correct departments to be addressed and cared for. We hope to see you back for a better experience that delivers to both your and our standard. Thank you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2018 via mobile

We stayed at this hotel in downtown Detroit from December 29th through to the 31st, game day. Detroit Lions vs Green Bay Packers.
$30 valet parking, rooms are clean, older building, the staff is generally friendly.
We were checked in quickly and given our room key. Front desk staff were friendly. Saturday we were gone from 8:30 until 4:50 and in returning had to park our own car as the valets were way too busy. When we arrived at our room, the room had not been cleaned yet and the temperature was up to 79 degrees. My wife called the front desk in regards to the cleaning and was told “we have been busy getting rooms ready for arriving guests” ??? Really?
The temperature in our room I called about 3 separate times the first two times they sent an engineer to look at it. He arrived quickly and was very pleasant and polite, a very nice man. He adjusted the thermostat the first time and the heat shut down, when the room heater came on again it wouldn’t shut down. The engineer again came to our room promptly shut down the thermostat and asked if it was ok to use the thermostat on the heater directly, no issues, will and can do.
Up and down every half hour to turn it on and off as it wouldn’t shut down either. Finally called the front desk and told them to move us due to the thermostat issue. I was told “the hotel is sold out” I told them they have to do something even if it’s an upgrade from our current room. I was told they would call me back. Moments later the phone rang and they had magically found us another room exactly the same as ours in this “sold out” hotel.
We moved rooms at 8:00PM, security dropped off the keys to our new room, hotel staff provided no aid in helping us move rooms. New room was exactly the same as our previous room. Game day, parking at the hotel lot is $50 for the day. We left for the game and upon our return the parking lot was so full we had to walk sideways through most of it. They had triple parked cars and filled the aisles with cars bumper to bumper. This just looks like a big cash grab on the part of hotel management. It took us almost 30 minutes just to get our keys which I told the valet I would move it myself as I parked it myself the day before. I asked to merely move the 1 car that was blocking me in. They were only 2 guys working the valet, way under staffed but they were doing the best they could and were very polite. Finally got out to drive back home.
While this hotel is wonderfully close to Ford Field I would not stay here again. We also has breakfast and dinner at the hotel both restaurants leave much to be desired.

Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank David C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephanie W, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Detroit Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 2 January 2018

I understand that our Director of Operations worked with you while you were onsite to personally assist with the issues you encountered. We do assure you these situations have been addressed as we actively and progressively work towards every guest having a positive experience. We wish you a happy New Year and thank you again for your feedback

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews