We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Updated, clean hotel, close to Ford Field”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn Detroit Downtown
Ranked #8 of 34 Hotels in Detroit
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

The hotel has some updated fixtures and furniture, it was very nice and clean. Definitely what you would expect at a Hilton. There is a restaurant on site which is good to have as a woman traveling alone, because walking around the area alone is not recommended in the evenings or at night. There is a guard at the main door of the hotel which was good to see. There was some traffic noise but putting the fan on covered it with some white noise. It is very close to Ford Field, easy walking distance there and also to the casino and several restaurants.

Stayed: January 2018, travelled on business
Thank Travelynn1262
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephanie W, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Detroit Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you for your review! We are happy to hear you enjoyed our cleanly standards and atmosphere, as well as our onsite restaurant and convenient location in the entertainment district downtown Detroit. We hope to see you back again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (1,026)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

13 - 17 of 1,026 reviews

Reviewed 10 January 2018

These folks are really focused on making you feel at home. From the front desk of people charmers to the very friendly wait staff in the restaurant, your comfort is their focus. They even made me butter sauteed fresh spinach and poached eggs for breakfast...not even on the menu. To die for!

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Frank K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephanie W, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Detroit Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 11 January 2018

Thank you for your review! We are so happy you felt at home with us! We agree it is our goal to make you feel welcome and comfortable. We hope to see you back soon to enjoy more of our hotel and the delicious breakfast too!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2018

The beds in to rooms were very nice. The lobby and restaurant were had nice appointments and were clean. The pool was very small and the hot tub was anything but hot. The exerciser room was small (sized for 1 - 2 people) with equipment for a good workout.
Over all the price for accommodations was high and so was breakfast ($19.90). Quality of breakfast was about a 5 out of 10 but only because you could order a semi good omelet.

  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn
Thank N21HVbriane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephanie W, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Detroit Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 9 January 2018

Thank you for your feedback. We are happy to hear you enjoyed our recently renovated guest rooms! We do however apologize for your experience with the pool, fitness center, and restaurant as it does not meet our standard. We assure you that guest experience is our number one priority. We will use this feedback to communicate with operating departments to assure a conclusion for the best guest experience with theses amenities going forth. We hope to see you back in the near future for an even better experience!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2018

When we arrived the staff was friendly and helpful. They called & arranged taxi service for each of our local trips. When our flight was delayed for 5 hours staff arranged for us to staff in our rooms longer & was quite accommodating

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn
Thank bettyaham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kizzy M, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Detroit Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 6 January 2018

Good day Betty!

Thank you for choosing our location for your travels to Detroit! It sounds like you had a terrific time! I am truly happy to hear that all staff service met your expectations, we hope to see you again when your travels bring you back to the area!

Thank you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2018

This was not a great experience. Noisy heater and hard to get temperature adjusted, along with too soft pillows made sleep less than good. The room was turned over quickly (per housekeeping) and was not cleaned well. Internet was slow, and at times it was almost not moving. The breakfast room did not accommodate the demand and we had a 20 minute wait near the hotel entrance where it was freezing due to the below freezing temps outside. The price was not worth spending for the location.

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn
Thank Larry W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephanie W, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Detroit Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 5 January 2018

Thank you for your feedback. We apologize for your experience at our hotel during your stay. We would like to assure you that guest satisfaction is our priority and these experiences will be communicated within the correct departments to be addressed and cared for. We hope to see you back for a better experience that delivers to both your and our standard. Thank you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Detroit hotels
0.5 km away
Aloft Detroit at The David Whitney
0.3 km away
Greektown Casino Hotel
0.7 km away
Holiday Inn Express Detroit - Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 km away
Crowne Plaza Detroit Downtown Riverfront
1.2 km away
MGM Grand Detroit
MGM Grand Detroit
#10 of 34 in Detroit
1,162 reviews
0.3 km away
The Atheneum
The Atheneum
#16 of 34 in Detroit
548 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Detroit Downtown? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Detroit Downtown

Address: 351 Gratiot Ave, Detroit, MI 48226-2206
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Michigan > Detroit
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Detroit
#7 Romantic Hotel in Detroit
#7 Business Hotel in Detroit
Price Range: ₹ 9,833 - ₹ 21,658 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn Detroit Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 198
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the Entertainment District, we are near Comerica Park, Ford Field, Little Caesar Arena, Michigan Opera Theater, the Music Hall and much more. Just two blocks from Greektown, you will find we are surrounded by shops and restaurants. Local businesses and corporate offices within walking distance to our hotel include Quicken Loans, Meridian Health, Blue Cross Blue Shield of Michigan, General Motors, and DTE Energy ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Detroit Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Detroit Downtown Hotel Detroit
Detroit Hilton Garden Inn
Hilton Detroit

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing