We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Holiday Inn Express Detroit - Downtown
Nearby Hotels
The Atheneum(Detroit)
US$ 190
US$ 175
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 13% below average rates

The price you found is 13% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$ 202/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$ 137
US$ 126
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 38% below average rates

The price you found is 38% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$ 204/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$ 216
US$ 175
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 10% below average rates

The price you found is 10% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$ 194/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$ 195
US$ 184
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 183
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 14% below average rates

The price you found is 14% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$ 212/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$ 171
US$ 153
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 18% below average rates

The price you found is 18% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$ 187/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$ 178
US$ 159
AscendHotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 294
US$ 271
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$ 285
US$ 237
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 24% below average rates

The price you found is 24% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$ 311/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$ 191
US$ 163
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 22% below average rates

The price you found is 22% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$ 209/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Reviews (585)
Filter reviews
585 results
Traveller rating
143
200
135
55
52
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
143
200
135
55
52
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsstayed at the holiday innvalet parkingpeople moverbig citycomerica parktigers gamecobo centerfree breakfastvalet staffbreakfast staffjoe louis arenared wings gamehiedowntowngreektownconcertstadium
Filter
Updating list...
26 - 31 of 585 reviews
Reviewed 30 November 2017

Due to issues with the door lock, we were directed to an alternate room. After we were situated in the new room, we were greeted by a large roach on the counter, in the kitchen area. We then opened the sofa bed, to make it, and saw a red stain, we guessed it was blood, on the mattress. As we slept, we listened to our HVAC unit consistently make a great deal of noise. The hotel desk staff were pleaseant and helpful, the valet personnel were professional and prompt, and the breakfast staff were kind and the area was clean.

Stayed: November 2017
Thank ChrisS-035
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HolidayInnDetroit, Social Media Coordinator at Holiday Inn Express Detroit - Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 30 November 2017

Thank you for sharing your feedback. Please know that we take hotel hygiene and cleanliness very seriously.Unfortunately your stay with us did not reflect this. I would like to truly apologize that your stay with us was less than satisfying. We hope to have the opportunity of welcoming you back again.

Ebone' Alexander
Social Media Coordinator
Holiday Inn Express Downtown Detroit

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2017 via mobile

In Detroit to attend Wings and Lions games at Thanksgiving, the hotel is a perfect location. We were satisfied with the room as well with the breakfast buffet. We had some problems with the shower faucet. A hint to save few bucks, check for parking in the lot beside of the hotel.

Stayed: November 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Daniel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HolidayInnDetroit, Social Media Coordinator at Holiday Inn Express Detroit - Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 29 November 2017

Hi Daniel
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at our hotel. We are so pleased to hear that you had a wonder stay and enjoyed the hotel. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2017 via mobile

My 5 night stay was good. The hotel staff was very helpful and receptive. They allowed me a late check-out as well. If you're here for the game or business, location is best. Rooms are average like every other holiday inn or country inn/comfort suites. Washroom was pathetic for me as I couldn't use bath tub due to missing cork and commode was really weird; moreover, the door lock was broken and door never got locked. My room had no closet, there was one open closet but too small. In house restaurant was ok and i didn't find it good enough for 2nd visit. Overall the stay was fair.
P.S. I never complaint for the bathroom issue to be solved as the entire hotel was booked for a conference and I was sure that it wouldn't have been possible to get another room.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled on business
Thank Hemant143
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HolidayInnDetroit, Social Media Coordinator at Holiday Inn Express Detroit - Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 15 November 2017

Hi Hemant143
Thank you for staying with us. We give the utmost importance to our guest feedback as it helps us improve the quality of service we provide to each guest. We hope to have the opportunity of welcoming you back again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2017

We stayed here in November for a Redwings game. It was an easy walk to our restaurant and only a ~10 minute walk from Little Caesars Arena. Clean rooms, fast elevators and helpful staff. Couldn't ask for more

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shelingas_sis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HolidayInnDetroit, Social Media Coordinator at Holiday Inn Express Detroit - Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 15 November 2017

Thank you for staying with us. We are so pleased that you had pleasant stay and enjoyed the hotel. We look forward to welcoming you back again!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2017

Just 1 block from the People Mover, and 4 walkable blocks from the Cobo Center and the Riverfront, this turned out to be a great pick for the 3-day Women's Convention in Detroit in October. It was clean and comfortable, everything worked, and everyone in the place was pleasant and helpful. Reasonably priced, and the breakfast was better than average for a "breakfast included" hotel. Shout out to Sabrina at the front desk!

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank DawnB_STLouisArea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HolidayInnDetroit, Social Media Coordinator at Holiday Inn Express Detroit - Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 10 November 2017

Thank you for taking the time to share your wonderful experience at our hotel. We are so pleased to hear that you had a pleasant stay and enjoyed the hotel. We truly look forward to welcoming you back again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews