We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely, old hotel”
Review of Doherty Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Clare
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Doherty Hotel
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Clare
Grand Blanc, Michigan
Level Contributor
83 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Lovely, old hotel”
Reviewed 19 December 2011

We stayed at the Doherty while visiting family in the area. We had a poolside room that literally opened right out to the indoor pool deck area. We had a window that we could see the pool from,which can be very nice if you have kids that you trust in the water but still want to keep an eye on. Our room also had a cozy, gas fireplace. Beds were pretty comfortable and everything was very clean and spacious.

The interior design and woodwork inside the Doherty is gorgeous and I absoluetly loved the historical feel. If you are into modernity in design, the Doherty won't be your favorite. The food is excellent, albeit a tad pricey. There is, however, a 24 hr hour burger joint right across the street..but beware..it's cash only.

It's thenicest paly to stay in Clare and the only reason I gave it rates Very Good with me is that Ihave stayed at 5 star hotels. This is not 5 star, but it's very, very nice.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Allison O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

181 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    43
    63
    23
    11
    41
See reviews for
41
57
8
27
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2011

My husband and I stayed at the Doherty Hotel during an eight day oil painting seminar Oct 2 through October 10th by Mary Carole (an amazing instructor) in the hotel. We loved the Doherty! Even thought it has 150 rooms, the atmosphere is like a boutique hotel as it is owned and run by two Doherty brothers. We found the Doherty very charming and the food amazing! You could chose from a small breakfast menu or a buffet Mon-Fri included in the price of your room. We were very surprised to find such a good restaurant in a small town. The horseradish crusted salmon was the best salmon I've had in a long time. We ordered it twice while there. The only problem we had was the large size of each meal (-: We solved that by sharing a meal, which gave us room for their special chocolate cake made right in their kitchen. They also have a nice bar with Irish elf murals hand painted on the walls from the 1920's which we found charming.

We found the employees very friendly and helpful. The Doherty's staff were helpful by pointing out other good places to eat and shop in Clare and surrounding towns. The town of Clare is very charming with beautiful old homes, churches and unique shops. While I took art classes my husband rode bikes all over the area. Of course it was a beautiful time of year with the trees bursting out in amazing colors.

We had a great time. Enjoyed going back in time to the days when life was slower, streets not crowded and people spoke to each other in passing. Mary Carole has her seminars there every year during the fall and I am going back next year!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JoAnn J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Michigan
Level Contributor
31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2011

It was an ok hotel. It's pretty old and needs a lot of work, but it suited us fine for 1 night. The bed was comfortable and the room itself was pretty big. We didn't have breakfast or end up eating there, so I don't know how the food is.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mitchr0xy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bay City, Michigan
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2011

I had eaten at the Doherty Restaurant and it was a little expensive but very good. So when my wife and I wanted to get away for a night I thought this would be a great place. Well, its OK but not great. You enter a beautiful and spacious abandoned, yes no one is there - foyer. You walk about half a block through carpet with spots and utility rooms with the doors open so you can see the supplies etc. and eventually you discover the front desk. Nice guy at the desk - asked to have my free breakfast cards back after an awkward moment when some leader lady told him secrets in front of me (let it go lady). I returned them to find out that you get no free breakfast on Sunday morning but you can but one for $9. Thanks anyway. Our room had only one window - it looked out over another non-decorated abandoned area next to the pool. Had to close that when the kids went swimming. Lamp shade is melted and absent three of four bulbs. And so it went. I'm sure the Doherty has seen great days - and it would not take much to get it back up to par. But as it is, they need to take a little pride in their establishment. If the desk clerk goofs up - tell him later, NOT RIGHT IN FRONT OF THE GUEST! CLean the carpets, buy some plants, put a welcome desk in the entry... try a little. The Senator would be ashamed of what has happened to this facility. Sorry but we probably won't drop the money here again.

Room Tip: Try another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Truthus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Clare hotels

Dayton, Ohio
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2011

We stayed here for a wedding. The staff was friendly enough, but they offered little advice as to how to spend our down time in the tiny town of Clare. Dinner was excellent! We had the prime rib. I do recommend going else where for breakfast. We booked as wedding guest, so we got a discounted rate on the room, but even that was steep. I would never pay full price to stay here.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jmully
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Clare
23.2 km away
Hampton Inn Mt. Pleasant
Hampton Inn Mt. Pleasant
#2 of 13 in Mount Pleasant
459 reviews
26.9 km away
Courtyard Mt. Pleasant at Central Michigan University
Courtyard Mt. Pleasant at Centra...
#5 of 13 in Mount Pleasant
59 reviews
23.5 km away
Baymont Inn & Suites Mt. Pleasant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.3 km away
Soaring Eagle Waterpark and Hotel
27.5 km away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Mt. Pleasant
23.4 km away
Mt. Pleasant Inn & Suites
Mt. Pleasant Inn & Suites
#10 of 13 in Mount Pleasant
140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Doherty Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Doherty Hotel

Property: Doherty Hotel
Address: 604 N McEwan St, Clare, MI 48617-1499
Region: United States > Michigan > Clare County > Clare
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Clare
Price range (per night): ₹ 4,517 - ₹ 9,679
Number of rooms: 157
Also Known As:
Doherty Hotel Clare

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing