We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Waterfront condo”
Review of The Edgewater Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Edgewater Inn
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in Charlevoix
Bayfield, Canada
Level Contributor
29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Waterfront condo”
Reviewed 15 July 2012

We stayed here while on a motorcycle trip around Lake Huron. Charlevoix is charming with wonderful little shops and restaurants. The Harbour is beautiful as is the lakeshore.

The inn is made up of privately owned condos which are rented. We were fortunate and stayed in one that was modern and well kept up. The view of the lake, marina and boat bridge was perfect. The location of the inn is smack dab in the middle of things.

The condo (2 bedroom, 2 bathroom, 2 floor) was $350/night so no cheap but for what you got, reasonable. The condo would very comfortably sleep 2 couples or 2 couples and 2 kids in a pinch (pull out sofa in living room.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rucksack-Wanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

112 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    59
    34
    10
    4
    5
See reviews for
34
44
3
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Cottage Grove MN
Level Contributor
31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2012

We stayed at the Edgewater Inn for one night. We enjoyed watching the boats go by and just the calm of the water. We didn't even go out to eat since we had such a beautiful deck to enjoy pizza at night. We also walked down the pier to watch the sunset. Would love to go back and spend some more time there.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Steff03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michigan
Level Contributor
123 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2012

This was our second time staying at the Inn. Our room faced the water/boats, and stepping on the deck allowed my daugther to watch the bridge go up, big delight. The condos are individually owned (I think), ours was #105, decorated beautifully, bathroom is lovely. Inn is within easy walking distance to everything, never used the car all weekend. Pool is somewhat small and chairs fill up quick, fun for kids to swim under the glass separating outside from inside pool. We will be back for sure.

Room Tip: Recommend first floor walk out deck rooms, all rooms face the water.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank UofMgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gaylord, Michigan
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2012

We decided on a whim to head up to Charlevoix for a day trip with the thought that maybe we'd spend the night & go over to Beaver island the next day. It was the Saturday following the fourth of July so Charlevoix was BUSY. The Beaver island trip was more time than we really wanted to commit to so we did decide to hang out & visit nearby beaches instead. The first suite (condo) we were offered had a funky smell, possibly a bad air conditioner or musty fridge. So we were kind of feeling like maybe this little trip wasn't worth the effort & money. Then I asked to see the other units still available & the gal working the front desk was very accommodating in this request. Well we scored a beautiful condo & were so pleased. These units are owned by individual families & are decorated & updated I'm guessing as the owner chooses. It was nice to see what we were getting & then make our selection. The Edgewater is a very clean & appeared to have nice amenities available. We did not use the pool but did have breakfast at the small restaurant. The food was good not exceptional. The view of round lake is fabulous & the Charlevoix atmosphere make this a great location.

Room Tip: ask if you can look before you select your suite, they are not identical throughout. Our third floor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mrobs08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
grand blanc
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2012

Came to Charlevoix for our fifth anniversary and stayed in room 233. The Inn is very well maintained and the staff is extremely pleasant. The room was very well decorated and very comfortable. The view of the lake and harbor was spectacular and the noise from the bridge was hardly noticeable unless sitting outside. We stayed for three days in Charlevoix and only used the car once (everything was within walking distance). Jenny and Amy at the restaurant were great with service and are definitely tops in their trade. We have dined there before and were disappointed when an item was no longer on the menu. This was no problem and the chef recreated it for us and it tasted better than when we had it the first time. The food is exceptional and is created by an exceptional chef. If you are staying in Charlevoix, this place is a must to stay or at least dine at.

Room Tip: Stay on the second level. It's the main floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jakepepper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Charlevoix
1.5 km away
Charlevoix Inn & Suites
Charlevoix Inn & Suites
#1 of 9 in Charlevoix
4.0 of 5 bubbles 692 reviews
0.1 km away
Pointes North Inn
Pointes North Inn
#3 of 9 in Charlevoix
4.0 of 5 bubbles 84 reviews
0.1 km away
Weathervane Terrace Inn and Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.1 km away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Petoskey
23.0 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Petoskey
23.1 km away
The Apple Tree Inn
The Apple Tree Inn
#6 of 15 in Petoskey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 422 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Edgewater Inn? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Edgewater Inn

Property: The Edgewater Inn
Address: 100 Michigan Ave, Charlevoix, MI 49720-1803
Region: United States > Michigan > Charlevoix County > Charlevoix
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in Charlevoix
Price range (per night): ₹ 13,510 - ₹ 17,582
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Edgewater Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your The Edgewater Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Edgewater Hotel Charlevoix
Edgewater Hotel Charlevoix

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing