We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely off season stay with view.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Weathervane Terrace Inn and Suites
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Charlevoix
Livonia,MI
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Lovely off season stay with view.”
Reviewed 23 April 2012

I used a Groupon incentive for off season travel. We stayed in a suite facing Lake Michigan on the first floor, end unit. We had a clear 90 degree view of the lake. They had traditional continental breakfast services. The staff was friendly and polite. The unit could have been vacuumed more thoroughly prior to arrival. The bed was comfortable to sleep on. Overall, we had a delightful time and will return.

Room Tip: Stay in the building with 3 floors and as close to the West end as possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank floral86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

440 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    239
    102
    52
    25
    22
See reviews for
122
204
11
25
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (115)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Holland, Michigan
Level Contributor
285 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 191 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2012

We stayed in two different rooms because a late reservation on our part did not have one room open for two consecutive nights. No big deal and the staff made the transition as smooth as possible. Our jacuzzi room had a Lake Michigan view, artifical fireplace, and king bed. It was nice enough, but unless you really need a jacuzzi, I'd opt insteed for a Lake Michigan room instead. These rooms have the sleeping area separate from the living/kitchen area with a full shower/tub, stove/oven, small refrigerator, pots/pans/utensils, tv in both sleeping and living areas, fireplace with artificial log to burn, full couch, table and two chairs. The hotel was full but we hardly knew anyone else was around. Could not hear any neighbors above or next door. Nice contenental breakfast: oatmeal, waffles, pastries, cereal, juices, and fruit.

Room Tip: Groupon has deals for this place on the off/shoulder season, two nights for the price of one. Even w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bikingfarmer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Level Contributor
47 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2012

I stayed at the Weathervane Terrace Inn & Suites for one night in March 2012 with a friend who won a free night’s stay. The Weathervane is self-described as a castle-like vacation resort with its unique architecture, but we felt it was more like a motel with its exterior room entrances.

On the positive side, the hotel is located close to downtown Charlevoix and is within walking distance to the local restaurants and shops, the beach and the historic lighthouse. The rooms are clean and spacious [multiple small rooms] and include a sleeper sofa, fireplace and kitchenette. The complimentary breakfast was also a nice perk and offered a large assortment of choices.

Overall, we were a little disappointed. The rooms could use some updating and would benefit from better bedding and new appliances. The room was fine for one night’s stay, but I would not return for an actual vacation.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ckstar16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ann Arbor, MI
Level Contributor
48 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2012

My wife and I enjoyed our weekend stay at Weathervane. The rooms were old but well maintained and clean. Our room was a jacuzzi room with a small (electric) fireplace and a balcony with a view of Lake Michigan. Granted the jacuzzi was a tight fit for two average sized adults. The continental breakfast was fine. The location, close to the lake and to downtown was great! The staff were helpful and you can check out DVD's for free to watch in your room -granted they are all old movies, but a nice gesture. We got our rate as part of a Groupon package, not sure what the regular summer rate is.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dlb3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Okemos, Michigan
Level Contributor
172 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2012

The Inn is a mainstay of beautiful downtown Charlevoix overlooking the Stafford Weathervane restaurant and a few rooms overlook Lake Michigan. It was orignally built by the builder of the famous Charlevoix "mushroom" houses built out of rock. I have loved the outside of this for years, but with a cottage not far away we never stayed there. We took advantage of a groupon for Off Season.
We had a "Lake View" King Suite. You'd have to sit at the table by the fireplace or out on the balcony to see Lake Michigan , unless you move furniture. The balcony furniture was worn and one of the 2 chairs had a broken strap.
The kitchen area , fireplace and bedroom were very nice. The fireplace is attractive, but we didn't use it. There are no directions to tell you if the flu is open. There are 2 tvs , one in the living area and one in the bedroom. The bathroom is a bit small, but okay. The problem there is moldy shower tile grout. The grout is actually black and not by design. Staff just needs to really attack the mold. It isn't too much of a surprise as the humidity that close to Lake Michigan is to be expected. Some attempt should be made to address this.
The bed was verging on being uncomfortable. I felt like I was clinging to the side of the bed all night to stop from sliding to the middle. All that needs doing is flipping the mattress and it will be fine. There is free WIFi , but we didn't use it.
The furniture in the living area is extremely dated. One of coffee tables in room 53 had a big chunk out of it when we walked in.
The complimentary breakfast is in a nice room overlooking the town and Round Lake, if you get the right tables. One lady mentioned there were no protein choices, but there were peanut butter containers. Each bakery item is in its own plastic bag which is a nice germ and dryness prevention move, but I think I could get a better breakfast at McDonald's.
The check in staff was very nice.I didn't talk with staff anymore before we left.
I was SO prepared to love this hotel. The location for downtown Charlevoix is great and this is a HUGE resort area. I guess they can get away with the dowdiness. I hope the sales of over 870 groupons in off Season helps spur some more updates.
We would stay here again, if we needed the location. Another reason, probably for not renovating. People stay repeatedly even with the condition of the rooms. Just be prepared for an aged hotel which could be wonderful, if the owners wanted.

Room Tip: Choose the top floor as footsteps are loud, but no noise between rooms in our building. Chose rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Stategt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MichiganTraveler033, General Manager at Weathervane Terrace Inn and Suites, responded to this review, 18 April 2012
Thank you for your review. We have ordered new furniture for all of our suites and Jacuzzi rooms. Our new furniture package includes a new fold out couch, chair and art work. The new furniture is being delivered next week. Also over the last six weeks we have installed new crown mold in the rooms and have repainted. We are very excited about our new projects and can't wait to have you back to the Weathervane Terrace Inn and Suites to see our new updates. Tom, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Charlevoix
1.7 km away
Charlevoix Inn & Suites
Charlevoix Inn & Suites
#1 of 9 in Charlevoix
4.0 of 5 bubbles 694 reviews
0.1 km away
Pointes North Inn
Pointes North Inn
#4 of 9 in Charlevoix
4.0 of 5 bubbles 84 reviews
0.1 km away
The Edgewater Inn
The Edgewater Inn
#5 of 9 in Charlevoix
4.0 of 5 bubbles 112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.1 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Petoskey
23.2 km away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Petoskey
23.2 km away
The Apple Tree Inn
The Apple Tree Inn
#6 of 15 in Petoskey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 424 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Weathervane Terrace Inn and Suites? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Weathervane Terrace Inn and Suites

Property: Weathervane Terrace Inn and Suites
Address: 111 Pine River Ln, Charlevoix, MI 49720-1818
Region: United States > Michigan > Charlevoix County > Charlevoix
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Charlevoix
Price range (per night): ₹ 6,416 - ₹ 16,007
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Weathervane Terrace Inn and Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 68
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your Weathervane Terrace Inn and Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Weathervane Terrace Hotel Charlevoix
Weathervane Terrace Charlevoix

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing