We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Weathervane Terrace Inn and Suites
Nearby Hotels
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Charlevoix(Charlevoix)(Great Value!)
US$ 111
US$ 106
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Charlevoix Inn & Suites(Charlevoix)(Great Value!)
US$ 99
US$ 94
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Pointes North Inn(Charlevoix)(Great Value!)
US$ 158
US$ 154
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 161
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Edgewater Inn(Charlevoix)
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
East Jordan Motel(East Jordan)
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (461)
Filter reviews
461 results
Traveller rating
243
110
53
30
25
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
243
110
53
30
25
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslake michiganjacuzzi roomcontinental breakfastoatmealwithin walking distanceround lakewatch the sunsetwaffle makerdowntown shopslabor dayqueen bedfireplacegrouponmicrowavepierdrawbridgesink
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
291 - 296 of 461 reviews
Reviewed 23 April 2012

We stayed in two different rooms because a late reservation on our part did not have one room open for two consecutive nights. No big deal and the staff made the transition as smooth as possible. Our jacuzzi room had a Lake Michigan view, artifical fireplace, and king bed. It was nice enough, but unless you really need a jacuzzi, I'd opt insteed for a Lake Michigan room instead. These rooms have the sleeping area separate from the living/kitchen area with a full shower/tub, stove/oven, small refrigerator, pots/pans/utensils, tv in both sleeping and living areas, fireplace with artificial log to burn, full couch, table and two chairs. The hotel was full but we hardly knew anyone else was around. Could not hear any neighbors above or next door. Nice contenental breakfast: oatmeal, waffles, pastries, cereal, juices, and fruit.

Room Tip: Groupon has deals for this place on the off/shoulder season, two nights for the price of one. Even without that deal, the off/shoulder season rates make this a great stay. Try for a second or third floor room in the Lake Michigan building for the best views, or the second floor in the other buildings for a view of the channel or harbor.
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bikingfarmer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2012

I stayed at the Weathervane Terrace Inn & Suites for one night in March 2012 with a friend who won a free night’s stay. The Weathervane is self-described as a castle-like vacation resort with its unique architecture, but we felt it was more like a motel with its exterior room entrances.

On the positive side, the hotel is located close to downtown Charlevoix and is within walking distance to the local restaurants and shops, the beach and the historic lighthouse. The rooms are clean and spacious [multiple small rooms] and include a sleeper sofa, fireplace and kitchenette. The complimentary breakfast was also a nice perk and offered a large assortment of choices.

Overall, we were a little disappointed. The rooms could use some updating and would benefit from better bedding and new appliances. The room was fine for one night’s stay, but I would not return for an actual vacation.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ckstar16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2012

My wife and I enjoyed our weekend stay at Weathervane. The rooms were old but well maintained and clean. Our room was a jacuzzi room with a small (electric) fireplace and a balcony with a view of Lake Michigan. Granted the jacuzzi was a tight fit for two average sized adults. The continental breakfast was fine. The location, close to the lake and to downtown was great! The staff were helpful and you can check out DVD's for free to watch in your room -granted they are all old movies, but a nice gesture. We got our rate as part of a Groupon package, not sure what the regular summer rate is.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dlb3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2012

The Inn is a mainstay of beautiful downtown Charlevoix overlooking the Stafford Weathervane restaurant and a few rooms overlook Lake Michigan. It was orignally built by the builder of the famous Charlevoix "mushroom" houses built out of rock. I have loved the outside of this for years, but with a cottage not far away we never stayed there. We took advantage of a groupon for Off Season.
We had a "Lake View" King Suite. You'd have to sit at the table by the fireplace or out on the balcony to see Lake Michigan , unless you move furniture. The balcony furniture was worn and one of the 2 chairs had a broken strap.
The kitchen area , fireplace and bedroom were very nice. The fireplace is attractive, but we didn't use it. There are no directions to tell you if the flu is open. There are 2 tvs , one in the living area and one in the bedroom. The bathroom is a bit small, but okay. The problem there is moldy shower tile grout. The grout is actually black and not by design. Staff just needs to really attack the mold. It isn't too much of a surprise as the humidity that close to Lake Michigan is to be expected. Some attempt should be made to address this.
The bed was verging on being uncomfortable. I felt like I was clinging to the side of the bed all night to stop from sliding to the middle. All that needs doing is flipping the mattress and it will be fine. There is free WIFi , but we didn't use it.
The furniture in the living area is extremely dated. One of coffee tables in room 53 had a big chunk out of it when we walked in.
The complimentary breakfast is in a nice room overlooking the town and Round Lake, if you get the right tables. One lady mentioned there were no protein choices, but there were peanut butter containers. Each bakery item is in its own plastic bag which is a nice germ and dryness prevention move, but I think I could get a better breakfast at McDonald's.
The check in staff was very nice.I didn't talk with staff anymore before we left.
I was SO prepared to love this hotel. The location for downtown Charlevoix is great and this is a HUGE resort area. I guess they can get away with the dowdiness. I hope the sales of over 870 groupons in off Season helps spur some more updates.
We would stay here again, if we needed the location. Another reason, probably for not renovating. People stay repeatedly even with the condition of the rooms. Just be prepared for an aged hotel which could be wonderful, if the owners wanted.

Room Tip: Choose the top floor as footsteps are loud, but no noise between rooms in our building. Chose rooms 51, 52, 61, 62 for the best Lake Michigan views.
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Stategt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MichiganTraveler033, General Manager at Weathervane Terrace Inn and Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 18 April 2012

Thank you for your review. We have ordered new furniture for all of our suites and Jacuzzi rooms. Our new furniture package includes a new fold out couch, chair and art work. The new furniture is being delivered next week. Also over the last six weeks we have installed new crown mold in the rooms and have repainted. We are very excited about our new projects and can't wait to have you back to the Weathervane Terrace Inn and Suites to see our new updates. Tom, GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2012

We just stayed at the Weathervane Inn on Thursday night 4/5/12. Just OK, nothing special, Jacuzzi in our room was small, very old. Check in at the front lobby was rushed, not friendly, seemed like we were bothering the young lady to be there. I was very disappointed as I had anticipated this stay for two years. Glad I only booked for one night.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews