We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (45)
Filter reviews
45 results
Traveller rating
7
16
4
8
10
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
7
16
4
8
10
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 45 reviews
Reviewed 7 November 2017

Came to the Schuss Mountain section of Shanty Creek Resorts the third week of October. Apparently this is a prep week for the ski season...which no one bothered to tell us. Shanty Creek is set up as 3 different locations, all included within the same "Resort" system. When we booked, we were told that the unit was "right across" from the pool...which it was, but the pool was completely closed for the entire week we were there, as was the on-site restaurant. The pro-shop/convenience store was also hit or miss as to whether it was open. This is out of the way, and it is a good 20 minute drive to anywhere nearby, off resort. If you want to go to another place in the resort it is still NOT within walking distance; probably 5 miles cross country to get there. This is a location ideal for snowmobiling, skiing, or golf...we had two kids, 5 and 2, and the lack of indoor pool was a problem for us. Also, not being able to eat right on site was an inconvenience. The unit we stayed in was set up as a hotel suite, with a living area in between two bedrooms. The refrigerator was a minifridge, the stove top was a mini cooktop, and there was no washer or dryer. The bathroom was a standard bath, and there was a single vanity in the second bedroom.What I would consider the master bedroom was a good size, but it was also what you walk into when you entered the unit. The second bedroom was very small. The owner of our unit kept it well-stocked, which we appreciated, but we did only get one piece of firewood, despite being told we'd have enough for the entire week. We had a good time because we were there to see friends and used it as a home base, but it was a pain tripping over one another in such tight accommodations. I would not stay in this unit again.

Room Tip: Good for winter stuff but definitely NOT in between summer and winter. Pick one of the other resort locations for the off season!
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank monicaclae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2017

Sure, there is some mud in the parking area, and some potholes, and the cafeteria lacks in vegetarian choices, BUT the staff is super friendly, the chair lift operators are well trained and fun. What is better than skiing in tolerable temperatures with sun on your face? Schuss has a very nice setup for skiing. Plenty of safe beginner areas, some longer cruising runs to carve your heart out and some steeps with a bit of challenge. Even on a slightly windy day there are a group of runs on the opposite side of the mountain (okay, large hill - this is Michigan) that are completely sheltered from the wind. Very nice spot (The Red Chair Lift if you find yourself on a windy day). The terrain park is way cool for those shredders who want to tear up their skis and boards - some really crazy stuff in the "park" and something for everyone. And for some free entertainment, the 2017 Schuss Slush Cup was hysterical. Costumes, face-flops and a very creative MC. There was even a T-Rex sighting. Tailgating is also a favorite activity for the spring crowd (and when I say crowd I mean a longer line for burgers than at the chair lifts).

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank atthe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2017

First time at this resort and it will not be the last. We went at a good time, winter. The ski trails were nice, the tubing and snowboarding was great. Our room was nice and the staff was warm and friendly. The next time I visit the resort will be in the summer so I can hit the golf course.

Stayed: February 2017
Thank Michael_E_Mack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2016 via mobile

We loved the apartment we stayed in. It was clean with lots of amenities. No complaints there. The golf course has spectacular views. But the surrounding area near the main building was not well kept. To get to the garbage cans to throw out the trash, one has to cross a muddy mess. If you are looking for a nice, affordable apartment, this is it. Just be aware that not everything in the surrounding area looks like a nice resort.

Stayed: September 2016, travelled with friends
Thank Gogi365
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2016

For close to $500 for 2 nights, we were given a room in the basement level on the back of the building, with a view of the indoor pool and the ski lift gears!. We had vulgar, loud, obnoxious neighbors all through the night and early AM. We observed dogs taking a dump on the lawn and the neighbors truck w/UHaul parked on the grass!. We had bugs in the room (roaches, black bugs). One outlet didn't work, there is an extension cord sticking out from under the bed because of a shortage of outlets, and a burned out bulb in the vanity area. Maybe the upper floors are better. The Lake view restaurant was OK but the décor throughout the "resort" is a timewarp to the 60's. This place was built in the 1960's and has not been updated since. It's very tired. This place does not qualify as a resort. There is only an elevator at the entrance to get to the lobby. You have to use the stairs to each level. Honestly, in April we stayed at the Hilton Waikoloa Resort in Hawaii for only $50 more per night. Now that is a resort! 10+ stars! We were treated like royalty there. But this place has management that is only willing to take your money and make excuses. It seems that the employees are all young people who don't really give a damn. Don't waste your time or money.

Room Tip: Avoid the basement rooms (100#) at all cost. Bugs, noise, horrible!
  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank KarenK4262
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews