We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Benedict”
Review of Optimist Cafe

Optimist Cafe
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Child-friendly
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Reservations
Description: Serving Breakfast All Day & Lunch year round. We host daytime and evening Private Events in the charming antique Sea Captain's home.
Reviewed 13 August 2018 via mobile

Stopped in for a late breakfast because it was right next to where we were staying The Village Inn, 5 stars also) and it wasn't check in time yet. And what a great find!
I had the smoked salmon Benedict which was amazing and my girlfriend had French toast with bacon which she said was the best bacon she's ever had. If you're in the area and not staying at a B&B I highly recommend. Cause if we weren't staying at one, we would've been back.

Date of visit: August 2018
Thank Robert W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (189)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

9 - 13 of 189 reviews

Reviewed 23 July 2018

Homely airy restaurant with plenty of room,Historic building with high ceilings and paintings by local artists.excellent friendly service.Pancakes are fluffy and tasty,portions are generous-you’ll want to go back for more!

Date of visit: July 2018
Thank markjo2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2018 via mobile

Found this spot in Yarmouth port while out for a drive. Popped in for some brunch and was very pleasantly surprised. I had the Irish eggs Benedict while my husband had pancakes with scrambled egg & sausage (I can’t remember the menu name). Portion sizes were great, staff were friendly & food was delicious. Menu selection was quite large with a wide range of beverages too. We will be back!

Date of visit: July 2018
Thank Mags G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2018 via mobile

The special was buttermilk peach pancakes and they were delicious. Large slices of peaches with cinnamon (and optional whipped cream).

The cafe is conveniently located on route 6A with plenty of parking.

It wasn’t very busy on a Friday morning, not sure what weekends are like.

They also offer lunch which I would like to try as well.

Date of visit: July 2018
Thank PWDGolfers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2018

Located in an old Victorian house; nice ambiance. Good food, gluten-free menu, friendly service. A little bit pricier than the average breakfast/lunch place, but not much more and worth it. The only drawback, at least in the room where we ate, was the acoustics. One child was talking loudly from time to time and the sound reverberated around the room. I would imagine it could get loud with a couple of large families in there.

Date of visit: July 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Dallas J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Optimist Cafe also viewed

Yarmouth Port, Yarmouth
 
Sandwich, Cape Cod
 

Been to Optimist Cafe? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing