We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Elevator works only Sporadically”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western Plus New Englander
Ranked #8 of 11 Hotels in Woburn
Reviewed 20 January 2017

Two night stay. We wanted to explore Salem. Elevator was unreliable and I believe the license was expired ( I believe Aug 2015), but I am no elevator inspector so I could be wrong. We took the stairs more than the elevator complete with luggage. So that worked out for us because we could skip our morning workout and sleep in
TV in the breakfast area was not working. The toaster treadmill oven thingy was not working (4 passes did not even brown a bagel). Hot breakfast items were in short supply both days. Electric fire place in breakfast area didn't work.
No micro wave in our room or any others according to staff, a bit odd for a BW Plus.
Lots of parking though.
Some of the front desk staff seemed uninterested in the aforementioned issues.

Room Tip: Think elsewhere
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shanghai-McCoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kerstin L, General Manager at Best Western Plus New Englander, responded to this reviewResponded 22 January 2017

Dear Guest,

I want to personally thank you for taking the time to write your opinion of the hotel. You have a unique perspective which I loved.
The elevator is part of the original building, which is 40 years old. One of the elevator cabs has been completely rehabbed and we are just awaiting the elevator inspection, which should be Tuesday afternoon. I've seen the interior and it is beautiful; we cannot wait until it is running this week.
Did you get a chance to tour Salem? What did you think of the Salem Witch Museum? During the period there were 8 people executed for alleged witchcraft - 7 women and 1 man. The worst part of it is that the whole "scare" was invented by a group of young girls who were caught dancing, which was forbidden, and they attempted to take the focus off themselves.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (591)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

103 - 107 of 591 reviews

Reviewed 6 January 2017

Our stay at the Best Western Plus New Englander, Woburn was not very good. First of all, there were problems with the elevators which made it inconvenient. The hotel staff person, Sarah, was very helpful on Jan.2 when we checked in. I confirmed a wakeup call for Wed. 1/3 at 8:00 am and never received one. I told them that it was very important as I had to attend a funeral at 10:00 am and didn't want to be late. The women at the desk in the morning said that there was a problem with the wakeup call system. The breakfast was poor quality: sausages didn't taste good at all and the eggs were cold and not very good. Toast and oatmeal was good. The heating system wasn't working properly. It was either too hot or too cold and difficult to adjust the temperature. The two good things at the hotel were that the rooms were nice and comfortable and they had coffee 24 hours a day.

  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Michele H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kerstin L, General Manager at Best Western Plus New Englander, responded to this reviewResponded 9 January 2017

Dear Michele,

First, let me say how sorry I am for your loss. Losing anyone is tough, but it's always tougher around the holidays.
I thank you for your honest feedback on breakfast. I've actually gotten several comments lately and we are therefore looking to revamp the entire experience; we're working with our vendor to provide different sausages, fresh fruit and cooked oatmeal rather than instant.
It's a good hotel, close to major highways and a good value for those not looking to pay Boston prices. Thanks for sticking with us while we finish the renovation. The elevator renovation is close to being finished, as is the lobby.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2017

I came to the Best Western New Englander in Woburn, MA because I had a luncheon date with some classmates and did not want to drive to and from Albany, NY in one day.
The hotel is undergoing a renovation, but it did not get in the way of my stay there. The automatic door entrance worked!! The bathroom/shower facilities in my room were good. The staff was very helpful and courteous. This is definately a good place to stay!

  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank RevBarbaraJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kerstin L, General Manager at Best Western Plus New Englander, responded to this reviewResponded 6 January 2017

Dear Guest,
thank you for taking time out of your busy day to review us. I am glad that you didn't have to drive to and from Albany in one day. It is a beautiful drive but it is rather arduous.
While you were her for your reunion, did you get a chance to see any of Boston? It's a fun city and we forget how much history it has.
We hope that you can visit us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2017

We got to the hotel Friday night December 30th. We were told that the elevator was sticking at times, but that we'd just have to press the door open or close button. Sounded like no big deal, so we looked for the luggage cart to bring our stuff up to our room on the 5th floor. There was no luggage cart around. I took some of our stuff up to the 5th floor, found the cart and sent it back down. We later found that if the elevator was on a different floor from where you were, it wouldn't come to you. You'd have to take the stairs to the floor on which the elevator was, get in and then send it up or down. My husband has a bad back, so the next morning we switched to the first floor. Another guest told us that the elevators had been acting up for months. The heat in neither room worked properly. It would stop two degrees below the setting and start blowing cold air. The lobby was, and has been, very cold. A blower by the main entrance could help keep cold air out.

I'm originally from a neighboring city and we've been coming to visit family once or twice a year and have stayed here for our visits over the past 9-10 years. They've recently renovated parts of the hotel. It used to be a bit dated, but it was comfortable. The bathroom renovations don't make sense to me. Hotels in general encourage guests to reuse towels, but there are no hooks in the bathroom to hang your towel. The sinks no longer have any counter space to speak of, so if you have your own toiletries, there is little room for them. Our bed was very hard and uncomfortable. The chair in our second room was too small. We asked and were told that the chair from our first room would be brought down, but that never happened.

We used to enjoy staying here, but we won't be back again.

Room Tip: Choose first floor if you want to avoid the elevator issues.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PLVNB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kerstin L, General Manager at Best Western Plus New Englander, responded to this reviewResponded 5 January 2017

Dear Guest,
it does not sound as if you have a good stay with us and for that, I am truly sorry. One of our elevators is down while it's being renovated but this should not affect the other elevator; I've gone to our Corporate Office for help in resolving the issue.
I understand that you do not wish to stay here when visiting relatives. I am sorry and will be sorry to see you go, but completely understand. It sounds as if you're missing the rooms prior to renovation which had a different layout in both the bedroom and the bathroom. The new rooms are very modern; clean lines, modern furniture and USB outlets built in to the headboards and lamps.
Should you wish for alternative accommodations, I would be happy to speak with on the phone. I can be reached at 781 932 8160

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2017

The rooms were great, its a pet friendly hotel, and the staff are amazing! There is plenty of space behind the hotel for the dogs to run around away from the parking lot, and my boyfriend loved that there was always hot chocolate in the lobby.

  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Monica H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kerstin L, General Manager at Best Western Plus New Englander, responded to this reviewResponded 5 January 2017

Dear Monica,
thank you for taking time out of your busy day to review us. I agree that my staff is amazing; I hope you don't mind if I pass on your compliments.
It is nice to have the back parking lot and plenty of grassy area for the dogs to run; I find that my own dog is always more content when he's been on a long romp.
We'd love to have you visit us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Woburn hotels
0.4 km away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#7 of 11 in Woburn
221 reviews
2.8 km away
Fairfield Inn Boston Woburn/Burlington
3.7 km away
Crowne Plaza Boston Woburn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 km away
Courtyard Boston Woburn/Boston North
2.7 km away
Holiday Inn Express Boston North-Woburn
3 km away
Red Roof PLUS+ Boston - Woburn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus New Englander? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus New Englander

Address: 1 Rainin Rd, Woburn, MA 01801-4627 (Formerly Four Points by Sheraton Woburn)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Woburn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Woburn
Price Range: ₹ 4,978 - ₹ 11,678 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Plus New Englander 2.5*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover the Best Western Plus New Englander in Woburn, Massachusetts, a AAA Three-Diamond award-winning hotel, which offers guests friendly customer service to make any stay a memorable one. This full-service Woburn hotel offers well-appointed guest rooms each featuring cable satellite television with HBO® and high-speed Internet access. Hotel guests are welcome to enjoy a complimentary full breakfast and complimentary newspaper each morning. Other hotel amenities include an indoor heated swimming pool, fitness center, business center offering complimentary email access, and free parking. The Best Western Plus New Englander also offers state of the art meeting facilities to host your next event. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Plus New Englander reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus New Englander Hotel Woburn
Best Western Hotel Woburn
Best Western New Englander
Best Western Woburn
Woburn Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing