We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unexpected ...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Howard Johnson Williamstown
Ranked #13 of 13 Hotels in Williamstown
Reviewed 26 January 2011

Visiting a Williams son, and found an excellent price for the Howard Johnson's in Williamstown. Accomodating and pleasant? Yes. Comfortable? Yes Spacious? Huge room.
Clean? Bedding, yes, room, well, not so. The continental breakfast was just that, more than adequate but not any more than it pretended to be. Free wi-fi that worked, good parking. We will return

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bostonkiwi17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (310)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

267 - 271 of 310 reviews

Reviewed 6 October 2010

Friendly staff, large room. Interior rather dated, funny smell in the room. Bathroom had seen better times, mostly clean. Microwave and fridge, etc. all in room and good. Free wifi very slow (but hey, FREE ;-) ). Standard help-yourself-breakfast-fare No frills good deal.
Quiet room, hotel well situated for the art galleries in the area.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JTH_BE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2010

The manager was very accomodating and the complimentary breakfast was fine,but there were a few issues. Initially we were given a room that smelled terribly...I called the smell "cat urine;" my husband was kinder and called it very musty. We immediately requested a room change and the manager was very apologetic and helpful in relocating us. The new room was fine, but I did notice housekeeping had been a bit lax--there were small candy wrappers on the floor by the bed that had been left, obviously, by a previous guest. Not a huge deal, but it kind of grossed me out anyway.I also had a hard time sleeping because the pillows were so hard and flat. They definitely needed to be replaced. So, overall, I cannot recommend this motel, although I thought it would have been a reliable chain. We only stayed one night and it was OK for that, but I would not have stayed longer based on the issues listed.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rhodytraveler10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2010

We had a very large room. Very friendly and attentive staff. Went out of their way to make our stay comfortable. A nice outdoor pool. A very nice place to stay while visiting Williams College.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SFriedr251
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2010

This was a last resort stop for us staying in town on short notice. Outside appearance is neat but building is old and dated . Apparentely run by a foriegn family "Indian" . Very friendly although they charged my credit card for the stay before I even saw the room. Red flag went up instantly. Room was tiny ,old furniture and a very strong smell of disinfectant. My spouse thought it was a mold problem. It was clean though but the mattress was a cheapo very uncomfortable. If I was not at a function where I was drinking I would have driven home, so we had a few laughs and sucked it up.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank NHguy33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Williamstown
5.8 km away
Holiday Inn Berkshires
Holiday Inn Berkshires
#2 of 3 in North Adams
233 reviews
2.7 km away
The Williams Inn
The Williams Inn
#8 of 13 in Williamstown
348 reviews
0.8 km away
The Orchards Hotel
The Orchards Hotel
#5 of 13 in Williamstown
477 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Williamstown Motel
Williamstown Motel
#3 of 13 in Williamstown
414 reviews
4 km away
Berkshire Hills Country Inn
Berkshire Hills Country Inn
#4 of 13 in Williamstown
244 reviews
4.5 km away
Villager Motel
Villager Motel
#11 of 13 in Williamstown
51 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howard Johnson Williamstown? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Williamstown

Address: 213 Main St, Williamstown, MA 01267-2608 (Formerly Four Acres Motel)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Berkshires > Williamstown
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 13 Hotels in Williamstown
Price Range: ₹ 3,232 - ₹ 11,343 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Howard Johnson Williamstown 2*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Howard Johnson Express Inn hotel in Williamstown, Massachusetts is surrounded by the scenic Berkshires Mountains and offers clean and comfortable accommodations with best services and amenities. This hotel near Williams College in Williamstown, Massachusetts is completely renovated and offers spacious rooms & suites with several amenities such as free high speed Wi-Fi internet, free continental breakfast, free access to business center, wheelchair accessible rooms, free handicap parking, cable TV with HBO and a beautiful outdoor pool with a scenic mountain view; best of Williamstown, MA Hotels. This Williamstown, MA Motel is conveniently located near Williams College, Chapin Library, Williamstown Theatre Festival and Sterling and Francis Clark Art Institute. At Howard Johnson Free continental breakfast is served daily and it comes with great healthy breakfast choices ranging from coffee and fruit juices, to cereals and a variety of freshly baked goods. There are more than 30 restaurants serving fine dining are located within 2 miles from this hotel Garden picnic area and long, quiet walking trail is located at the back of the main building. Also, we offer computer with internet access in the lobby area for guest use. Check-in time is 3 pm, check-out time is 11 am and pets are not allowed at this hotel. Howard Johnson is so perfectly located that Williams College is only one mile away and it is a perfect get away if you are going to Tanglewood. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Howard Johnson Williamstown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Williamstown Hotel Williamstown
Williamstown Howard Johnson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing