We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One word - CHOWDER!”

Captain Parker's Pub
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$ 9 - US$ 28
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Takeout
Description: Family friendly, full service restaurant serving fresh local seafood, choice meats and vegetarian offerings. Famous for our thick and creamy New England clam chowder. Gluten free items available.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

If you love clam chowder, you will love Captain Parker's. They serve the best clam chowder on Cape Cod, probably the best anywhere! Year round restaurant. Many menu choices, land and sea, food is well-prepared Busy, can be loud, especially during the Summer. Loyal, local patronage year round. Very popular place.

Date of visit: September 2018
Thank HelenRotast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (1,447)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

5 - 9 of 1,447 reviews

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

this is by far the best new england clam chowder, ever !! well seasoned, chocked full of clams, potatos, etc and really thick and creamy. we were told they have won the cape cod chowder cook-off so many times, that they weren't allowed to enter any more ( not sure if that is true) wife and i both had scallops for entree, they were very tender and perfectly cooked and the portions were large, we could have easily split the entree and been happy. chowder was so good, we stopped later in week for lunch just to have the chowder again. very popular place as it was packed, even a weekday in october.

Date of visit: October 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank tutter2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2018

My title sums it up in a nutshell. Captain Parker's has a clean friendly atmosphere with an efficient serving staff. It has become my mainstay whenever I need to go up-Cape. It is the perfect spot for meeting friends for lunch as well as that rejuvenation one needs on a shopping expedition.
The butternut squash bisque is a creamy explosion of flavor in every spoonful. The Captain's Burger with the egg salad and ham is an unusual but delicious combination. I appreciate a place that actually knows how to cook to order. Rare is rare and medium rare is just that.
The daily specials are comfort food that will bring a smile to your face as well as your taste buds. Yankee pot roast with mashed potatoes is rivaled only by the meatloaf. The dinner salads are generous and predictable. That is not a bad thing. After several visits I finally broke down and had the crispy fried fish. The crunchy cornflake breading was worth every single calorie!
When you want good old fashioned New England cooking, when you want to give your palate a rest from all the "creative fusion" spices and exotic combinations that abound elsewhere, when you want to sit in a place and have a chat that doesn't have to be a shouting match over ear splitting cacophony; Captain Parker's Pub is the place for you.

Date of visit: October 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank LowellBear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2018

Love love love their clam chowder. friend wait staff. Can be long wait, depending on your arrival time but it sure is worth the wait!

Date of visit: October 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Jet18284
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2018

Since I last reviewed this restaurant, I feel over-all the food has improved. The Chowder is still the best and the clam strip roll was wonderful. The early-birds have started and the menu offers a great selection for $13.95. This restaurant is a local favorite and has a lively bar area. The steak tips on the early-bird were a great value.

Date of visit: October 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Ally N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Captain Parker's Pub also viewed

South Yarmouth, Yarmouth
West Yarmouth, Yarmouth
 
West Yarmouth, Yarmouth
West Yarmouth, Yarmouth
 
South Yarmouth, Yarmouth
West Yarmouth, Yarmouth
 

Been to Captain Parker's Pub? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing