We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“welcome home to Green Harbor” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Green Harbor on the Ocean

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Green Harbor on the Ocean
Ranked #3 of 20 Hotels in West Yarmouth
Certificate of Excellence
Massachusetts
Level Contributor
30 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“welcome home to Green Harbor”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2011

This was my second year returning to GH. The group of families I traveled with has been making an annual Columbus Day weekend pilgrimage there for over a decade. The accomodations were not only clean and comfortable, they were homey and welcoming. The weekend flew by and it was with sadness that we left on Monday morning. We traveled with small children, teenagers, and the rest of us middle agers... a great time was had by all. We can't wait to return next year. Driving home, I realized I forget my cell phone charger. I called and Janet offered to mail it to me the next day. The package arrived in my mailbox Thursday. I highly recommend Green Harbor for your next vacation at Cape Cod.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank GrassFan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ghoffice, resort coordinator at Green Harbor on the Ocean, responded to this review, 2 November 2011
Sorry for the late response. We have been out on the property doing inventory and making
maintenace lists; it's never too soon to get ready for 2012. Our small staff is big on attention to detail, one reason why we welcome back so many guests year after year. Thank you for your kind comments. Janice @ Green Harbor front desk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

215 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    151
    51
    11
    2
    0
See reviews for
122
53
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Massachusetts
Level Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 October 2011

I must explain that I took off a star because I believe that the term resort has been overused as of late and Green Harbor is very pricey without all of the amenities one would expect from a real resort, such as a concierge, spa and onsite restaurants. It is, however, part of the Red Jacket Resort, which has a very modest version of the aforementioned amenities, but still not what I think of as a real resort.
Nonetheless, it is very clean, beach front, and located on the harbor side with small waves which makes it much easier for water babies and their parents. There is also an outdoor pool, playscape, daily children's entertainment (kids club, magic show, arts & crafts) and boats available for rent.
One can rent either a cottage, townhouse, or 3 BR suite which includes a full kitchen. Again, very user friendly for those with small children who don't wish to battle the heavy traffic on Route 6.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Beach325
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ghoffice, resort coordinator at Green Harbor on the Ocean, responded to this review, 11 October 2011
We appreciate your feedback. Your description aptly stated our amenities and different room types, thus you can see the challenge in coming up with the right descriptive "name." We are not a hotel or motel or a village or just a cottage colony. We do fit the description of a resort in this definition "A compound of buildings and facilities located in a scenic area, providing lodgings, entertainment, and a relaxing environment to people on vacation ..."

Our residential location prohibits us from having a restaurant, thus the kitchen in all of our accommodations. Our front desk staff is well trained in assisting guests with all their traveling needs. We listen to our guest comments and each year strive to improve the family feeling that makes a Green Harbor vacation one to remember. Thank you again for sharing your Green Harbor vacation expereince. Janice @ the Green Harbor front desk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Texas
Level Contributor
27 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2011

We just returned from a 4 night stay at Green Harbor. My husband and I had a Cape Codder for 2 and it was the perfect size. Not only did we have a great water view, but we had a large deck with chairs and a picnic table to use. That really made our living space seem much larger.
Our unit was spotlessly clean and well equipped for cooking. The property does not have a restaurant on the premises, but there are many great restaurants on Highway 28 as well as a large grocery store within a 10 minute drive. The bed was comfortable and the bathroom just big enough for 2.
We went to the beach, used the beach chairs, rode bicycles, rowed a canoe and relaxed on our deck. This is a great place for relaxing and getting away from it all.
The location is pretty much right in the middle of Cape Cod, which allowed us to take the ferry to Martha's Vineyard from Woods Hole and travel all the way to Provincetown. I feel as if the central location allowed us to see all of Cape Cod very easily.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank wanderinggreek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ghoffice, resort coordinator at Green Harbor on the Ocean, responded to this review, 11 October 2011
You were fortunate to be here this year for our unusually warm October "summer weather." We close on Columbus Day each year, but as you discovered, Fall is a great time to experience Green Harbor's amenities, as well as the Cape Cod and Islands activities. We do answer the phone year 'round, so give us a call when you plan a return trip to our area. Thank you for writing. ( Let's see if I can send this review without a typo ) -: Janice @ the Green Harbor front desk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marietta, Georgia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 October 2011

We had a two night stay at this wonderful place. It was our first visit to Cape Cod and the central location was perfect. It was just the right distance from Route 28 - far enough away to enjoy the seclusion, but close enough to get to restaurants and attractions. Our one bedroom townhome was spotlessly clean and the view from the bedroom window was breathtaking! The staff was friendly and helpful. The beach was great! There are so many different accommodations to choose from that there is surely something for everyone! We truly wish we could have stayed longer. We have already recommended it to others and will definitely stay there again during any future visits to the area!

Room Tip: The one bedroom townhome does have "steep" steps to the bedroom, but the view from the bed...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Patti L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ghoffice, rsort coordinator at Green Harbor on the Ocean, responded to this review, 11 October 2011
You are correct ... two nights is not long enough to see all that Cape Cod has to offer. We are appreciative that you are sharing your Green Harbor vacation experience with your friends.
Our larger three and four bedroom houses are great for a group of family or friends to gather, or if you prefer the oceanfront townhouse that you stayed in this year, we will gladly welcome you back for a return visit. Thanks again, Janice at the Green Harbor front desk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beaverton, Michigan
Level Contributor
44 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 September 2011

We stayed here for 3 nights in Sept 2010. We liked it so much, we came back for a week in one of their cape codders for 4. It is so nice to find a quiet base for all the things you like to do on the Cape. We will be back, for sure.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RedSoxFan49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ghoffice, resort coordinator at Green Harbor on the Ocean, responded to this review, 24 September 2011
You are now an official repeat guest ! There are lots of places to explore on Cape Cod, and as a 40 year resident, I still haven't found them all. You are correct in saying that Green Harbor is a great central location where you can start the day with a homemade breakfast in your fully equipped kitchen, and return home for an afternoon swim in the heated pool before dinner. Thank you for taking time to write a review. Janice @ the Green Harbor front desk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near West Yarmouth
0.8 km away
Bayside Resort Hotel
Bayside Resort Hotel
#2 of 20 in West Yarmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,172 reviews
4.7 km away
Blue Water on the Ocean
Blue Water on the Ocean
#6 of 21 in South Yarmouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 225 reviews
3.5 km away
Red Jacket Beach Resort & Spa
Red Jacket Beach Resort & Spa
#4 of 21 in South Yarmouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 562 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 km away
Hampton Inn and Suites Cape Cod - West Yarmouth
1.4 km away
Anchor In Hotel
Anchor In Hotel
#1 of 22 in Hyannis
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,006 reviews
25.9 km away
Chatham Bars Inn Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Green Harbor on the Ocean? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Green Harbor on the Ocean

Property: Green Harbor on the Ocean
Address: 182 Baxter Ave, P.O. Box 746, West Yarmouth, MA 02673-8315
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Cod > West Yarmouth
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in West Yarmouth
Price range (per night): ₹ 9,350 - ₹ 27,298
Hotel Class:3 star — Green Harbor on the Ocean 3*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An idyllic family cottage colony with 50 units ranging from one-room efficiencies, one and two bedroom townhouses, two bedroom suites and three bedroom cottages accommodating up to 10 people comfortably. Green Harbor is situated on a seven acre waterfront parcel on Lewis Bay with Mill Creek on its eastern border. With every amenity a family would need to enjoy a most memorable family adventure, the resort features a private beach on the warm waters of Nantucket Sound, outdoor heated pool, playground, miniature golf, basketball, shuffleboard, as well as boats,canoes and bikes. There are no public restaurant facilities on premise, as all guest units have fully equipped kitchens. The resort is less than five minutes drive to Hyannis' popular Main Street. With its spacious cottages and Cape Cod villas, Green Harbor is the perfect setting for a family vacation, a romantic getaway, or reunion party. Kids' Klub, a supervised children's program is offered during summer season along with a full complement of family activities, including hermit crab races, kite making, sand sculpting contests, fun clowns, fishing derbie and magic shows. Open from mid May until mid October. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your Green Harbor on the Ocean reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Green Harbor On The Ocean Hotel West Yarmouth
Green Harbor On The Ocean West Yarmouth, Cape Cod, MA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing