We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice hotel with one drawback”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Swansea
Norwich, Connecticut
Level 6 Contributor
140 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Very nice hotel with one drawback”
Reviewed 16 April 2012

I read many reviews on this hotel and we decided to book for one night as we were taking my son to Battleship Cove the next morning. Our room was on the 3rd floor. The hotel was very nice. It was clean and nicely decorated and we were well greeted. The room was very comfortable. The breakfast which is free was pretty good. I really liked the neat pancake machine. It was a very good location for us. The hotel is away from the busy area but close enough to things. I really liked the hotel, but I will say the reviews are correct about the noise. You can hear others in the room. That is the one drawback.. and a big one. I would not hesitate to stay if it was only one night. I would consider staying again knowing this issue exists.

Room Tip: Choose a room on 3rd floor for less noise. Make sure to get bed linens for sofa sleeper (if you nee...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank JULRUF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

201 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    52
    69
    49
    23
    8
See reviews for
68
49
13
43
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
sakigemcam
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 March 2012

Positives: Location was convenient for our travels. Overall cleanliness. Very friendly reception staff, extremely helpful. Decent sized room, decent bedding. Good breakfast for a free one. Breakfast area nicely maintained.

Negatives: I give it only one negative but it was a HUGE negative. I do not know if this was just the case in our room (120) but there was a connecting door to the room next door (118) which had a huge space underneath it. AND the walls may be thin as well. We literally could hear the cell phones of the people next door vibrating. We heard their alarm go off. We heard them cough. And worst of all, they had the television on constantly - I have no idea if it was blasting or if it was the space beneath the door or the thin walls that made it audible enough that I could hear the audio on their television. My travel companions plugged into their headsets. For myself, I had a noise machine on my phone, and earplugs, and a pillow over my head, and still heard everything. At 1:30am I called the front desk for intervention. They were immediately responsive and the television went off. But then the coughing, the phone, their alarm, their talking - it was horrible. Their alarm went off at 6:30am.

Other negative, not a big deal but for a fairly updated property the television was a huge thing with tubes - no flat screen?

I would suggest avoiding these rooms, 118 and 120, and checking for quiet between your room and neighbors - and bringing headphones just in case. We may be back, but we will be more prepared.

Room Tip: Avoid 118/120, check for noise from other rooms, bring headphones.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sakigemcam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, 8 April 2012
sakigemcam,

Thank you for taking time out of your busy day to leave us a candid review.
I would like to offer a sincere apology. While we understand that your stay was not 100% satisfactory, we would hope that you would give us another chance to make your stay as best as it can be.

Ben J
IHG Care
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 6 March 2012

Travelling weekly for work we run into some good and bad places to stay. I have never written a review before but the manager at this hotel was so friendly and helpful I felt like I had too. The gentleman accommodated us coming in early after working third shift and was the nicest person I have met in a hotel since starting this job. Overall I would highly recommend staying here if your in the area, the hotel was new, had big, very clean rooms, and the customer service was exceptional 9 out of 10 value for your money.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Doldj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mayville, Wisconsin, USA
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2012

Very helpful staff and clean rooms. Ammenities were excellent. Have stayed a few times and will again if ever needed. Only drawback is nothing within walking distance.

Room Tip: Any will do
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank metrofarmer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pennsylvania
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 November 2011

I hate to admit it but almost everything that others have said are true. The biggest of which is the walls are thin and if someone is in a room above you you will hear everything. Seems to me somebody screwed up during construction.
The front desk staff was nice the room clean but unless other IHG properties are booked, I won't stay unless I bring earplugs.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank penitentman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Swansea
9.8 km away
Comfort Inn & Suites Fall River
13.0 km away
Hampton Inn Fall River/Westport
9.8 km away
Bristol Harbor Inn
Bristol Harbor Inn
#1 of 1 in Bristol
195 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.3 km away
Hampton Inn Seekonk
Hampton Inn Seekonk
#1 of 8 in Seekonk
493 reviews
9.2 km away
Best Western Providence-Seekonk Inn
21.4 km away
Best Western Dartmouth Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites

Property: Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites
Address: 1400 Gar Hwy, Swansea, MA 02777-4231
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Swansea
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Swansea
Price range (per night): ₹ 7,446 - ₹ 14,636
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Swansea, MA near PVD Enjoy thoughtful amenities and superior service at our choice hotel in Swansea, Massachusetts. Our prime Swansea, Massachusetts lodging is just 15 miles from the University of Massachusetts at Dartmouth. Swansea is situated in the heart of the northeast, and visitors are sure to appreciate the New England charm that surrounds our hotel in Swansea, Massachusetts. Families will enjoy our convenient access to several Swansea and Providence attractions, which include various beaches, downtown Swansea shopping, Battleship Cove, the Whaling Museum, and Blithewood Mansion and Gardens. Nearby colleges include Providence College, Roger Williams, Brown and Johnson and Wales Universities. Business travelers are sure to enjoy our hotel in Swansea, Massachusetts, too. We are located near several prominent businesses like Lightolier, Cardinal Health, Brayton Point Power and Fall Fiver Industrial Park. We are proud to offer premium business amenities, which include free high-speed wireless Internet access, a business center with copy, fax and shipping services and much more. Don't be disappointed by another Swansea hotel, instead enjoy your stay at the Holiday Inn Express Hotel. Take advantage of our complimentary hot breakfast bar, fitness center and pool. Book your reservations today for our great Swansea hotel deals and rates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, IHG, Expedia, Booking.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites
Holiday Inn Express Hotel Swansea
Holiday Inn Swansea

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing