We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$ 183
HIExpress.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 222
Hampton.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Super 8 by Wyndham Sturbridge(Sturbridge)(Great Value!)
US$ 211
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 133
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Scottish Inn Sturbridge(Sturbridge)(Great Value!)
US$ 101
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 334
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,004)
Filter reviews
1,004 results
Traveller rating
257
210
196
162
179
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
257
210
196
162
179
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsoxhead tavernpaddle boatsvip loungebeautiful lakelakeside roomconference centerdog showsturbridge villagenew englandbit datedpool and hot tubcatherinecedarjoegatheringmassboston
Filter
Updating list...
47 - 52 of 1,004 reviews
Reviewed 10 March 2018 via mobile

This hotel offers a great pool and indoor court yard as well as 2 restaurants . They have a beautiful lake with beach and is very close to old Sturbridge villiage.
The rooms are very nice but dated. This hotel could use some paint and updating.

Stayed: February 2018, travelled with family
Thank philipmolly25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerSturbridge_MA, Manager at Sturbridge Host Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this reviewResponded 12 March 2018

Thank you for staying with us. We are centrally located right off of 2 major highways (I90 & I84). Set back on Cedar Lake we offer beautiful outdoor space, ample meeting room space as well as 2 restaurants on site. Our staff stands at the ready to serve our guests. We hope to have the pleasure of serving you again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2018

The hotel was cold as charity, the public restroom was colder. The functions we attended were cold. Yes, it was very cold out and windy but the heat was either not on or not working. They were unconcerned when people and there were many who complained. The rooms were twice as expensive as the Hampton down the road and not anywhere as nice. We all felt ripped off!

  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HalloweenMuseum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerSturbridge_MA, Manager at Sturbridge Host Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this reviewResponded 12 March 2018

We are very sorry we did not meet your expectations. Indeed it was brutally cold. Due to a frozen pipe issue it took longer to re-heat the area but rest assured, we made every effort to warm up the meeting space as quickly as possible. Thank you and again we are very sorry about the temperature.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2018 via mobile

We booked through Groupon looking for a night away, liked the idea of a hot tub and pool. When we arrived the hotel was dark and dreary we had to walk through a crowd of people having a party on front of our hallway. As we passed the elevator there was a pile of vomit! Upon entering the room we immediately noticed how outdated and dirty it looked. They had a 25" tube television with a controller that did not work! Bed was uncomfortable with not enough pillows! No fridge, no extras at all. Tried to make the best of it went to dinner got our suits on only to find out the pool and hot tub were closed! We didn't get a reason why or when they would be accessible again! Upon asking the manager who also had no idea we decided to go to the front desk that was run by children that also had no idea! At this point we were furious and with a phone call and 3 min away found a beautiful holiday inn with a pool for the same cost as the supposed Groupon deal ! So happy in our decision to leave (within 45 min of arrival at the Bates motel) we will absolutely NEVER go back or recommend it to anyone! Our opinion is it needs to be torn down! If you can't afford to keep up and run a hotel dont!

Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Rachael M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerSturbridge_MA, Manager at Sturbridge Host Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this reviewResponded 5 March 2018

Please accept our apologies for not meeting your expectations. The Kid's week vacation draws a lot of people to the hotel and therefore we keep a keen eye on chlorine and ph balance in the pool and hot tub. Occasionally we need to close the pool to ensure proper chemical levels for the safety of our guests. We are sorry that no one communicated that with you. We will also maintain a closer eye on the public areas of the hotel in an effort to clean up any messes right away. Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2018

I always clean the hotel room before we settle in. Good thing I did! There was sticky soap (or something) residue all over the bathroom counter. Gross. Then I lifted up the toilet seat to find dried pee stains on top of the rim. There was stuff all over the bathroom floor and the carpet did not look like it had been vacuumed.ON the credenze there was something sticky...these rooms were supposed to have been cleaned???!?! Interesting that there is a tip envelope prominently displayed for housekeeping. Hey Housekeeping: Here is your tip. Clean the room and you will get a gratuity!!! Also we went by some housekeeping employees on the same floor as us. They did not know we heard them but they were laughing about how they found one sock in a room and instead of leaving it there, they threw it out. "I don't care. I'm gonna throw it out if they leave the sock there." Nice ladies. Nice job to be such jerks about it. The place was loud, dirty, and rundown. The beds were lumpy and uncomforabl an old and the pillow I had kind of smelled and it did not smell like bleach.Don't think I will ever stay here again.

Room Tip: Do not stay here.
  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank schweig2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerSturbridge_MA, Manager at Sturbridge Host Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this reviewResponded 5 March 2018

Please accept our apologies for the cleanliness issues. That is certainly not the posture we strive to project and rest assured, corrective measures will be taken. We will investigate the uncaring comments as that too is not the type of customer service we strive to promote. We value your opinion and we will not accept that behavior from our staff. Thank you for your feedback as we continuously strive to improve our services.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2018

Absolutely loved the place, had a relaxing time with my girls enjoyed the view from my room to the lake , room service was fast and everyone was friendly definitely coming back in the summer thanks to Catherine the front desk clerk she was amazing and helped me with all I ask !

Room Tip: The view to the lake it’s beautiful and relaxing
Stayed: February 2018, travelled with family
Thank pouky827
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerSturbridge_MA, Manager at Sturbridge Host Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this reviewResponded 26 February 2018

Thank you for letting us know how much you enjoyed your recent visit with us. The grounds and the lake are very beautiful; especially in the Spring and Summer. So pleased our staff was helpful. It truly is the people that make all the difference. We hope to have the pleasure of serving you again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews