We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Be sure to get one of the better rooms....”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Riviera Beach Resort
Ranked #9 of 21 Hotels in South Yarmouth
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 November 2011

We are a family of four (two small children) and were staying in Cape Cod for a week and decided to add a night on at The Red Jacket Rivierra. I chose this resort because of the ad they have which shows some really spectacular photos of a pool with a fun waterslide and great stufff for the kids and also because it is right on the beach. Two disappointments were that while we got a first floor room with a nice porch, the room was dated (big time) and very unappealing. Then the second disappointment was that the ad online with the waterslide was showing photos from one of their other resorts in NH. Kids were quite disappointed. The outdoor pool was okay, but still a disappointment from what we were expecting (which was an anticipated highlight of our vacation). The indoor pool was very cloudy and the whole inside pool area (stone deck, bathrooms and hot tub) had an overall unclean feel and appearance.
I did notice as we took an evening stroll that there were other rooms I could see into rather easily while walking by that looked much nicer/updated and more comfortable/inviting than ours. Cannot figure why I got the room I did instead of one of those, short straw I guess. The big plus I found about this resort was the private beach. It was very nice and clean and they have beach chairs, umbrellas with stands and towels for guest's use conveniently available right at the beach. We spent most of our time there and it was very enjoyable. I highly recomend being specific about the room you would like if you were to stay here. Having one of the better rooms would have probably made quite a difference for us.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank DisneyCrazed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RIVBEACHBassRiver, General Manager at Riviera Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 28 November 2011

Thank you for recent review and for staying with us in October. I apologize our resort was not as you would have liked. The pools we offer both indoor and outdoor are normally highlights of all our guests visits. We strive to keep our pools in tip top shape with regards to cleanliness and clarity. The resort is not new by any means and we are always upgrading the facility. I hope you return so we can demonstrate our commitment to guest service and attempting to exceed your expectations each and every time you visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (319)
There are newer reviews for Riviera Beach Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

220 - 224 of 319 reviews

Reviewed 7 October 2011

this was a fairly typical beachside motel. Its a little on the older side. It reminded me of place we went as kids in the 60s. It is a long "U" shaped building with up/down two beds and a TV type rooms opening to the outside.

The great thing about this place is that it is RIGHT ON A BEACH! A NICE BEACH! It has an outside bar and all. I would expect in the summer months it would be really tough to get close to this place.

It has its own breakfast restaurant which was OK. It has a nice outdoor pool with stuff for kids and a decent indoor pool [very simple] with a hot tub [big and nice].

The lower rooms have little patios outside the double doors with seating and little tables. That's a nice touch and even in October it was worth sitting out there and reading.

Our room was clean and tidy. They had the air-conditioning cranked down to 56 degrees so when we first walked in it was icy cold. I'm not sure why.

Everything worked. The "sister" Red Jacket hotels are right around this one and they offer other amenities (bar, spa,...etc). It's a pretty good setup. I'd be worried in the summer as the roads in this area must be packed. It might be hard to get out to have a meal (no in room capabilities other than a mini fridge).

The beach was absolutely beautiful; really, really nice!

Room Tip: bottom floor (patios). They have a couple at the head of the "U" that face right out onto...
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank StamfordCT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2011

My wife and I stayed here the first weekend of October. The grounds were very nice and well maintained. The outdoor pool area is quite unique. The resort sits on the beach, so it was easy to go down to the water. The desk staff were friendly.

On the flip side we paid $170.00 a night and it did not include any type of breakfast. A basic breakfast for two cost an additional $30+ each day. Now the room was a different story. They did seem somewhat clean, but it was heavily in need of repair and updates. The tiles in the bathroom were falling apart. One even cut my wife's leg as she got into the shower. The toilet took 2 - 4 attempts to flush. The bedding was old. The carpet had stains and even an iron burn. Th ceiling had cracks and apparent water marks. There was an odor of mold also present. The room was just in absolutely poor shape. Given what we paid a night in the off season, the value definitely did not match the price.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank CTTravelers4895
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2011

Riviera Beach is a great summertime family resort. It is right on the beach and they provide chairs, umbrellas and towels. They have a grill that has basics, burgers, hotdogs or you can use the grill next door at the Blue Water which has a lot more choices. The beach is always clean and there is a really nice pool. The rooms are adequate. We usually get a pool view which has a nice little porch area with chairs. They have activities for the kids at various times. Its a great location, close to everything, mini golf, restaurants shopping. I would highly recommend for a summertime vacation.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rwitty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RIVBEACHBassRiver, General Manager at Riviera Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 27 September 2011

Thank you for your recent stay at our resort on Cape Cod. The resort is situated in a perfect spot on our own private white sandy beach. The proximity to many other great Cape Cod attractions is second to none. The staff and management do everything in our power to keep the place sparkling and extremely user friendly. We cater to families with many activities scheduled daily to keep our guests entertained. We hope to see you return next season and when you are skiing this winter please visit our two resorts in North Conway NH.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2011

Riviera Beach Resort (South Yarmouth, MA on Cape Cod)
327 South Shore Dr.
South Yarmouth, MA 02664

Wow! It's everything the Trip Advisor reviewers said it would be and, if your goal is to have an oceanfront family vacation at a 500 foot private, sandy ocean beach with an option of being able to use both an indoor and outdoor pool, this resort does not disappoint! It's a family vacation resort and not a spa environment; therefore, be sure to carefully read the reviews to make sure it is the type of vacation environment you want. We found the rooms, resort area, and the beach to be clean and comfortable.

Our family stayed in two separate rooms for 3 days with 4 adults and two children, ages three and one. The three year old loved the kite flying experience! Yes, it’s an older facility but not rundown by any means, and when going to an established beach resort one should not expect to have the most up-to-date facilities. This is the type of environment where convenience, customer service, and price reign. It was our first time on Cape Cod and we thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Riviera Beach Resort! Mother Nature threw in quite the memory with an earthquake during our stay there (on Tuesday, 8/23) but we didn’t feel a thing as we basked on the beach!

It's a smoke free facility and notes that they can accommodate pets; however, there is "a strict town rule that prohibits pets from being on the beach."

Each room had two queen beds, A/C, a table and two chairs, an upholstered chair, a refrigerator, an iron and ironing board, a hair dryer, a bathroom night light, a separate sink from the bathroom (it's on a small, possibly 3-foot vanity), a nice size dresser, a TV on a swivel stand (the TV is the large back type, but, hey, who is going to stay in the room anyway!). In addition, our first floor porch entry area had two chairs and a table. When making a reservation, it is a good idea to ask if the room being assigned has these amenities or additional ones.

You might want to bring a flashlight if you want to walk the beach at night. Also bring beach shoes as the parking lot is a chip asphalt and quite painful to walk on in bare feet, especially for small children.

Quick, friendly check-in. The front desk people are an absolute joy to speak with and are quick to provide suggestions and print out directions to other local businesses when needed. TIP: Be sure and leave a daily tip for housekeeping. They’ve worked hard to get the room ready for guests and to keep them in good shape daily. It’s a nice gesture to let them know they are noticed and appreciated. We leave a note that we’ve marked “housekeeping” and a written “thank you” along with a smiley face with our tip so housekeeping knows it is earmarked for them.

No complimentary breakfast but there is a restaurant on site. The prices here are a bit higher because of the convenient location and, therefore, we went off site for our meals. One improvement that would make a huge difference in staying here is for this motel to offer an optional but substantial complimentary breakfast to all guests even if it comes with an additional but reasonable charge. I believe we would have paid a reasonable extra fee to have the convenience of a good complimentary breakfast. I understand it is offered in some packages but we were not aware of this until after our stay ended.

Wrist Bands are given to each guest to wear for identification so that guests can easily move among the several Red Jacket properties and to easily identify resort guests as the "Resort is private for guests only." At the beach entrance is a Patio Station where drinks and food are sold.

The towels provided are very large beach towels in length and width which was a nice surprise. At check-in, a towel card is issued to each room. The policy states: "Exchange towels to the beach attendant at the towel bin and receive your towel card in return. Towels may be exchanged at the front desk in the event the towel shed is closed. All non-returned towel cards at check-out will be considered towel purchases. We will apply a $25.00 fee PER towel charge to the room account.” It’s a fair enough policy considering the size of the beach towel and to help guests remember to leave these towels at the motel when departing.

Each day the resort sets up and takes down a good number of beach umbrellas and chairs on the beach. At the request of the guest, the beach attendant will place chairs and umbrellas at the guest’s chosen spot on the beach.

Pool Hours are from 9AM - 9PM. The outside pool is heated and an absolute joy for children, even very small ones as the one end of the pool is set up specifically for the smaller child who wants to get wet but not go into any deep water. The inside pool is heated and is located right next to the front desk. There are a significant amount of convenient lounge chairs surrounding each pool.

It would be extremely helpful if the Red Jacket resorts posted a diagram of each facility's layout online. Based on the diagram of this facility given at check-in there are adjacent rooms available, including what appears to be one adjacent family suite located near the Office. Rooms designated with a K are King bed rooms. Following is a description of the layout (I’ll try to post a copy of the layout card).

The entire facility can be described as being laid out like a large W with the open ends of the W facing the ocean. The far left of the W is where the rooms are designated as Court Side. There are first floor and second floor rooms (throughout the facility there are stairs only for the second floor rooms). The street portion of this far left portion of the W is where the restaurant and lounge are located. The first floor of the Court Side rooms from the street going towards ocean number as K100 PREF to 116 PREF. The second floor of the Court Side rooms number from the street going towards ocean as 200 PREF to 216 PREF. The Courtside rooms end where the first floor and second floor of the 8 Ocean View rooms begin that are numbered (left to right) on the first floor as K117 OCFI, 118 OCFI, 119 OCFI, K120 OCFI. The second floor of the Ocean View rooms are numbered K217 OCFI, 218 OCFI, and K220 OCFI. These rooms are fairly private as only guests in these ocean rooms would pass by, with the exception of the first floor end unit which can have guests lingering at the foot washing station.

The rooms on the Poolside would be the middle portion of the W. The street portion of this middle section is where the Office is located. Right at or above the office the resort map designates two rooms which are apparently premium suites numbered 221 SUTE (appears to be located on the second floor) and 222 SUTE (appears to be located on the first floor). From here, the Poolside's first floor rooms from the street portion going towards the ocean number as 122 PRFM, 123 PRFM, and then 124 POOL to 135 POOL, and then 136 POCV to 138 POCV. The Poolside's second floor rooms from the street portion going towards the ocean number as 223 POOL to 235 POOL, and then 236 POCV to 238 POCV. The Poolside rooms end where the first floor and second floor of 4 Ocean View rooms begin that are numbered (left to right) as 140 OCFE and 139 OCFE. The second floor of the Ocean View rooms are numbered (left to right) as 240 OCFE and 239 OCFE. The Outdoor pool begins near rooms 131 POOL, 231 POOL, and ends near rooms 138 POCV, 238 POCV. These first floor ocean view rooms are the least private as everyone passes through this area.

The street portion of the far right side of the W is where the Indoor Pool is located (directly to the right of the Office). Then there is a block of rooms that are noted as Grande rooms that are separated from and somewhat behind the Indoor Pool area. These first and second floor rooms are similar to being placed as back-to-back rooms but are separated by an interior corridor/hallway. If standing in front of the entire motel complex, this Grande building is designed to run from east to west (while all other rooms in this resort run from south (street) towards the ocean (north). The first floor rooms directly facing the Indoor Pool and the street are numbered (left to right) 141 PREF, 143 PREF, 145 PREF, 147 PREF, 149 PREF. Second floor rooms directly facing the Indoor Pool and the street are numbered 241 PREF, 243 PREF, 245 PREF, 247 PREF, 249 PREF. The first floor rooms facing the Outdoor Pool are numbered 142 OCVW, 144 OCVW, K146 OCVW, K148 OCVW, K150 OCVW. Second floor rooms facing the Outdoor Pool are numbered 242 OCVW, 244 OCVW, 246 OCVW, 250 OCVW.

If you are not confused yet, then, right next to the Outdoor Pool, completing the right side of the W are another separate set of Grande rooms. The first floor rooms are numbered 151 OCVW to 158 OCVW. The second floor rooms are numbered 251 OCVW to 258 OCVW. This set of Grande rooms end where the first floor and second floor of the 10 Ocean View Grande rooms begin that are numbered on the first floor (left to right) as 159 OCF1 to 162 OCF1 and K163 OCF1. The second floor (left to right) Ocean View rooms 259 OCF1 to 262 OCF1 and K263 OCF1. The first and second floor Grande rooms all face the Outdoor Pool. Only Ocean View rooms numbered 159 OCF1, 160 OCF1, 259 OCF1, and 260 OCF1 appear to also have direct exits facing the Outdoor Pool. These ocean view rooms are the most private based on location and guest activities.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that is either ocean front or
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Vacationers2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RIVBEACHBassRiver, General Manager at Riviera Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 27 September 2011

Our entire staff and management team thank you for your recent stay and for writing a very comprehensive review of our property. The Resort has been set up to focus on the gorgeous manicured grounds , the pools and the fabulous private beach. It is everyones job to keep the place sparkling and to strive to exceed our guest expectations at every turn. Our marketing team provides excellent activities during our season including the six day a week Kids Klub program. We look forward to your next visit and again we thank you very much for being so descriptive in your recent review . Please visit our sister properties in NH when you are in The White Mountains.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near South Yarmouth
0.2 km away
Blue Water on the Ocean
Blue Water on the Ocean
#6 of 21 in South Yarmouth
266 reviews
1.8 km away
Red Jacket Beach Resort & Spa
Red Jacket Beach Resort & Spa
#4 of 21 in South Yarmouth
612 reviews
1.4 km away
Ocean Mist Beach Hotel & Suites
Ocean Mist Beach Hotel & Suites
#7 of 21 in South Yarmouth
385 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 km away
Bayside Resort Hotel
Bayside Resort Hotel
#2 of 20 in West Yarmouth
1,246 reviews
2.3 km away
All Seasons Resort
All Seasons Resort
#10 of 21 in South Yarmouth
346 reviews
36.6 km away
Sea Crest Beach Hotel
Sea Crest Beach Hotel
#7 of 20 in Falmouth
989 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riviera Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riviera Beach Resort

Address: 327 S Shore Dr, South Yarmouth, MA 02664-5863
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Cod > South Yarmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in South Yarmouth
#8 Family Hotel in South Yarmouth
Price Range: ₹ 7,744 - ₹ 20,760 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Riviera Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 125
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An Oceanfront Favorite among Cape Cod resorts. The Riviera Beach Resort offers the perfect setting for memorable family vacations and romantic getaways for two. Our resort boasts 125 charming guest rooms including newly renovated Poolside and Ocean View locations. Relax and enjoy our beautiful private ocean beach, heated indoor and outdoor pools, whirlpool, restaurant, lounge, seasonal water sports, fully supervised Kids' Klub, Spa at Red Jacket Beach Resort, Blue Rock Golf Course, and fun summertime family activities. Our heated interactive, zero entry outdoor pool is designed for families with young and small children. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Riviera Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riviera Beach Resort - Bass River Hotel South Yarmouth
Riviera Beach Resort Cape Cod
Riviera Beach Resort South Yarmouth, MA - Cape Cod

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing