We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bates motel turn and run like hell” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Riviera Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Riviera Beach Resort
Ranked #10 of 21 Hotels in South Yarmouth
NJ
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Bates motel turn and run like hell”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 September 2011

i just returned from a long weekend at the Riviera Beach Motel and it was the worst. For starters the rooms are old, dirty and just plain gross.. The grounds were run down,and unkept . The beach side grill served 3 items a burger a hotdog and a sausage 8.95 each and do not ask for lettuce tomatoes or onions because it was not available , old bread and mustard only. The "resort fee " of 15.00 dollars a day they charge is a add on charge if there ever was one because all activities are next door at their other property and the heated pool they advertise was nowhere to be found. The carpet in my room was filthy and the bedding not much better [ blankets had burn holes] patio furniture was broken and hasn't been cleaned since Clinton left office. A motel 6 is cleaner and in better shape than this place, it was Labor Day weekend and i think this place had called it quits for the season already . In closing worst place i have stayed in since i was 20 years old and drunk, the nicest thing about this place was the location and seeing it in my rear view mirror as i drove away. YIKES THIS PLACE IS DIRTY

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
17 Thank CucharaGrande
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RIVBEACHBassRiver, General Manager at Riviera Beach Resort, responded to this review, 19 September 2011
The review you have sent in unforunately does not resemble our property , guest service or grounds. We ask that you contact John Verity our General Manager to discuss what seems to be a mistake in identity. The resort and staff has always been regarded as a very established Hotel with a very loyal following. We hope to hear from you soon so we may discuss this review further.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

306 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    109
    106
    47
    31
    13
See reviews for
179
69
4
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Rochester, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2011

Our family, Grandma, three sons, four grandchildren aged 9 - 19 spent five days and had a great time. The beach is beautiful and easily accessible with plenty of chairs and umbrellas. The pools are great for the kids but not good of you actually want to swim.
We were not given the accommodations that we originally arranged for. The suite we were told held 6 people with a BR with two Queen beds and a queen pull out. in LR. BR had one queen and one single so One teen-ager ended up sleeping on the floor. Front desk was less than understanding of this situation. Offered a cot which would have left no room to move around . I believe we should have been offered some kind of compensation for our inconvenience..
Housekeeping did an outstanding job. The rooms were somewhat dated but very well kept.
The prices quoted are deceiving. Our deluxe standard had $47.33 added taxes and fees and the suite had $69.36 added taxes and fees per day.. Be sure to get the bottom line price per day. I do not believe we got a good value for the price.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kay9225
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RIVBEACHBassRiver, General Manager at Riviera Beach Resort, responded to this review, 6 September 2011
Thank you for your recent stay at the Riviera Beach Resort. We also as a team thank you for taking the time to send in a review of your experiences while here on the property. With regards to your room/suite configuration our normal procedure is and has always been to permit up to seven guests in our family suite. We understand your requirements were a bit different for your six guests and we apoloize for not having a better solution. I will contact you regarding your request for compensation as it relates to the inconvienence, and I certainly wish I could have done more for your family while you were here. It is our policy to provide evertything we can to insure your comfort, unfortunately we are extremely limited when we are at capacity for large parties of six or more. Thank you for comments regarding our cleanliness and ocean front location. I will contact you in the next few days to discuss your stay further. We appreciate your business and again thank you for your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PA
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2011

We visited this resort for a 5 day stay. We had some problems with our initial room and the staff worked to move us during a very busy time, they were completely accommodating and understanding.

The beach was wonderful and well maintained, as was the outside property. A fitness room would have been a nice addition, particularly as this is marketed as a resort, but the weather was great and allowed us to run outside where there is a nice wide sidewalk.

We will definitely be staying here again.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CaitKel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
new york
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2011

This beach is by far the best beach on the Cape!.The rooms have been updated,we stayed in an ocean view. The pool area had all new lounge chairs that were great and plenty of them. The outside grill and bar was also good,particularly the mudslides! The outside staff was attentive and friendly, The beach staff also great. The front desk still could use improvement... not very welcoming or flexible,especially the woman who has been there ten years...when asking for an early check in (which I'd requested 4 mos.earlier, she snapped and said there is no such thing!) Overall a good choice for a family retreat.New bedding for year,I hope!

Room Tip: Call early for an oceanview
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank skippydo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RIVBEACHBassRiver, General Manager at Riviera Beach Resort, responded to this review, 2 September 2011
Thank you for your stay and also for taking time to review the encounters you had while you were here. The issue at the desk I will look into and rectify with all front desk staff. We ,on occassion,are able to get you in to your room before 300pm, although in peak time, July and August it is a challenge. The comments about our location, exterior furniture and staff are very well recieved and we pass along all reviews to our department heads and staff members.Hope to see you back at one of our seven Red Jacket Resorts in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Providence, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
75 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2011

My wife and I took our kids to the Cape during the season for years when our two daughters were younger. Once the kids were older my wife and I continued to take trips to the Cape off season and have stayed at the Red Jacket Riviera or the Blue Rock for golf. This year we decided to take our two grandchildren for a summer trip August 15th to 18th. At first a little lerry until we arrived at the Riviera, what a place for kids in the summer (and adults). The resort has both indoor and outdoor pools suited for kids. Daily activities for the kids from kite building and flying, face painting, beach games, etc. You were supplied with beach chairs and umbrellas at the beach when needed. There were also plenty of local activities in the area. A walk down the beach to a fishing pier with my Grandson. My wife and I had a blast with our grandchildren. The staff was very friendly and accomidating, the rooms comfortable and clean. Don't get me wrong, my wife and I will still enjoy our off season trips, the only thing missing will be what seemed like hundreds of kids ranging from 2 to 12, something we expected.

Room Tip: Pool view rooms seemed like the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Skip L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RIVBEACHBassRiver, General Manager at Riviera Beach Resort, responded to this review, 2 September 2011
It was our pleasure to have you as a guest at The Riviera Beach Resort and we thank you for taking the time to let us know how everything was while you were here. The location, the pools, the restaurants and the staff are all areas we take seriously and I am glad your experience with them were all very good. The resort works diligently on a daily basis to exceed our guest expectations. We welcome you back in our shoulder seasons and thank you very much for your continued patronage.The management and staff rely on our guest feedback to constantly improve our overall service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near South Yarmouth
0.2 km away
Blue Water on the Ocean
Blue Water on the Ocean
#7 of 21 in South Yarmouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 225 reviews
1.7 km away
Red Jacket Beach Resort & Spa
Red Jacket Beach Resort & Spa
#4 of 21 in South Yarmouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 563 reviews
0.1 km away
Ocean Club On Smugglers' Beach
Ocean Club On Smugglers' Beach
#3 of 21 in South Yarmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 354 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 km away
Bayside Resort Hotel
Bayside Resort Hotel
#2 of 20 in West Yarmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,192 reviews
1.3 km away
Ocean Mist Beach Hotel & Suites
Ocean Mist Beach Hotel & Suites
#6 of 21 in South Yarmouth
3.5 of 5 bubbles 351 reviews
4.8 km away
Green Harbor on the Ocean
Green Harbor on the Ocean
#3 of 20 in West Yarmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 215 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riviera Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riviera Beach Resort

Property: Riviera Beach Resort
Address: 327 S Shore Dr, South Yarmouth, MA 02664-5863
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Cod > South Yarmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in South Yarmouth
#8 Family Hotel in South Yarmouth
Price range (per night): ₹ 11,322 - ₹ 28,207
Hotel Class:3 star — Riviera Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 125
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An Oceanfront Favorite among Cape Cod resorts. The Riviera Beach Resort offers the perfect setting for memorable family vacations and romantic getaways for two. Our resort boasts 125 charming guest rooms including newly renovated Poolside and Ocean View locations. Relax and enjoy our beautiful private ocean beach, heated indoor and outdoor pools, whirlpool, restaurant, lounge, seasonal water sports, fully supervised Kids' Klub, Spa at Red Jacket Beach Resort, Blue Rock Golf Course, and fun summertime family activities. Our heated interactive, zero entry outdoor pool is designed for families with young and small children. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Riviera Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riviera Beach Resort - Bass River Hotel South Yarmouth
Riviera Beach Resort Cape Cod
Riviera Beach Resort South Yarmouth, MA - Cape Cod

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing