We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (671)
Filter reviews
671 results
Traveller rating
274
217
105
51
24
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
274
217
105
51
24
Show reviews that mention
All reviews red jacket indoor pool john payne a river view room kids club breakfast buffet cape cod ocean front private beach zero entry next year beach staff family room kids activities chairs and umbrellas daily activities family vacation
Filter
Updating list...
55 - 60 of 671 reviews
Reviewed 25 September 2017

Without requesting, we were given an upgrade of accommodations on the water with two rooms. Our room had a private patio overlooking the lake and close to the ocean. Being the end of the season, it was quiet and relaxing. We had plans in the area so we really didn't have time to take advantage of the restaurant or pool. The accommodations were fine but a bit run down and outdated; particularly the bathroom.
Parking at night was difficult. Very few spaces available.
I had heard of the Red Jacket but was never willing to pay their prices until now. The location is the best thing I can say about it. I think I expected more. Obviously, apparently from the bathroom photo, they need to make some changes

Room tip: Try for a room on the water and away from the main building. At the time we were there there was an event in the main building. Quite loud.
Date of stay: August 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank loishms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2017 via mobile

We weren't quite sure what to expect here. It was about $400 a night for a standard room with two double beds. This was one of the least expensive hotels in the area but we couldn't justify spending $600 plus per night in some of the others so we decided to give it a try. The room itself was, while clean, outdated and pretty tiny. The bathroom was small. We were on the first floor with a nice walk out patio. The kids activities were great (and included in the price which was a nice bonus). My kids did a morning camp one day and also made slime and made kites to fly. The views here of the ocean are gorgeous and that's likely what you're paying for. The service at both the indoor restaurant and cafe near the pool were ridiculously slow. We wanted to love it but have mixed feelings. Wish it was a little bit less expensive for the service and rooms. A plus for kid friendly activities (my kids loved them) and the fabulous view though.

Date of stay: August 2017
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Mona H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 25 September 2017

Good Morning,
Although we do have our challenges with some outdated rooms, we feel that the
value of the resort lie in the spectacular views, and all the guest/family activities that we do offer.
As far as the slow food service, that is unacceptable and we will address accordingly.
It is truly through out guest's comments we get our best feedback. Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your experience.

Sincerely,
Hollie Handrahan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2017

The Red Jacket has every thing you need for an excellent Cape Cod vacation. The staff was very welcoming and the location is perfect. The private beach is amazing. We ate the resort at least once a day and the food was always excellent.

Date of stay: September 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Christopher M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 16 September 2017

Hello Christopher,

Thank you for your kind words.
We strive to provide the best lodging and dining experience possible.
Hope to see you in 2018!

Best,
Hollie Handrahan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2017 via mobile

We vacationed here again this year.We stayed in the cottage this time so we could bring our dog! There was plenty of rooms 3 in fact and a really nice kitchen with everything you might need to make coffee or to cook whatever you would like. The indoor pool was very nice and the beach was fantastic. We had the buffet breakfast which had almost everything to choose from.It was a very enjoyable stay.The staff was very nice and helpful.

Date of stay: September 2017
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank jayne b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 13 September 2017

Hello Jayne,

Thank you for your great review!
We hope to see you in 2018!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2017

Hotel very old,,needs updating,food terrible,beach dirty,,,, worst trip I've ever had ,I would never return again if it was the last place in the world,I complained at the front desk of the terrible room,they actually agreed with me and comped me a night,,,,

Room tip: If you have to stay pick up oceanfront
Date of stay: August 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank debbiestewart24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 13 September 2017

Hello Debbie,

I am sorry that you did not enjoy your recent visit with us.
We have taken your comments seriously and will address the necessary
areas as soon as possible.


Thank you
Hollie Handrahan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews