We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Used to be good!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ambassador Inn & Suites
Ranked #18 of 21 Hotels in South Yarmouth
Abington, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
96 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Used to be good!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2011

Have stayed at this hotel maybe 4 times over the years, until now never found a need to complain.
Given the location & the price, it was an ok place to stay; being a group it was very convenient being able to use the breakfast room at pleasure. I booked on the phone asking for a ‘King Bed’ on the first floor because of medical limitation (no elevator); was told that she would try to secure one. Never was I told that only 2 rooms are king beds on first floor. Got a room on the 2nd floor, pleasant and spacious-but very hard on us with a cardiac condition going up & down those stairs multiple times daily, especially when carrying luggage. When I made the reservation no mention was made that the room had a safe and that a daily charge of $1.68 would apply for it above the room charge.
In checking in & throughout the week-end people were experiencing delay in getting service because (I think) of understaffing. So much so that I sent to talk with my husband one of the Europeans guests who was checking out and looking for direction to the highway. The same guest had questioned the bill but the explanation given to her was very misleading and she eventually just gave up contesting the charges. She had booked a triple occupancy room, yet upon check out she was charged $10 extra +tax for the 3rd person. The language barrier was on both sides I think, so the guest (like me and the safe charge) just took it as an unpleasant experience.
On the website: (1) No safe is mentioned anywhere = no charge for it! (2) No direct contact with Management other than by telephone, I can’t trust verbal explanation, had that experience in booking. (3) Sent an e-mail on Monday via the website’s reservation agent asking for Peter to contact me so we could discuss my disappointing experience during this last visit at his facility; no reply has been received by me. I wanted to delay my review giving him the benefit of an explanation; I guess he does not care enough to find out the guests comments because he has not placed a system for it on his website – that is my opinion.

Room Tip: If you can do the stairs, room 210 is very good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MAST48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

210 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    34
    58
    62
    22
    34
See reviews for
85
64
11
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Lebanon, CT
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2011

Our room was nor ready when promised. We waited in the dark, hot, humid hallway while our room was being cleaned. (We had already lugged our baggage up a flight of stairs and down a long hallway [no elevator] so we were not about to carry it back downstairs while we waited.) While we were standing in the hallway, we saw that the cleaning person was barefooted. When we were finally able to enter our room, I saw that there was blood on the toilet seat. The cleaning man was gone by then so I washed it off myself with tissues, soap, and water. Yuk!
The next morning we noticed that the door would not lock. I reported this to the manager who said that it just needed to be re-programmed. I trustingly thought that he would take care of that while my husband and I were having breakfast in the Ambassador Inn's breakfast area, I was wrong. When we went back to our room, the door was still unlocked. When I went to check out, the manager said that he would take care of the lock. What good did that do us at that time?! Also, and this is a small matter, I asked him to remove the charge for use of the hotel safe, since we did not use it. He said that he would remove the charge I just reviewed my credit card statement and see that he did not remove the charge.
To sum up: Cleanliness: bad, security: bad: cost: way overpriced. ($180.39 for one night)

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Barbara I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these South Yarmouth hotels

Ellettsville, Indiana
Level Contributor
164 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 September 2011

This location was good with several restaurants in walking distance. Olympic Lobster House offered a full lobster dinner for $14.95. The Riverway was also a good option. We did not use the motel's pools, but having both indoor and outdoor was a good feature. The outdoor pool was not as large as the picture appeared. The room was comfortable enough, but needed some updating. the baseboard carpet was pulled away from the wall, and should have been obvious to motel staff. The bathroom was rather small with the sink outside of the tub/toilet room. It was in a narrow alcove that may have been difficult for large-sized customers to use. The breakfast was average with cold cereal, breads, and a waffle maker, but added to the value of staying here. Overall it was a good value and fit our needs, as we spent most of our time outside enjoying the area.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cswright
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Connecticut
Level Contributor
32 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 September 2011

My girlfriend and I stayed at Ambassador Inn and Suites for the third time, and we were once again very pleased with the hotel. We have been going to Cape Cod at least once every year since 2008, and have stayed at a few other locations, but Ambassador is by far the best of them. The rooms are a good size and very clean, and the hotel staff were very friendly. It's location is also ideal for anyone who wants to explore the Cape since it's practically in the middle of Cape Cod and on one route 28.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yankeefan83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ramat Gan, Israel
Level Contributor
48 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2011

Our room (two doubles, first floor, right opposite to the indoor pool) was of a good size, clean, not outdated. There was a (working!) refrigerator in the room. Air conditioning was effective. Bathroom is really tiny and clean.

Both pools are good, we used the indoor one due to hot weather.
The staff is trained and helpful.

The problem: dining room is crowded during breakfast so either arrive early or take the food and eat somewhere else (I am serious, sometimes there is no free place in the dining room; as a result once I sat on the sofa in the lobby with my breakfast)

The advantage: the dining room is opened evening hours thoughh nothing is served. So, bring your food and wine here and enjoy. We did: it was a lovely family dinner. Cups, plates, other stuff is here. While we were sitting there a father brought his two kids with pizzas to the room and fed them there instead of going to the room. It looked fun and convenient.
In summary - the good inn. The last important note: it is a sound proof environment. We lived close to the lobby and opposite to the pool but nothing was heard inside.

Room Tip: No elevator in the inn
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alexr0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near South Yarmouth
5.9 km away
Bayside Resort Hotel
Bayside Resort Hotel
#2 of 20 in West Yarmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,198 reviews
6.5 km away
Hampton Inn and Suites Cape Cod - West Yarmouth
2.8 km away
Ocean Club On Smugglers' Beach
Ocean Club On Smugglers' Beach
#3 of 21 in South Yarmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 370 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 km away
Cape Cod Irish Village
Cape Cod Irish Village
#2 of 21 in South Yarmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 694 reviews
4.3 km away
Red Jacket Beach Resort & Spa
Red Jacket Beach Resort & Spa
#4 of 21 in South Yarmouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 569 reviews
2.9 km away
Blue Water on the Ocean
Blue Water on the Ocean
#7 of 21 in South Yarmouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 226 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ambassador Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ambassador Inn & Suites

Property: Ambassador Inn & Suites
Address: 1314 Main St., Route # 28, South Yarmouth, MA 02664 (Formerly Quality Inn)
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Cod > South Yarmouth
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 21 Hotels in South Yarmouth
Price range (per night): ₹ 5,017 - ₹ 13,444
Hotel Class:2 star — Ambassador Inn & Suites 2*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This AAA approved & very conveniently located near the airport in South Yarmouth, Ambassador Inn & Suites is close to West Dennis Beach, Bass River Lighthouse, and Pirate's Cove Mini Golf. Also nearby is Seagull Beach. Ambassador Inn & Suites has an indoor pool, a spa tub, a sauna, and a seasonal outdoor pool. Complimentary wireless and wired high-speed Internet access is available in public areas. Business amenities at this 3.0-star property include a 24-hour business center, small meeting rooms, and business services. Guests are served a Deluxe complimentary breakfast each morning. Guest parking is complimentary. Event space measures 800 square feet. Additional amenities include an arcade/game room, multilingual staff, and coffee in the lobby. Guestrooms. Ambassador Inn & Suites has 85 guestrooms. 27-inch televisions are equipped with premium satellite channels, free movie channels, and DVD players. Guestrooms provide complimentary wireless Internet access, direct-dial phones, complimentary weekday newspapers, and free local calls. Beds have down comforters. Guestrooms feature refrigerators and coffee/tea makers. Bathrooms offer hair dryers and complimentary toiletries. Additional amenities include climate control, air conditioning, and desks. In addition, amenities available on request include extra towels/bedding and wake-up calls. Housekeeping is offered. Roll away beds are available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ambassador Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ambassador Hotel South Yarmouth
Ambassador Inn & Suites South Yarmouth, MA - Cape Cod

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing