We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointed in Accommodations but not in Location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Blue Water on the Ocean
Ranked #7 of 21 Hotels in South Yarmouth
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 October 2011

Location for getting around the Cape was excellent and being right on the water a real plus. Was not pleased with the suite we had -- not for $275 a night for our first two nights. It had very outdated furnishings -- 1990s bedspreads and drapes, and furniture that was old and uncomfortable if you just wanted to hang out on a rainy day. A renovation for this type of unit would be in order -- especially get rid of the frayed carpeting and put in tile. It would give it a feeling of being clean and welcoming. The staff was most helpful when asked, but I was disappointed that the lobby area was not disability friendly and my being in a wheelchair made it difficult to do business at the front desk when needed. No ramps for entering or exiting that area from the parking lot. Probably would not recommend to friends given the price we paid for the week.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank jkbenson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RIVBEACHBassRiver, General Manager at Blue Water on the Ocean, responded to this reviewResponded 1 November 2011

Thank you for your recent stay and your review. The resort is constantly being updated to keep it up to our standards. We have future plans to potentially rebuild these buildings completely. The location is tremendous and offering a private beach and pristine grounds have always been a priority for our company and we will continue this tradition. The challenge for us is to keep our older facilities in excellent condition so our guests can enjoy the natural beauty and numerous services that we offer our guests.
We hope you retrun to one of our seven Red Jacket Resorts in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (272)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

223 - 227 of 272 reviews

Reviewed 13 October 2011

Booked for 5 days and have been here 2 days already and everything is just perfect..Location, very very hard to beat...

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Akapol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RIVBEACHBassRiver, General Manager at Blue Water on the Ocean, responded to this reviewResponded 1 November 2011

Thank you for staying with us here at Blue Water Resort. The report you sent is shared by numerous loyal guests who return year after year. Our job is insure all our guests experience our resort as you and your family have. We hope to see you back next season at one of our five Cape Cod Resorts.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2011

We rented two, two bedroom suites the weekend after Labor Day and it was one thing after another from the start. After checking in, we couldn't enter one of the suites as it was locked from the inside with a "privacy please" sign in the key slot. It took twenty minutes to get someone to open the room. We then called the front desk for beach towels to use at the pool and were told to use the ones in the room and ask housekeeping for more. After using the towels, I approached a housekeeper outside our room for more, and she said she couldn't provide them and I would have to request them from the front desk. After speaking to the front desk again, we were finally given more towels. On Saturday, it was a nice day so we wanted to go to the beach. We have a three month old, so i called the front desk and asked if beach umbrellas were available. She said they were not as they were taken "off property" after Labor Day. I drove into town and purchased an umbrella. When we arrived at the beach, there were plenty of beach umbrellas in a storage space under the walkway which people were taking and using. After the beach, we went back to the suite. I asked one of the workers if grills were allowed on the deck, and, if so, whether he would carry one of the grills provided by the resort up to the deck outside of our suite. He said "Yes" to both questions and placed it on the deck.
A few hours later, when we began grilling dinner, we were approached by another worker who told us grills were not allowed on the deck and the Manager wanted it moved immediately. We obviously couldn't move it as it was red hot. Embarrassing to say the least.
The resort itself was dated and a bit run down, although the beach and outdoor pool were nice. For the money, we'd suggest trying other resorts on the Cape.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank matthewemitchell1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RIVBEACHBassRiver, General Manager at Blue Water on the Ocean, responded to this reviewResponded 16 October 2011

The Blue Water Resort General Manager would like to once again apologize for the cottage review and also thank our guests for patronizing our resort. The items you listed as unacceptable were unfortunate and clearly presented you and your famiy an inconvienence. I hope you will take me up on our offer to return for a complimentary stay so we can present you with the service our guests have come to expect . The message from us is that we are not always perfect however we do everything in our power to admit our shortcomings, learn from it, and do our best, in every way, to make it up to you. We look forward to your continued support and feel strongly that through professional communication, improvements on our behalf, and a genuine invitation for you to return we will hear back from you soon. John Verity General Manager Blue Water-Riviera Beach Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2011

The Blue Water Resort in South Yarmouth is by far the best place we've stayed at on Cape Cod! The room was very clean. The location was perfect. The staff was very friendly and accomadating. The only thing that I would love is if the beds would be queen size instead of doubles. I was travelling with my husband and our teenage daughter and it's a little tight sleeping two on a double bed. We would definitely come back!!

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rita D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RIVBEACHBassRiver, General Manager at Blue Water on the Ocean, responded to this reviewResponded 1 November 2011

Thank you very much for staying with us and taking the time to review your experience at Blue Water. The management and staff strive daily to make each and every stay a memorable one for our guests and their families. The location, pools , private beach and extremely well trained polite staff hope to see you back next season. Thank you for your continued support.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2011

We stayed for a couple weeks here because of the location and their pet friendly policy. Had a fantastic time. The beach being right there made it perfect for morning walks and the pool was perfect for relaxing. All of our encounters with staff were great, everyone was very helpful. The rooms were a little outdated but very clean and comfortable. Parking did get a little crowded on labor day weekend, but after was not an issue. Might have to make this a yearly vacation spot!!

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mbsharp85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near South Yarmouth
1.6 km away
Red Jacket Beach Resort & Spa
Red Jacket Beach Resort & Spa
#4 of 21 in South Yarmouth
621 reviews
1.2 km away
Ocean Mist Beach Hotel & Suites
Ocean Mist Beach Hotel & Suites
#6 of 21 in South Yarmouth
390 reviews
19.1 km away
The Mansion at Ocean Edge Resort & Golf Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 km away
Bayside Resort Hotel
Bayside Resort Hotel
#2 of 20 in West Yarmouth
1,261 reviews
0.2 km away
Riviera Beach Resort
Riviera Beach Resort
#9 of 21 in South Yarmouth
323 reviews
21.4 km away
Chatham Bars Inn Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Water on the Ocean? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Water on the Ocean

Address: 291 South Shore Dr, South Yarmouth, MA 02664-5845
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Cod > South Yarmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in South Yarmouth
#5 Family Hotel in South Yarmouth
Price Range: ₹ 6,098 - ₹ 27,246 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Blue Water on the Ocean 3*
Number of rooms: 113
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on 500 feet of private sandy beach on the warm waters of Nantucket Sound, Blue Water is the ideal resort for a family vacation, a romantic getaway, or an extended family gathering. The resort boasts 113 guest rooms and cottages, most with patio or balcony featuring stunning ocean and garden views. Offering food and beverage services in the dining room and lounge, as well as catering for private parties of up to 75 people. Also, our popular beach side Cabana Bar & Grill serves food and drink favorites during the summer season. In addition to the private beach, resort amenities include indoor and outdoor heated pools,basketball court, putting green, and game arcade. Kids’ Klub, a supervised children’s program is offered during summer season along with a full complement of family activities, bonfire nights, fun clowns, magic and pirate adventure weeks and musical entertainment throughout the summer season on a complimentary basis. Open from late April until late October. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Blue Water on the Ocean reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blue Water On The Ocean Hotel South Yarmouth
Best Western South Yarmouth
South Yarmouth Best Western
Blue Water On The Ocean South Yarmouth, MA - Cape Cod

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing