We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice beach front hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Ocean Mist Beach Hotel & Suites
Ranked #8 of 21 Hotels in South Yarmouth
Bloomsbury, New Jersey
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Nice beach front hotel”
Reviewed 19 February 2012

This was a last minute trip... We missed our cruise because of the hurricane so we booked a trip to the Cape. We rented one of the second floor loft rooms... Very spacious with a nice view from two different decks, one on each level. The room was clean with minor wear and tear.... Not a five star hotel but clean enough. The beds were comfortable...enough. There was plenty of parking. There are beach chairs and a couple of picnic tables. The water front had easy access for my father and uncle who are disabled with Huntington's Disease. If you are disabled there are ground floor hotel rooms... There is no elevator to the second floor loft rooms... A down side to the hotel. The front desk was helpful. The indoor pool was heavy with chlorine as well as the hot tub... There is no pool outside. We are not staying there this summer because the rates are higher than the Windjammer which is down the road just across from the beach on the same street.... I will write review about that after my trip in August. Overall this is a fine place to stay... Not a Hilton, but neither is the price. Good for families.. Lots of space in the loft rooms, or for the disabled with rooms on the ground floor.

Room Tip: There are a couple of rooms that directly face the ocean... Most have an ocean view... There are som...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank betsyconroy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

363 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    135
    112
    47
    35
    34
See reviews for
179
101
5
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (115)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 November 2011

Great value in the off-season for the view and square footage. Check in lady extremely nice. We booked a loft room which didn't match the website photos for decor, but we had a great view and liked the balconies. We were too busy enjoying the cape to complain about it and really only slept in the room. Room and furniture look to be in their original state, which is too bad because this place really could do some easy updating and make the rooms look great.

Room Tip: loft rooms seem to be higher up to get a view
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Upstate NY
Level 6 Contributor
161 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2011

As it is off season (or at least not "high season") on the Cape, we arrived on a Monday without reservations and decided we would look for a place along the water that wasn't over priced. Have been going to the Cape for many many years and we prefer to stay in/near the South Yarmouth area and have stayed at any number of places along Rt. 28 so decided to check out the waterfront properties. Red Jacket and sister properties are still over priced at this time of year, so we stopped at Ocean Mist and asked to see a room. Office staff was very friendly and helpful. We were given keys to a room about 4 away from the water on the ground level. Clean room - no musty smells as stated by so many other reviewers - with small kitchenette area. Decor is dated and looks well used but clean. Decided we would take the room for 4 nights and there were maybe 5 other cars in the parking lot our entire visit so it made for a very quiet and relaxing stay. Internet is a negative - you need to sit in the office to use it. We sat in the lobby area downstairs - couldn't use the upstairs area as other posters mentioned because it was extremely hot with no AC. There is a picnic table and alot of lounge chairs on their beach area. There were also 2 of the most adorable little rabbits running around in the grass in front of our room! They must be very accustomed to people coming and going, as they paid us no mind whatsoever. I would say if you can get a room here close to the water, for under $100 - then it's not a bad place to stay.

Room Tip: Closer to the water and avoid parking lot views. Very nice water views to be had here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PK12033
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 September 2011

Dont expect the room you see on the Ocean Mist website. It looks to me like the pics they show are the rooms located at the very end of the hotel, facing the beach. I believe there are only 4 rooms like that so if you get one of those, youre in luck. The rest of rooms face the parking lot. But there is still a nice view of the beach from your room/balcony. The location of this hotel is fantastic. I have no complaints in this department. The beach is literally right there and its very clean. Beautiful. But I just cant find anything good to say about the rooms. The first room we were in smelled very musty and damp and was very dark. The screen door to one balcony was badly dented so it wouldnt shut all the way, and the other balcony screen door was actually leaning against the wall on the opposite side of the room. Half of the lights didnt work, the TV was missing the remote, and the pull out couch had stains all over it. And the room was VERY dated. We asked to be moved and they were very accomodating and gave us no trouble at all. The second room was just as dated (the decor looks NOTHING like their website pics) but was brighter and didnt smell as bad. The pull out couch was kind of gross though and the ceiling over the bath tub was badly cracked and bulging with very obvious water damage. The bathroom mirror had chips all over it and the wall paper was peeling off in spots. Our first room kitchenette had a microwave, the second room didint. But it was still better than the first room so we stayed. So, unless you can get one of the rooms shown on their website, for $200+ a night, I would stay somewhere else.

Room Tip: Try to get one of the rooms shown on their website.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank myra d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sayville, New York
1 review
Reviewed 25 September 2011

We were both hesitant on staying here as per the 50/50 reviews but were very pleased with the service and care that Ocean Mist delivered. The room was a bit outdated in terms of decor but the views and ambiance kept decor off our minds. We stayed for just one night and thoroughly enjoyed it, perhaps so much that we forgot 2 items of attire back in the room. When we arrived back in Long Island we called to see if they found our belongings and to our surprise they packaged and sent them to us free of charge. Very impressed and satisfied with our overall experience. (Would like to add that I spoke with the manager as we checked out and she mentioned that the "whole place will be getting re-done and you won't be able to recognize it in a year".)

Room Tip: 2nd floor views are incredible!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicole L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near South Yarmouth
1.2 km away
Blue Water on the Ocean
Blue Water on the Ocean
#5 of 21 in South Yarmouth
247 reviews
0.4 km away
Red Jacket Beach Resort & Spa
Red Jacket Beach Resort & Spa
#4 of 21 in South Yarmouth
590 reviews
1.4 km away
Ocean Club On Smugglers' Beach
Ocean Club On Smugglers' Beach
#3 of 21 in South Yarmouth
388 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.2 km away
The Mansion at Ocean Edge Resort & Golf Club
3.8 km away
Bayside Resort Hotel
Bayside Resort Hotel
#2 of 20 in West Yarmouth
1,220 reviews
1.4 km away
Riviera Beach Resort
Riviera Beach Resort
#10 of 21 in South Yarmouth
309 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ocean Mist Beach Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Mist Beach Hotel & Suites

Property: Ocean Mist Beach Hotel & Suites
Address: 97 S Shore Dr, South Yarmouth, MA 02664-5148
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Cod > South Yarmouth
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in South Yarmouth
#7 Family Hotel in South Yarmouth
Price range (per night): ₹ 19,893 - ₹ 30,323
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Ocean Mist Beach Hotel & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ocean Mist Beach Hotel & Suites in the heart of Cape Cod is located directly on Nantucket Sound with 300 feet of private sandy beach and breathtaking ocean views. Convenient to area restaurants, outlet shopping, specialty stores, historical sites, legendary antique shops, art galleries, and numerous outdoor activities such as golfing, deep sea fishing and biking, this oceanfront resort offers everything you will need for the perfect Cape Cod getaway vacation. The Ocean Mist Beach Hotel and Suites has reopened following a multi-million dollar renovation. All areas of the hotel will be completely renovated and updated to incorporate luxurious furnishings and amenities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Ocean Mist Beach Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean Mist South Yarmouth
Ocean Mist Hotel South Yarmouth
Ocean Mist Beach Hotel & Suites South Yarmouth, MA - Cape Cod

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing