We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 10:00 AM - 10:45 PM
Save
Review Highlights
Good selection

The Wine & Cheese Cask may not have the largest selection of spirits. Yet it does have a good one... read more

Reviewed 18 February 2017
Andrew B
,
Somerville
via mobile
the wine bin specials are this place's best feature

the wine bin specials are this place's best feature

Reviewed 15 February 2008
A TripAdvisor reviewer on Facebook
Read all 12 reviews
  
Reviews (12)
Filter reviews
12 results
Traveller rating
5
4
1
1
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
5
4
1
1
1
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 12 reviews
Reviewed 30 September 2018

Most terrible experience ever with a liqueur store in my life. If you want my money, be nice. I will never go back.
1. Extremely snobbish store manager and rude staff, the people in the back and the cashier girls
2. Dusty and smelly. I smelt mold here and there.
3. Both staff and manager had no clue of many things. They don't even know their own inventory. No one seems to have passion in what they are doing. The cashiers couldn't be more salty. Wow!
4. Small selection in many types
5. Why is this store still in business

Thank Maya S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2017 via mobile

The Wine & Cheese Cask may not have the largest selection of spirits. Yet it does have a good one. It does have a very good wine selection. It cheese selection is outstanding. The staff are knowledgeable, helpful and friendly. The prices are reasonably competitive.

Thank Andrew B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2013

I have been shopping here for over 20 years. They have a huge selection of both wine and cheeses, and a very knowledgeable and helpful staff and unlike many new fancy wine shops, they have a lot of very decent wines that are under $15. Unlike one reviewer, I have never had rude service there, quite the opposite.

3  Thank oskar129
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2013 via mobile

This is a Cambridge and Somerville institution, and the reason is that they have good wines at fair prices. Several of their staff are friendly and can recommend a good bottle. This is offset, however, by other staff who are breathtakingly rude. Not accepting Amex means that any time I need to make a large purchase for a work event I go elsewhere, because getting the purchase on my personal card reimbursed is a minor hassle. Overall, a good establishment now squarely resting on its laurels, and hence ripe for having business stolen away by a new place (whose arrival I eagerly hope for).

Thank PHS13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2012

I have been coming to this shop for over 20 years. It is not big at all but their wine selection rivals some of the big stores in the area. I am on their mailing list so I get periodic newsletters that inform me of their wine and cheese specials. I am impressed by the knowledge of the wine staff. They have never made a bad suggestion and I have learned value to rely on their collective knowledge on Italian wines. Their selection of cheeses is impressive as well when one considers how small the space is. One can find here everything from parmiggiano to pecorino to taleggio.

2  Thank azzurri4ever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2010

Great shop. Note: not a restaurant but is listed as one on trip advisor.

1  Thank Ddddrrrrsssss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor reviewer on Facebook
Chelsea, Massachusetts
Reviewed 1 February 2009

Great place to pick up a good cheese, some great wine and little nibbles for an impromptu gathering at your pad

1  Thank A TripAdvisor reviewer on Facebook
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual contributor and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor reviewer on Facebook
Reviewed 15 December 2008

I don't get over there very often but they have amazing, unique wine options.

1  Thank A TripAdvisor reviewer on Facebook
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual contributor and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor reviewer on Facebook
Reviewed 10 March 2008

The cheese selection is larger at Whole Foods off Memorial Drive.

1  Thank A TripAdvisor reviewer on Facebook
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual contributor and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor reviewer on Facebook
New York City, New York
Reviewed 15 February 2008

the wine bin specials are this place's best feature

1  Thank A TripAdvisor reviewer on Facebook
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual contributor and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews