We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fabulous weekend break”
other travellers have booked this property
The Ferry House Absolute Beach Front overlooking the gorgeous St Ives Bay
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Ferry House Absolute Beach Front overlooking the gorgeous St Ives Bay
Pool Private covered heated pool on the beach and by the sea
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
18 reviews
The Ferry House Absolute Beach Front overlooking the gorgeous St Ives Bay
Pool
Private covered heated pool on the beach and by the sea
Living Room with panoramic sea views
Open plan living area
Master bedroom view
Master Bedroom with Kingsize Bed Sea View to Bay
Master Bedroom view to right
Bedroom 2 with Sea Views
Upstairs Triple Bunk Room
Bathroom
Stairs
Shower room
Window seat in hall
Conservatory and BBQ patio area
Conservatory
Garden/Beach/Kite Surfing
Passing Traffic
passing traffic
Sunrise Fishing at Easter
Ferry House sign
Nearby Quay for free guest car parking
The views
Kayaking
Kite surfing
Busy summer beach activity
Snow on the Beach
West Cornwall Golf Club behind Ferry House
Ferry House aerial view
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
4 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 10
Lelant, St Ives, Cornwall, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 18 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Jane G
Paignton, United Kingdom
1 review
“Fabulous weekend break”
Reviewed 27 February 2018 for a stay in February 2018

We booked the house for a weekend. Glad we packed light as we had to park the car and walk across the beach to the house. It really is a beach house! This wasn’t a problem for us tho, it only added to the excitement for the children and felt like we were truly away from it all.
The house had everything we could need and more. Milk, tea, biscuits and a bottle of wine! The owners had even decorated the house with happy birthday banners as it was my husbands birthday which was so lovely.
The beds were comfy, there was lots of wood for the log burner and the place was spotlessly clean. The views from the house and garden were incredible. The children enjoyed the pool and hot tub. We had some great walks along the beach that was literally a couple of steps from the end of the garden. Great house, gorgeous location, already thinking about going back.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
17 Mar 2018
Wonderful! We do enjoy hearing that our guests have had a lovely time and appreciate our efforts in this. We would love you to return and offer returning guest discounts to show our appreciation when guests book and return.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dudley, United Kingdom
Reviewed 19 November 2017 for a stay in November 2017

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
20 Nov 2017
Wonderful to hear that you had a lovely stay and will be returning! We really appreciate knowing that our guests have enjoyed their stay. We are glad that you found everything to your satisfaction the team do work hard to pull it all together for a good holiday to be had by our guests. Thank you for taking the time to provide a review! Best wishes Nicola
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
MikeRedfi...
Redfield, AR
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Fantastic!”
Reviewed 17 April 2017 for a stay in July 2016

Last summer we had the opportunity to spend a week in The Ferry House and Fisherman's Rest.(There were 13 of us!). It was a beautiful experience. We were surprised to arrive after midnight and find that we would have to walk down a long hill on a pathway, (which turned out to be a path across a golf course) it was raining and very dark which made for some exciting slipping and sliding, but once we arrived we were able to build a fire in one of the wood stoves and after warming up with a stiff drink we drifted off to slumber to awaken to a beautiful blue sky and a literal garden of lovely flowers and plants overlooking a perfect ocean view. I loved it, and while the walk in and out proved a challenge for some our party I found it refreshing. I would stay here again in a heartbeat.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Apr 2017
Thank you. We appreciate such a lovely review especially from folks based in California used to amazing beaches. Your welcome back whenever you like!
We do recommend the alternative way in along the beach which is typically light enough to do without a torch as the moon is usually sufficient. You did well getting in at midnight. We usually recommend a daytime arrival but realise it's not always possible. Our other house is Ferryman's Rest just in case any body is looking it up. We also own the two bedroom Beach House at the location as well.
Thank you for taking the time to provide us with a wonderful review.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bubbas_Bl...
Great Dunmow, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“A very special place”
Reviewed 4 January 2016 for a stay in December 2015

The location of the Ferry House is nothing short of stunning! The sea comes up to garden wall at high tide and at low tide there is a vast expanse of beautiful white sand beach. From the Living Room we saw seals, cormorants, King Fisher, Falcons and much more. It is a short walk to the house but we parked on Dynamite Quay (arranged by the excellent owner, Nicola) and it added an extra element to the holiday...first time we've walked along a beach to get to a house!

The house itself is tucked away with a private, large enough garden that would be the perfect place to sit and watch people/wildlife/sunsets/sunrises/views/big sky's, etc. and enjoy a drink in Summer, though we did that over a balmy (17c) Christmas! We are a family group of 4 and the house was an ideal size for us, I would imagine that in the summer with the patio doors pulled back that allow direct access from the Lounge to the front garden, there would be plenty of space for a large group. The upstairs is perfect, looks like it's fairly newly refurbed, with really comfortable beds (the main bedroom has the biggest bed i've ever seen!), huge amount of space and glorious views. The downstairs is practical and a little more 'lived in' but is clean and well provisioned. One reviewer mentioned this and all I can say is that this is a Beach House, it's by the beach so you will get sand on the slate floor and it must be difficult to maintain, but the Cleaners and Owners do a superb job. The location (did I mention it is stunning?) more than makes up for a bit of sand and the furniture, etc. is in keeping with the beach house feel.

The Pool is really good, much better than expected and used throughout our stay, as was the Hot Tub...and it was well maintained during our week. We didn't get to use the newly installed Wood Burner as it was too warm, but that would be fantastic on a cold winters' eve. The house has super fast Wifi (boys were happy!) and overall is fantastic value for money...yes it's dearer in August but if you've a young (or old) family and you want a beautiful, huge beach then it's literally on your doorstep...throw in the pool and hot tub and happy days!

Last thing, I left my watch (an expensive Tag) at the house and didn't realise until I got home and the Cleaner and Owner went well out of their way to reunite me with it. Again, I mention this as it's just another example of Nicola's commitment to providing the very best experience, I never actually met her face to face but her communication was excellent from initial booking, to accommodating a last minute date change and dealing with the lost watch!

If you want to visit a very special place and have a 'proper' holiday, then book!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Pool, Hot Tub, View, Location.
Liked least: Going home!
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Jan 2016
Thank you so much for taking the time to provide us with this wonderful review. We really do appreciate hearing that our guests have a superb time at The Ferry House (not forgetting our other beach houses too!) The team work hard to ensure that our guests get the holiday that they deserve and need, we all know how rushed and hectic life can be. Holidays are special times for good memories and we know that being at The Ferry House can provide for a truly exceptional holiday experience. Many guests tell us this and many guests are back for their 4th or 5th stay! We have guests who say that they have lots of day trip planned but in the end find that there is enough to do just sitting and looking out from the Ferry House to the beach and the bay. There is always something good going on, (even in the depths of winter wildlife abounds), don't forget the passing traffic, (gig rowers and lobster/crab boats).
Some families say that their children put down their electrical devices and happily revert to kids play on the beach, unwinding prior to stressful exams. We ourselves know and appreciate the location as we have lived there ourselves and are happy to share the rejuvenation that it so often provides. As with all things special there is always the slightly unorthodox walk in but our guests enjoy being able to walk along a beach to get to their beach retreat. Logistics also mean that a magazine show home is not easily achieved at that location. We are therefore practical in what we provide as we have a younger family and know that the last thing we want to do is worry that either the children will create damage or that they might hurt themselves on hard highly polished surfaces or glass tables. We therefore aim for the practical, comfortable and most of all relaxation rather than the superficial fashionable magazine look. Most of our guests appreciate and enjoy the Ferry House because of this. Once again thank you for a fab review. Do come back!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
April B
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“View is amazing”
Reviewed 9 December 2015 for a stay in November 2015

Fantastic property even in November! There were only two of us, though, there are four bedrooms. From our bedroom window it almost looked tropical.
Also, there was a heated pool and hot tub which were fab even in the cold weather! The only passing traffic was boats... The beach is so close it's almost an extension of the garden.
The Ferry House was very warm and cosy (with a real fire!) even though we got the tail end of a hurricane at one point!!
Our bed was massive and so comfortable. All in all we had a great time and got quite fit with the brilliant walks round about. Would definitely recommend to anyone. Will also return. Thankyou Nicola

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Private and secluded.
Liked least: Bit of a trek to the car. But it does get one fit!!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 Dec 2015
Fab! We really appreciate having happy guests who get the most out of being at The Ferry House. We too love being on the beach during autumn and winter when it feels you have it all to yourself. Do return!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing