We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful and Delicious!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Shelburne Falls
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Dancing Bear Guesthouse
Hightstown, New Jersey
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful and Delicious!”
Reviewed 13 May 2011

Friendly, helpful, and interesting hosts who made us feel welcome the moment we arrived. A warm cozy house with clean, comfortable rooms, nicely decorated, and in a great location, just a few blocks from great restaurants and the other attractions of Shelburne Falls. Best of all, the breakfast was AMAZING! Unbelievably delicious, home recipes made from scratch, using fresh food from local farms . . . truly memorable!

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eitan51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

51 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    31
    11
    7
    1
    1
See reviews for
9
23
8
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Woodbury, NY
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 November 2010

Just came back from the Dancing Bear guesthouse, having traveled to the area for ziplining with Zoar Outdoor. Shelburne Falls is a wonderful little artsy town- and the Dancing Bear was the perfect home base to explore the area. The house itself has so much history and character, having been built in the mid-1800's. Our room with a little balcony was in walking distance to all on a quiet street- and the breakfast was out of this world! It was wonderful talking to our host, Philip, as he prepared the most amazing warm sticky buns, creative little egg terrines and fresh bread just for us. We loved it!!!

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aconlan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 6 Contributor
115 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 October 2010

Shelburne Falls is one of the most wonderful towns we stopped by in all of our trip around New England. While we were there we caught a movie at 'Pothole pictures' in the Townhall, gawped at the waterfall and Glacial potholes and strolled along the Bridge of Flowers in the sunshine. It was a charming and sweet way to spend an afternoon.

The Dancing Bear was a snug and cosy base for our stay. We stayed in the Blue Room which was small but had a great shower room and two single, comfortable beds. Breakfast was an absolute feast - mountains of fresh waffles with Maple syrup, juicy fruit and freshly baked bread - more than enough for a couple of gluttons! The innkeepers were kind and friendly and were happy to give us advice about our trip - wonderful.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hannypops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michigan
1 review
Reviewed 20 October 2010

We couldn't have been happier with our 'in-town' guesthouse/B & B. Our well traveled and very interesting host was informative about the area and the town; our breakfast were supplied in part from his family's organic farm; price was reasonable; and the other guests were enjoyable as well, from the U.S., Japan and Netherlands. It's an older house, smallish rooms, most bathrooms not ensuite; but if what you enjoy is sociability, good food, company and talk at breakfast, and your own personal trip advisor, the Dancing Bear is your perfect partner.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mlittleMichigan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Neots, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2010

We stayed at the Dancing Bear during our recent road trip around the whole of New England and we were really impressed with it. Set in the lovely town of Shelburne Falls, we arrived in the early evening and were greeted by the guesthouse owner. He was able to show us to our rooms and was more than happy to chat to us and also suggest which places in the town were best for eating. He was also able to tell us a bit about the town so we were able the following day to see the falls, the glacial potholes and the flower bridge.

We had two double rooms between our party of four which had a shared bathroom just across the corridor. The room was a little dated/quaint (depending on point of view) in terms of how it was furnished but there was plenty of space and the bed was extremely comfortable. The guesthouse also offers free wifi to guests, you just need to ask the owner for the password.

In the morning breakfast was served in an informal manner for all guests seated round a large table. We had contacted them before our trip and they were more than happy to go out of their way to provide a specially made gluten free dish for us whilst still providing a lovely meal for those who weren’t coeliacs sufferers.

If we were touring the area again I would happily stay here again as it had a very pleasant, homely feel and the rate was not too bad, especially considering we were travelling during the foliage season.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravGlutenFree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shelburne Falls
9.6 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Greenfield
12.6 km away
Deerfield Inn
Deerfield Inn
#1 of 1 in Deerfield
817 reviews
32.9 km away
The Porches Inn at MASS MoCA
The Porches Inn at MASS MoCA
#1 of 3 in North Adams
628 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
32.5 km away
Holiday Inn Berkshires
Holiday Inn Berkshires
#2 of 3 in North Adams
214 reviews
17.8 km away
Red Roof PLUS+ South Deerfield
Red Roof PLUS+ South Deerfield
#1 of 1 in South Deerfield
467 reviews
12.0 km away
Brandt House
Brandt House
#2 of 5 in Greenfield
147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dancing Bear Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dancing Bear Guesthouse

Property: Dancing Bear Guesthouse
Address: 22 Mechanic St, Shelburne Falls, MA 01370-1214
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Shelburne Falls
Amenities:
Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Shelburne Falls
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Dancing Bear Guest House is a clean, comfortable bed and breakfast well-known for its excellent breakfasts which the hosts strive to source from local farms; its clean, comfortable bedrooms with high quality natural-fiber sheets, quilts, and blankets; its excellent, walking-distance location to the village center; and last-but-not-least the personal and knowledgeable care and attention of hosts, Philip and Edith. All rooms have private baths, air-conditioning, and free Wi-Fi. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing