We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely cosy place to stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Addison Choate Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Rockport
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Addison Choate Inn
Ranked #6 of 25 Rockport B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Lovely cosy place to stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 October 2011

This is a delightful B&B. It has character and charm and is very comfortable and spotlessly clean. The lounge is delightful and the location is perfect.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TheOrchards
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

86 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    73
    13
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
5
58
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
watford
Level Contributor
29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2011

We spent a lovely two nights in this small inn in pretty Rockport. The room was comfortable and spotless, and also very pretty. Breakfast was a highlight - absolutely delicious. It was also lovely to return late in the afternoon to find a jug of iced tea and cookies waiting for us. The inn is located close to the centre of town, so it is easy to walk down to the many restaurants and lovely views at the centre.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gottagotoitaly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Green Bay, WI
Level Contributor
351 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 199 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2011

The owner and hostess of this Inn is Jan, a very friendly and informative innkeeper. Her attention to detail is spot on, from the cloth napkins to different cut-up fruit and hot entree every morning. Several selections were even organic. Loved that, Jan!

We were lucky enough to stay in two rooms and i say that, because each were different, but so nice. Lucy's room had a very comfortable bed, spacious bedroom and comfortable bath with long counter for toiletries. Wonderful window to let in morning sun, wood floors, crisp sheets, fluffly towels, refrigerator, and clean, so clean. Margot's room was the same, except for more windows, a little larger bedroom, a TV, a little smaller bathroom and again, so clean. Loved both rooms.

In the morning, we could get up at any time to get coffee on the Keurig machine which delivered delicious hot coffee. Plenty of room in the Inn to walk around and also a TV in the den for morning news.

We stayed 5 nights and never had the same breakfast twice, even tho, I wouldn't have minded . Every morning the breakfast was as tasty as the next.
Jan also had great suggestions for restaurants. She was correct about all of them. We especially liked when she sent us to East Gloucester to The Rudder. She let us know that we should go early to drive around the area to see the great achitecture and shore line and it was beautiful.

All in all, Jan made our 5 days in Cape Ann perfect. Her Inn is roomy, homey, comfortable and in a great location to walk downtown. All this and historic, to boot. Thanks, Jan.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TennisgalGreenBay_WI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcester, Massachusetts
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2011

We stayed in the Crow's Nest and had friends staying in two other rooms at the Inn. Rockport was fun and we had a great time, but the highlight was definitely the Inn itself. The special attention to details -- fluffy white robes in the rooms for you to use, complimentary cookies in the afternoon and port in the evenings -- as well as the excellent breakfasts provided and the beauty and comfort of the rooms themselves made this weekend a much needed romantic and stress relieving get-away.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dawnodead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
salem, ma
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2011

Our expectations were truly exceeded! We chose Addison Choate based on their website information and Trip Advisor reviews. Frankly, the photos don't do the Inn justice, and while it's prior Trip Advisor reviews are certainly excellent, our experience was both wonderful and memorable.

Our room was well appointed with plush linens and period-furnishings, and our bed was extremely comfortable. All the rooms have private baths and AC - which we used as it ended up being quite hot and humid. Our closet had plush bathrobes, and the bath linens were pristine, soft and fluffy.

The Innkeeper, Jan, was friendly, helpful and made us feel right at home. She offered excellent suggestions for places for dinner and things to see, and as well, gave us a tour of the common areas (TV room, fireplace and piano area), and suggested we enjoy them, including a complementary port.

We were quite comfortable during our stay in that we had the perfect amount of interraction vs alone-time. Inns are typically larger with private baths and more privacy/less personal interaction, and B & Bs tend to be smaller often with shared baths and more personalized service/less privacy. Jan was super helpful, had great suggestions, and provided multiple methods of contacting her at whatever time, if we had questions or needed anything. At the same time it was our anniversary and we had all the privacy we wanted/needed. I guess you could say the Addison Choate provide the best of both the B & B vs Inn worlds in one package.

Breakfast consisted of a hand-made, yummy hot entree (one was a particularly delicious frittata-esque egg dish with spinach and guerre), plus an assortment of fresh fruits, cereals, yogurt, and breads for toasting. Keurig coffee service was provided as well as hot water for tea, and fresh juice selections. We ate outdoors at one of the little wicker tables on the porch, which is bordered by well-tended flower beds and boxes. The grounds are quite beautiful, and eating outdoors is a great way to start the day.

Our stay at the Addison Choate Inn in Rockport was over Memorial Day weekend, and parking was at a premium. The Inn has it's own small parking area on-site, and is located within a short 1/4 mile walk to the downtown/Bearskin Neck area with its shops and restaurants.

We'll definitely stat at Addison Choate the next time we need a Rockport fix, which hopefully won't be too far in the future.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bluemaitai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rockport
0.8 km away
Rockport Inn and Suites
Rockport Inn and Suites
#3 of 6 in Rockport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 496 reviews
0.8 km away
Bearskin Neck Motor Lodge
6.3 km away
Beauport Hotel
Beauport Hotel
#3 of 7 in Gloucester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 km away
The Seafarer Inn
The Seafarer Inn
#1 of 25 in Rockport
5.0 of 5 bubbles 184 reviews
0.8 km away
Seven South Street Inn
Seven South Street Inn
#2 of 25 in Rockport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 263 reviews
0.3 km away
The Tuck Inn B&B
The Tuck Inn B&B
#5 of 25 in Rockport
5.0 of 5 bubbles 199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Addison Choate Inn? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Addison Choate Inn

Property: Addison Choate Inn
Address: 49 Broadway, Rockport, MA 01966-1527
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Ann > Rockport
Amenities:
Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in Rockport
Price range (per night): ₹ 4,692 - ₹ 8,714
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Addison Choate Inn provides the perfect retreat from the hectic pace of everyday life. We are located just a block and a half from the center of Rockport's historic seaside village, which is a reminder of times gone by with its quaint shops, lovely beaches, art galleries, eclectic restaurants, and seaside band concerts. Also, the Shalin Liu Performance Center is only steps alway from the Inn. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing