We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great view, but...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Quarterdeck Inn by the Sea
Ranked #11 of 25 Rockport B&B and Inns
Minneapolis
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great view, but...”
Reviewed 17 April 2012

The view was 5-stars and the inn keeper was great. The problem was the accommodations. The furniture was in rough shape as was the carpet and the bathrooms. When we got there we realized that the room that we reserved wasn't up to snuff. The inn keeper was nice enough to split the upgrade with us, but the room we upgraded to ended up having water damage the next day. The breakfast was off site and terrible. Pass on it. We loved the view and the inn keeper was super helpful and friendly, but there are just better places to stay.

Room Tip: Do not get any of the small rooms. If you chose to stay here, I would suggest upgrading to one of th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EdElGrr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

140 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    92
    28
    15
    3
    2
See reviews for
10
103
4
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Kingston
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2012

One thing you buy at this hotel is the view, which is sadly not what you get. It could be nice, but the picture window of our room was a thermal pane window and it had a leak in it causing the view to be blurred due to condensation between the panes of glass. Additionally, the air conditioner made lots of noise (bad fan bearing, I suspect), and the floors creaked. Poor sound insulation from the floor above who had a tyke in it doing speed laps. Annoying. For the money, look elsewhere. Bad maintenance equals bad experience.

Room Tip: Look elsewhere.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Rick S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Strasburg, Pennsylvania, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 April 2012

My husband and I stayed there and it was so relaxing just to hear the sounds of the ocean breaking on the coast. The room was so nice and it was immaculate. The owners were so helpful especialy when it's your first time there. Wouldn't think twice about going back-and would refer it to anyone-it was just wonderful-thank you so much for the courteous way you treated us-we are from a tourist area and we know how hard it is to get around when you don't know the area.

Room Tip: They are all good
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Barb Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dover, PA
Level Contributor
32 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2012

My husband and I stopped over on a Friday evening on our way from PA to Bar Harbor Maine for a one night stay at this beautiful Inn in the Donald McKay room on the lower level. It is different that some Inns, in that while there is breakfast you do have to leave the premises and go to another location to eat it. However, that is a small point in the grand scheme of things. My husband and I were totally fine with taking a trek for breakfast as we wanted to see some other sights anyway. However, it was hard to tear ourselves away from the Unbelievable view and welcome surrounding of our lovely room. The owner Randy was accommodating and friendly. The shower was dreamy. The view was breathtaking. The furnishings were homey, but elegant and Very inviting. The bed was big and comfortable. All in all, we truly had a lovely night and morning and very much look forward to returning on the future.

Room Tip: The Donald McKay is WELL worth extra money for the Superior view and space.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Linnaya G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
144 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2012

We always want—and can almost never find—rooms with large windows
overlooking the sea. Quarterdeck has them. We were there during one of 2012’s rare snow storms. Randy was very cordial and welcoming. We had a room on the first floor and loved it. The view of the sea with waves pounding the shore, snow covering the grounds and the rocks, provided us with a splendid winter scene. We loved it.

The room was large with a very comfortable bed and a sizable bathroom, and we had a very comfortable night. We drove into Rockport to go to Shalin Liu, the beautiful music center, and then to dinner at the Emerson Inn. We drove into Salem for a delicious breakfast.

We will definitely return to this inn when we next go to Shalin Liu. A delightful
combination of music and the sea. We returned feeling very relaxed and happy and, perhaps, because of the sea, which we love, a feeling that we had a real vacation—even though it was just one night.

Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Auroraam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rockport
2.4 km away
Rockport Inn and Suites
Rockport Inn and Suites
#3 of 6 in Rockport
502 reviews
0.9 km away
Emerson Inn
Emerson Inn
#4 of 6 in Rockport
322 reviews
7.8 km away
Beauport Hotel
Beauport Hotel
#3 of 7 in Gloucester
165 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.2 km away
Atlantis Oceanfront Inn
Atlantis Oceanfront Inn
#1 of 7 in Gloucester
362 reviews
2.4 km away
The Seafarer Inn
The Seafarer Inn
#1 of 25 in Rockport
189 reviews
0.1 km away
Yankee Clipper Inn
Yankee Clipper Inn
#8 of 25 in Rockport
218 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Quarterdeck Inn by the Sea? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Quarterdeck Inn by the Sea

Property: The Quarterdeck Inn by the Sea
Address: 123 Granite St, Rockport, MA 01966-1245
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Ann > Rockport
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in Rockport
Price range (per night): ₹ 11,400 - ₹ 19,821
Hotel Class:2 star — The Quarterdeck Inn by the Sea 2*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your The Quarterdeck Inn by the Sea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing