We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“never again.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Harbor Hotel Provincetown
Ranked #7 of 15 Hotels in Provincetown
Certificate of Excellence
Fall River, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“never again.”
Reviewed 27 January 2012

Maybe we went at a bad time; but it was far from a 4/5 star during our visit. Of course being January, we figured no pool.. but we expected at least a nice get away. First, as we was checking in, we got a serious dirty look from an older gentleman behind the counter, for a good 5 mins of staring us down. We go to our first floor room, and it was like walking threw a dorm. We open the curtains and had a beautiful view of a fence.. we headed back up front to ask for another room with a better view, figuring we might be lucky and get a room facing the water.. yeah.. no.. that building is closed during the winter so "the pipes won't freeze".. also mentioning we was guaranteed a balcony the response we got was "cement patio.. balcony.. same thing". We then proceeded to our "new" room at the back of the second building on the second floor.. while unpacking our things, I happen to place my hand in a brown sticky substance, stains all over the carpets, the bathroom was very small, the bathmat disgusting. I turned over the blankets and there was hair on the sheets, we slept on top of the blankets. We ate at a local restaurant thinking, if this is how clean the rooms were.. we could only imagine the kitchen. The atmosphere felt dirty, dark, vacant, creepy and ghetto, off-season or not, there's no excuse for poor cleanliness. The location was very convenient though. Other than that I would not suggest this hotel to anyone, might be a better atmosphere and view in the summer, but i'm sure their cleaning habits are the same year round.

Room Tip: I bet the rooms in the front have a nice sunset view..
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Ashley B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HarborHotel, General Manager at Harbor Hotel Provincetown, responded to this review, 30 January 2012
We couldn’t have been more disappointed than learning of your impression of our hotel and accommodations. Understandably, switching rooms can be inconvenient, but we never expect our guests to stay in a room that does not meet their expectations. We would have been more than happy at the time of your stay to assist you in finding the perfect room to suit your needs ensuring that your getaway was enjoyable. Your comments will be shared with all departments to re-emphasize the high standards we have in place in regards to customer service and attention to detail. This is certainly not the experience we hope to offer our guests, regardless of what time of year it is. Thank you for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,004 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    395
    326
    178
    58
    47
See reviews for
301
379
28
26
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (247)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2012

We pre-purchased the room through Expedia, and thought the rooms looked great judging by the pictures. Turns out those rooms are in the lake-view building which is closed during low-season. We were put in a room in the back building on the ground floor, which made it convenient for parking. Room itself had new beds and furnishings but the bathroom was the furthest thing from *renovated*! Besides an ant infestation around the toilet, the taps were scratched and worn out, the walls were peeling in the corners and the floors and bathtub were dirty with short curly stray hairs lying around.
Breakfast was sad..a couple of small boxes of cereal and some toast. No pastries, no fruit, and only styrofoam cups for the coffee/tea. Front desk staff were always friendly and available.

Room Tip: If you want a room facing the water, come here during the summer!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank yvy-s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HarborHotel, General Manager at Harbor Hotel Provincetown, responded to this review, 11 January 2012
While we’re glad to see our staff provided the personalized service we strive to give to every guest, it is disappointing to learn that your accommodations and our continental breakfast did not live up to your expectations. Even with it being a slower time of year, we try to make sure that what seasonal fruit is available is shared with our guests at our continental breakfast. Some of our guests have mentioned the bathrooms at the Harbor Hotel Provincetown and we heard you! Throughout this winter, the bathrooms in all guestrooms will undergo renovations. Should you experience any issues during your stay, we encourage you to share it with us so we can address the situation immediately. Please come and stay with us again, where we can have another opportunity to fully impress you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Bedford, Massachusetts
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 January 2012

I came down to the cape to visit a friend I haven't seen in years, I was already pretty happy about finding a long lost friend, and I was even happier when I stayed here, the staff was very professional and the hotel was very nice and cozy. The room was in excellent condition and well laid out and i got to sample some of the cuisine which in my opinion is 5 star and superior to the local restaraunts and then some which was a nice added surprise. I had checked out other hotels in the area but was not as impressed as I was with this establishment, the hotel staff was nothing but courteous and polite, not something I felt while looking at other places. If you are going to the Cape and in Provincetown area and need a few nights to stay, I would recommend this place above all the others to anyone. Top Notch and affordable at the same time, very impressed.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelGuy60913
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HarborHotel, General Manager at Harbor Hotel Provincetown, responded to this review, 16 January 2012
We appreciate your amazing review of the Harbor Hotel Provincetown. It is wonderful to hear you were on the Cape to reconnect with a friend! How kind of you to refer to our staff, rooms and restaurants as top notch. We strive to provide our guests with the ultimate Cape experience and certainly hope to welcome you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2012

My husband and I needed a room for one night on New Year's Eve - most hotels in town wanted a mininum of 2 or more nights so we decided to try the Harbor Hotel. We did this with some trepidation since this spot was once the Cape Inn and in need of major repairs (think scary).
What a nice surprise when we checked in - a rehabbed lobby and a pleasant greeting by the front desk clerk. We stayed in an upstairs room in the back (limited rooms available during winter) and were again very pleasantly surprised by a clean bright room that had been renovated from top to bottom. Nothing fancy - but simple furnishings with a fridge and flat screen TV included - and very comfortable bed.
We had breakfast the next morning and again were surprised by the nice sunny dining area and a typical continental breakfast (included with room - extra charge for hot entrees).
Highly recommend this spot for a budget stay - a bit out off the beaten track on the far east end but easy access to downtown, etc, about 1 mile away.

Room Tip: During the summer months the rooms facing the water get a great sunrise. Rooms in back would be qui...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank beachbobe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HarborHotel, General Manager at Harbor Hotel Provincetown, responded to this review, 3 January 2012
How wonderful that your New Year’s Eve journey led you to us and you had the opportunity to experience the new, refreshed Harbor Hotel Provincetown for yourself. When the warmer weather arrives, a favorite treat of many of our guests is riding one of our complimentary bicycles into town or taking the shuttle. We hope to welcome you back very soon and hope it’s for a longer stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 December 2011

The room we stayed in was facing the bay. The room was brightly colored and clean. The staff was friendly and helpful. They loved my mom and she got a lot of hugs from the staff when we were leaving. The food was OK. My favorite part was the fire pit in the front. There were people there at all hours of the night, chatting and laughing. You can tell that when they updated the rooms, they forgot the bathrooms! But they were still workable. I loved it, I would stay here again, and I recommend it to my friends!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ipushufall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HarborHotel, General Manager at Harbor Hotel Provincetown, responded to this review, 3 January 2012
How wonderful that your mom made such a lasting impression on our staff! We thank you for noticing our recent remodel of the Harbor Hotel Provincetown and wanted to let you know that the guestroom baths are on our list for improvements as part of our ongoing refresh program. We can’t wait to welcome you and your mom back for another great stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Provincetown
1.1 km away
Surfside Hotel & Suites
Surfside Hotel & Suites
#5 of 15 in Provincetown
894 reviews
3.9 km away
Provincetown Inn Resort & Conference Center
2.7 km away
Crowne Pointe Historic Inn & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 km away
Sandcastle Resort
Sandcastle Resort
#14 of 15 in Provincetown
237 reviews
33.4 km away
The Mansion at Ocean Edge Resort & Golf Club
3.7 km away
Land's End Inn
Land's End Inn
#1 of 15 in Provincetown
646 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harbor Hotel Provincetown? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harbor Hotel Provincetown

Property: Harbor Hotel Provincetown
Address: 698 Commercial St, Route 6A & Snail Road, Provincetown, MA 02657-1761 (Formerly The Cape Inn)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Cod > Provincetown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Provincetown
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Provincetown
Price range (per night): ₹ 8,024 - ₹ 30,684
Hotel Class:3 star — Harbor Hotel Provincetown 3*
Number of rooms: 129
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This contemporary hotel facing Provincetown Harbor is half a mile from the Cape Cod National Seashore and 1.5 miles from the Pilgrim Monument. Brightly decorated rooms and suites (some with water views) feature flat-screen TVs and free WiFi. Some connecting and pet-friendly rooms are also available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Booking.com so you can book your Harbor Hotel Provincetown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cape Hotel Provincetown
The Cape Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing