We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Charming” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Brass Key Guesthouse

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Brass Key Guesthouse
Ranked #7 of 14 Hotels in Provincetown
Certificate of Excellence
Canada
Level Contributor
123 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Charming”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2012

The Brass Key Guesthouse is as charming as its' owner! We arrived in Provincetown without a reservation in the early evening and chose this lovely guesthouse on a whim. What a good choice! The host was warm and welcoming and immediately took great care of us. The property itself is quite unique....several different buildings, all sharing a common courtyard with pools and hot tubs interspersed throughout. The room we had was a king room just across the courtyard from the main building. It had one of the most comfortable beds and pillows I have ever slept on! The decor was really lovely and had a fireplace. We couldn't have liked it more. Breakfast was included in the price of the room. A very nice display was waiting for us in the morning in the bright and comfortable breakfast room.
It's just a short walk to restaurants and shops on the strip.
Would definitely recommend this lovely guesthouse.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank welovetravelCanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
t1999, Manager at Brass Key Guesthouse, responded to this review, 26 February 2012
Thank you so much for staying with us and sharing your experience on this site
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

306 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    226
    58
    9
    5
    8
See reviews for
10
188
14
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New Bedford, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 December 2011

Not only beautiful view but the staff was very friendly! The pool and jacuzzi was a added benefit-having a poolside drink after a long day of walking the strip was fabulous! Although not cheap the accomodations were luxurious. We were very close to the strip but far enough to relax especially on the rooftop!!
The room we stood in was very comfortable and we loved the bed--we didnt want to get up in the morning!!
We had a great big shower and tub with big glass doors-very spacious!!

We will go back again!!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Wen A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
t1999, Manager at Brass Key Guesthouse, responded to this review, 12 January 2012
Thanks so much for sharing your experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 November 2011

Recently stayed in penthouse suite.

Wasn't cheap, but the view was stupendous. Worth the extra price. Literally a wall of windows overlooking unobstructed harbor views. Views from every single room, plus a private deck with the same views.

Half the weekend I just sat, drink in hand, watching the sunset or sunrise or activity on the water.

I will try to post a couple photos.

The suite itself was fine. Beautiful bath. The gas fireplace was a nice touch.

The only downside was the carpet. Old and worn out. For these rates I'd think new carpet would be more than justified.

Also there's a variety of heating and cooling sources in the room. Worth your while to make sure when they show you to your room that they explain this to you.

In particular, there are a ton of baseboard heaters that can act as backup to the wall-mounted heat systems. It took us forever to figure out that the one in the dining room was still on and that was causing us to get really hot.

I'd also suggest replacing the old dorm-style fridge. It ran constantly, which can be annoying if you are trying to nap or sleep on the couch. Otherwise the kitchen was about perfect for what you need for a short stay.

But overall, really, this one is about the view.

Service was terrific. Staff was friendly and professional. Kept running into one particularly friendly staff guy. Think his name was Ken. Very helpful.

The grounds really were terrific. Great pool, great hot tub. And the onsite bar is really a perfect spot to have a nice civilized drink. Seems to be a hangout for locals, which is always a good sign. And they aren't stingy with a drink pour...

Checkout was a breeze, which isn't always the case in places like this.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SpartanJoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
t1999, Manager at Brass Key Guesthouse, responded to this review, 12 January 2012
Thanks for the review and feedback! We have already made some of your suggestions come true!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Niagara
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 October 2011

This is a perfect place to stay while in Provincetown. The hotel is beautiful, our room was immaculate, breakfast was fabulous. The location is perfect and within easy walking distance of all the action on Commercial street. Everyone we came in contact with at the hotel was great. We can't wait to return and would recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank whomeno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
t1999, General Manager at Brass Key Guesthouse, responded to this review, 28 October 2011
Thanks so much for sharing your experience!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 October 2011

The Brass Key is a mixed bag.

My girlfriend and I stayed at the Brass Key this week. We had a Groupon. It took several tries to get through to someone to make a reservation. We also purchased a package for two massages and a dinner. When we arrived, we were given vouchers for $25 against a massage and $30 towards dinner. After getting a surprise charge for dinner (we got the $30 discount, not the full dinner we'd purchased), we brought this to the attention of the staff. Evidently they had not recorded our purchase of the package. However, they did get it set up after that, and we did get our massages and dinner.

The room was rather small, but the enormous deck made up for it. The king size bed was terrific, as was the big whirlpool tub. The heat/air conditioning system was somewhat non-straightforward, but we figured it out eventually.

Wallpaper was coming off the wall in one corner and there was a broken slat in the blinds in the bathroom that had been repaired with packing tape.

Service was... desultory. The staff were polite, but attention to detail and a customer-focused attitude were lacking.

In all, the experience was good, but not great. The great is distinguished by those sorts of details. Unfortunately, at the Brass Key, you pay for great, but you only get good. I think for what we paid for the Groupon, it was worth it, but if I'd been paying full price, it wouldn't have.

Room Tip: Look at their website and the pictures. Ask for a specific room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JoeMBoston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
t1999, General Manager at Brass Key Guesthouse, responded to this review, 28 October 2011
What this guest is upset about is that they purchased a Groupon package which is 225 and includes a $30 meal credit and a $25 Spa credit. She called and emailed in advance to have the two credits deducted from her room bill and not as credits in other areas of the business. Making her total for the two nights $170 - including breakfast and wine and cheese dails. The rooms are heavily discounted on the Groupon in the hopes that the guests might spend money in other areas. The credits cannot be applied agains room charges. That upset her before she even arrived and there was no recovery.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Provincetown
0.3 km away
The Provincetown Hotel at Gabriel's
0.1 km away
Crowne Pointe Historic Inn & Spa
2.7 km away
Harbor Hotel Provincetown
Harbor Hotel Provincetown
#4 of 14 in Provincetown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 850 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 km away
Surfside Hotel & Suites
Surfside Hotel & Suites
#3 of 14 in Provincetown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 806 reviews
1.4 km away
Provincetown Inn Resort & Conference Center
32.8 km away
The Mansion at Ocean Edge Resort & Golf Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brass Key Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brass Key Guesthouse

Property: Brass Key Guesthouse
Address: 67 Bradford St., Provincetown, MA 02657
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Cod > Provincetown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 14 Hotels in Provincetown
Price range (per night): ₹ 11,453 - ₹ 27,880
Hotel Class:4 star — Brass Key Guesthouse 4*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover a premier Provincetown inn, only a minute's walk to all the action on Commercial Street. Our B&B in Provincetown features extraordinary rooms and suites, a gracious staff, spa services, breakfast, wine social & so much more. 9 historically detailed buildings enclose the terraced courtyard, boasting a heated infinity pool, cabana and English garden, that rivals all other Provincetown hotels. Our Cape Cod bed and breakfast now features the new Shipwreck Lounge open for drinks daily. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Brass Key Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brass Key Guesthouse Hotel Provincetown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing