We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“2nd try - never again”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Provincetown Hotel at Gabriel's
Ranked #2 of 15 Hotels in Provincetown
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 10 August 2012

Stayed here 3 years ago, had a so so experience. Decided to try again this year in a nicer room, the "Susan".
I'll start with the positives. The location of this Inn is great. It's right in the center of town next to the Pilgrim monument and park. The grounds of the property are charming. They also offer a very nice full breakfast at no extra charge and the staff in the kitchen were so friendly and accommodating. Our room was very spacious.

I'll end with the negatives. Upon check-in, after a few minutes we were greeted by a young man, maybe 17 or 18 years of age. I believe he is the son of the owner. He at first was pleasant enough until we asked for our parking permit to place on the car dashboard. He proceeded to argue with us that he had given it to us, he had not but insisted that he did and we should check our pockets, after just short of calling us liars he went back inside to produce one for us. At this point we looked at it and realized( without being told )they have changed the location of provided parking. It is now further away than the last time we stayed which at that time was around the corner and up the hill. It is a hassle every time you want to drive somewhere. At this point the young man helped us carry in a few bags and led us to our room. Once inside we were not informed of anything in the room, anything regarding the property, really nothing at all. We did ask him how to turn on the air conditioner that was inserted in the wall over a sleeper sofa; he proceeded to climb on the sofa with his shoes on and turned it on. We later found a remote control for it! While he was in the room I showed him that the heat control was set on 90 degrees. He accused me of setting it to 90 degrees, I said I found it like that to which he replied "I think not! " I refrained from losing my temper because obviously he clearly is put in a position that he does not belong in especially during the peak tourist season.

On to housekeeping; upon arrival the floor in the main section of our room was dirty, had to wear socks because my feet were getting dirty and noticed that on the bathroom floor two pieces of tissue that had fallen early in the week remained there for the duration of our stay. I had to clean dirt off of the refrigerator, off of the top of the clothes washer and off of some window sills. Tried to use the clothes dryer but it sounded like it was going to explode and we thought the noise might disturb other guests so we stopped. We also found our door left unlocked twice after housekeeping had been there, we brought it to the attention of one of the housekeepers after the first instance and were told that it must have been one of the young housekeepers that did it, pretty disturbing considering there was no safe in the room. They did change towels daily.

We did not use the tables and chairs outside of our room because they looked like they have not been cleaned in a while. Dirt on the table and dead leaves and cob webs everywhere. While the outside property is charming I believe it would be more enjoyable if someone hosed everything down once a day and swept all of the loose stones on the walkways back where they belong.
We tried to get an itemized bill for our stay when leaving and were told by the same young man behind the front desk that we had been dealing with that he could not help us and that his mother would have to e-mail it to us. I prefer to see what I am being charged for before I leave! It sometimes felt as if there was noone in charge here. In closing I want to say this property may be fine for others but based on how much we paid to stay in the "Susan" our expectations of service, amenities and cleanliness were not met. We won't be returning.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank DonnaS5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
egb102, Owner at The Provincetown Hotel at Gabriel's, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2012

Dear Donna, We are very sorry that your experience at Gabriel’s was less than stellar. We are a small family run business and we take every disappointment to heart. It is hard not to do that when Gabriel’s is the place we have spent 35 years building and calling home.

Our son, Christopher, is learning how to take care of guests and if his manner seemed abrupt, I sincerely apologize. He is working hard to be helpful to all. Young people with Autism have no filters and where he might have thought he was giving you information, you heard it as an argument. It was not meant to offend you. He takes his job seriously and truly wants to please. Honestly, your complaint is the first we have heard about Christopher. In contrast, he has made many positive connections with guests who keep in touch with him year round especially when it comes to a mutual love of movies or sports!

In regards to the parking we provide, we have measured the distance from the inn and it is the same as when we had guests parking up at the Monument which is also up a hill. The current lot is attended and is a 5 minute walk away. Parking is an option at Gabriel’s, not a requirement, and a guest can alternatively choose to park on the street or in the nearby public lots. We only offer parking as a convenience as there is limited parking downtown in Provincetown. Many guests do not use their car once they have arrived as we are so close to everything and they often opt to walk or rent a bike.

As to the thermostat in your room that was set to 90 degrees. During the summer months, when the temperature is often 80 degrees or above, the fireplaces, that are controlled by the thermostat that you mention, are turned off so it does not matter what the setting is as it is non functioning.

Our housekeepers cried when they read your criticism about the room. They take a huge amount of pride in having the rooms spotlessly cleaned. I inspected the room myself after reading this review and was puzzled as to what you found. Regardless, we ripped the room apart over several hours in response to your comments and cleaned it twice from top to bottom. The deck has been stripped, bleached and sealed.

For the security of our guests, all finances relating to your stay are handled only by us, the owners, in our back office. When you make a reservation, the cost of your room is itemized and totaled. This complete information is sent to you in your email confirmation before you arrive. Balances are also clearly stated. We are always available to answer any questions about charges if the confirmation you received in email was not clear. We are on the property at all times. We live here.

In closing, we only wish wish wish you had brought all of these issues to our attention while you were here so we could have had the opportunity to explain or remedy the concerns. We only want to correct deficiencies if they exist. We only want you to be happy. I am sorry that we failed you and trust you will have a better experience the next time you come to Provincetown. Sincerely, Elizabeth, innkeeper

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (585)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

395 - 399 of 585 reviews

Reviewed 2 August 2012

My family and I had a wonderful stay here. The four of us could not have asked for a better location. We thoroughly enjoyed the breakfast and good conversation with the guests and owner. We will definitly return as the accomodations were perfect for my wife and I and my two sons, 9 and 11. The room was clean and comfortable. The chef and staff for breakfast were delightful and attentive to any requests we had. We loved Provincetown and will stay here again!

Room Tip: The Susan room was superb!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Tony K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elizabeth B, Public Relations Manager at The Provincetown Hotel at Gabriel's, responded to this reviewResponded 13 May 2016

Thank you kindly for a warm review.
You yourself are welcome to come stay at our centrally-located Provincetown Hotel at Gabriel's at any time of the year - you will find quiet and relaxation at the very center of town here. We are looking forward to welcoming you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2012

I booked Gabriel's for 8 days for the week of 4th of July, 2012 after doing extensive research on the many B&B properties available in Ptown, research that took me almost a week, there are many options from the very luxurious to the most basic. I chose them was because from the very few pet friendly establishments there, this seemed to be the nicest, best located, and the one that best represented the quaint feel and mood of the town, I wanted our hotel to be part of the experience since this was our first trip there, and our first trip to the shores of New England/Cape Cod.
We had an unforgettable vacation, fell in love with Ptown and it will become a yearly destination for us, but a big part of it was the fact that we stayed at Gabriel's. It is set in beautiful gardens but right in the middle of town, a block away from Commercial St, we rented bikes to go to the beaches and to the gym, but we did everything else walking, Ptown is one of the most beautiful towns in North America, and it's set in a breathtaking landscape. Gabriel's location made it easy to reach shopping and restaurants within walking distance.
Aside from that, their tailored service begins the moment you book, you get a phone call asking about details of your trip and help you with tips and planning in advance; since they serve a full gourmet breakfast, they may also ask about any special dietary needs. And the breakfast is top notch, aside from Continental options, there's a cook that prepares a small assortment of dishes that change every day. Breads and pastries are always fresh, great coffee, fresh fruit and a variety of small details that speak to the level of attention the owners put into every aspect of hosting. Another important aspect that made it special was the love and care demonstrated to our pet Franco, there are dogs in the property that belong to the owners, they know how special pets are to people.
Gabriel's offers different sized rooms and studios at different rates, overall it was not inexpensive to book a studio for 2 of us plus a small pet, however it was worth every penny, it surpassed all our expectations. We plan to go back soon, if not during the remainder of the summer this year, certainly in the Fall, we saw many pictures of the town and landscape in Fall and Winter and realized Ptown is a great destination all year round. Chances are we will return many times to Gabriel's whether we do a long weekend or a week vacation.

Room Tip: We were suggested "Colette", a studio apartment with a small kitchenette area situated all...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank HRHalac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elizabeth B, Public Relations Manager at The Provincetown Hotel at Gabriel's, responded to this reviewResponded 13 May 2016

Thank you kindly for a warm review.
You yourself are welcome to come stay at our centrally-located Provincetown Hotel at Gabriel's at any time of the year - you will find quiet and relaxation at the very center of town here. We are looking forward to welcoming you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2012

Everything about Gabriel's was wonderful. The room was lovely, clean and comfortable. The shower was spectacular, the bed comfy. And breakfast went well beyond just pastries (though they had those too). I would have been happy to stay even longer!

Room Tip: The Willow was a perfect room for 3 with a king size bed and a single chaise lounge that pulls out i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Linda C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elizabeth B, Public Relations Manager at The Provincetown Hotel at Gabriel's, responded to this reviewResponded 13 May 2016

Thank you kindly for a warm review.
You yourself are welcome to come stay at our centrally-located Provincetown Hotel at Gabriel's at any time of the year - you will find quiet and relaxation at the very center of town here. We are looking forward to welcoming you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2012

Amazing experience every time we go. From the moment we get there and Christopher helps us carry our bags, to the gorgeous, clean rooms and beautiful garden. Waking up to the the smells of the most wonderful breakfast cooked by their very own chef.. Its located central to everything in town.. There is no other place in Provincetown that can even come close.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Obpd217
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elizabeth B, Public Relations Manager at The Provincetown Hotel at Gabriel's, responded to this reviewResponded 13 May 2016

Thank you kindly for a warm review.
You yourself are welcome to come stay at our centrally-located Provincetown Hotel at Gabriel's at any time of the year - you will find quiet and relaxation at the very center of town here. We are looking forward to welcoming you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Provincetown hotels
1.4 km away
Land's End Inn
Land's End Inn
#1 of 15 in Provincetown
695 reviews
0.2 km away
Crowne Pointe Historic Inn & Spa
2.5 km away
Harbor Hotel Provincetown
Harbor Hotel Provincetown
#6 of 15 in Provincetown
1,119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 km away
Surfside Hotel & Suites
Surfside Hotel & Suites
#5 of 15 in Provincetown
926 reviews
0.3 km away
Brass Key Guesthouse
Brass Key Guesthouse
#9 of 15 in Provincetown
334 reviews
1.6 km away
Provincetown Inn Resort & Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Provincetown Hotel at Gabriel's? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Provincetown Hotel at Gabriel's

Address: 102 Bradford St, Provincetown, MA 02657-1427
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Cod > Provincetown
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Provincetown
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Provincetown
#3 Business Hotel in Provincetown
#3 Green Hotel in Provincetown
Price Range: ₹ 8,780 - ₹ 19,995 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Provincetown Hotel at Gabriel's 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Open since 1979 and ideally located in the heart of beautiful Provincetown. Our historic hotel features 7 luxurious rooms, 1 suite and 8 spacious apartment units. In-room amenities include tempurpedic mattresses, private balconies, fireplaces, jacuzzi tubs, steam baths, free Wi-Fi, TV's, DVD players, wet bar, and Keurig coffee makers.Guests delight in our complimentary made to order breakfast, served daily in the Great Room or our lush garden courtyard patio. Enjoy homemade cookies and refreshments every afternoon. Children and pets are always welcome for an additional charge. Private nearby parking is available for $10 daily and we offer a free shuttle service from the Provincetown Airport or the Pier.Come experience our first class property and service today! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your The Provincetown Hotel at Gabriel's reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gabriel`s At The Ashbrooke Hotel Provincetown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing