We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bait and Switch - Use Caution on Pricing.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Surfside Hotel & Suites
Ranked #5 of 15 Hotels in Provincetown
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 April 2012

I was interested in staying at the Surfside Hotel during an upcoming visit. I researched the costs associated with all the major suppliers including right here on TripAdvisor. I found rooms for $85 a night while I was there. Not a bad rate. Then I went to the hotel's website where the surprise really occurred.

They were posting an $85 a night rate as well with a by one night get one night free offer. I attempted to make my reservation but was told it would be $190 with taxes for two nights. What happened to the $85 a night rate?

I contact the hotel management who told me their regular rate is $169 a night. Really? Because the rack rate on their website says $109 and no travel company came close to the $169 a night rate. I explained this and she stood by her numbers. So then I contacted the parent company who also stood by the numbers and their general manager.

This is a classic upsell to give the appearance of a discount rate. Except here, they got caught. Watch your wallets when dealing with this hotel. The parent company is Linchris Hotel Corporation. I gave them numerous opportunities to honor their advertised rate but they refused. Guess I'll be staying elsewhere when I visit Provincetown.

Room Tip: Watch your credit card and bill.
Stayed: April 2012, travelled solo
7  Thank Chris_G_2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surfside543, General Manager at Surfside Hotel & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 8 April 2012

I'm sorry you did not understand our breakdown of rate for the Buy One Get One Free - the rate is $169.99 plus tax for the first night the second night is free! We break this rate down to $84.99 plus tax per night when making the reservations for you, we are not trying to deceive anyone this is a great off season rate. We mail our this special to over 4,000 people who make their Spring Special reservations with us and understand the breakdown. I'm sorry you did not have the opportunity to stay with us in our newly remodeled hotel, I'm sure you would have enjoyed your stay with us as many do this time of year with our great specials and packages. We have been running this special for years with no complaints, everyone enjoys the off season rate with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (911)
There are newer reviews for Surfside Hotel & Suites
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

739 - 743 of 911 reviews

Reviewed 16 March 2012

Nice, clean n comfy rooms. They have two sections, one in on the beach, facing the water, and other is a bit on the inner side, towards the street. They offer complimentary breakfast which is really good!. They have private beach and a pool too. The parking is located behind the hotel, which is a bit crampy, especially during the weekends. They do not offer room service, and there is no onsite restaurant at this hotel. Location wise it is quite close to the center of the commercial street. Overall a good stay. Always book here in advance as it is pretty much booked during weekends and peak seasons.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aqua_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surfside543, General Manager at Surfside Hotel & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 17 March 2012

Thank you for your great comments on Trip Advisor. I am happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. You will be happy to hear that we have made changes and added some parking spaces to the parking lot, much needed in July and August. We also remodeled the courtyard, added a firepit where we will serve drinks from our Lighthouse Bar in the evening. The rooms on the waterfront were also remodled this winter. Many great changes for the 2012 season.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2012

Great views of Cape Cod bay, awesome inn keepers and handicapped accessible (waterfront building rooms & suites). Would recommend for families or couples. TRUE New England experience.

Room Tip: New suites have wonderful decks w its own entrance to private, well kept beach.
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank deetesla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surfside543, General Manager at Surfside Hotel & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 18 February 2012

Thank you for your Trip Advisor review, we look forward to seeing you again this season. My employees love to hear about our guests experiences, I will post this for all employees to see when they return in April.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2012

do not expect to be pleasantly greeted, unless of course you are a regular or local. stayed at b&b's in past at P-town and will continue. plus was the pool, nice bed and nearby italian restaurant. beach front which is not cleaned or maintained by the hotel ... breakfast I went once, as being watched and monitored made for an uncomfortable experience. it is a hotel, nothing special.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DeAdventure2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 December 2011

In August last year we’ve made a great trip to Cape Cod for a week and had planned to stay in P-Town for a few days. We had a look in Tripadvisor and we picked up the Surfside Hotel & Suites, which had rave reviews. What a disappointment it was!

First the hotel is located outside of the city centre. It takes about a 15 min walk to reach the city centre.

Then the room was a disaster, dirty (squashed mosquitoes on the wallpaper, carpet appearance and color doubtful) outdated (bathroom with a constant smell, antiquated TV). The beds were really small - even for European standard - and there were holes in the covers…

If you’re looking for privacy, forget it. There are constant come and goes on the balconies.

The beach; the pinnacle of the dirt… The beach is small with some poor sun umbrellas spread out here and there. Algae are not removed. However if it is not a dream beach, it is… a beautiful dog urinal. Most of the guests took their dogs to pee or poop.

As for the breakfast, that was included in the price, it was limited to some toasts, bagels and do-it-yourself waffles from an industrial batter. The Orange juice is chemical and comes from a distributor. All the more this breakfast is an incredible environmental waste because everything is served on paper plates and plastic cutlery that inflate the waste dramatically. Everything is served in the lobby, next to the front desk. No charm, no privacy.

Finally, the pool is small and is of a doubtful cleanliness.

We have travelled extensively in the United States and we love to. This hotel (motel?) is certainly one of the worst we've ever experienced, especially considering the price we paid. It's outrageous.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank natie75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surfside543, General Manager at Surfside Hotel & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 20 December 2011

Thank you for your Trip Advisor Review - I'm sorry you did not have a good experience here at the Surfside - The good news is that we are in the process of redecorating all the waterfront rooms at the present time, getting them ready for the 2012 season. Our pool is probably the largest in Provincetown 30' by 60' and is cleaned every morning by our maintenance crew - I'm not sure if you went to the pool but it is always in great condition clear and clean, chemicals are checked four times a day. We do rake our beach and try to keep all the seaweed off the beach, with the tide coming and going every 12 hours and being on the bay at times there is come seaweed this is part of nature. The hotel is a 15 minute walk to the center of town, a nice stroll going through the art district, many of our guests enjoy this walk, there is also a shuttle bus to take you into town if you do not wish to walk. At breakfast time we do have a sitting area in our lounge for our guests to enjoy breakfast, this is located just past the lobby area, I wish you had enjoyed your breakfast, there is always a hot dish served, scrambled eggs, french toast and sausage are available each day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Provincetown
1.1 km away
Harbor Hotel Provincetown
Harbor Hotel Provincetown
#7 of 15 in Provincetown
1,055 reviews
33.3 km away
The Mansion at Ocean Edge Resort & Golf Club
1.6 km away
Crowne Pointe Historic Inn & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 km away
Sandcastle Resort
Sandcastle Resort
#14 of 15 in Provincetown
239 reviews
2.9 km away
Provincetown Inn Resort & Conference Center
2.7 km away
Land's End Inn
Land's End Inn
#1 of 15 in Provincetown
658 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Surfside Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Surfside Hotel & Suites

Address: 543 Commercial Street, Provincetown, MA 02657-1724
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Cod > Provincetown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Provincetown
#4 Business Hotel in Provincetown
#4 Family Hotel in Provincetown
#5 Romantic Hotel in Provincetown
Price Range: ₹ 11,114 - ₹ 16,446 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Surfside Hotel & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 88
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking Cape Cod Bay and Provincetown Harbor. Private beach, outdoor heated saline pool, complimentary breakfast, free WIFI, free parking. Courtyard with fire pit, bar service from our Lighthouse Bar. Easy walk to town, 3/4 of a mile through the art district. Pets welcome, pet treats, pet station and pet shower. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Surfside Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Surfside Hotel And Suites
Surfside Hotel Provincetown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing