We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Good value and location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Surfside Hotel & Suites

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Surfside Hotel & Suites
Ranked #3 of 14 Hotels in Provincetown
Certificate of Excellence
East Burke, Vermont
Level Contributor
40 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Good value and location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 October 2011

Being my first time to Cape Cod, I wanted a waterfront room, which are surprisingly scarce on Cape Cod until you get to the outer cape. We asked for a top floor room in the waterfront building, and had a nice view of the bay and Provincetown waterfront from our balcony. The room was not elegant, but decently clean and comfortable (except the pillows were a little too firm for my taste). The breakfast buffet also wasn't elegant, but perfectly adequate, with quite good coffee. The location is a little outside of "downtown" but close enough to easily walk to restaurants and tourist sites.

Our only complaint was that the bathtub-shower was quite narrow, and it was impossible to shower without the shower curtain clinging to you. A small investment by the owners in curved shower curtain rods would solve the problem nicely.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NEKVT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surfside543, General Manager at Surfside Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, 22 November 2011
Thank you for your Trip Advisor comments. Hope you will soon be a return guest, we will certainly take your shower recommendation into account when we are remodeling the waterfront rooms with winter. Come enjoy the new decor in 2012.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

806 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    408
    239
    102
    35
    22
See reviews for
202
358
28
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (290)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
staten island
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 October 2011

We have stayed at the Surfside at least 8 times or more.the staff is friendly and accomodating if you should have a concern.We did not have a dog when we first stayed here, but now we do and she loves it as much as we do. We go for breakfast wher a newspaper is waiting with fresh coffee and a selection of breakfast goodies.We have a waterfront room with a balcony,the view is the best in Provincetown! Elaine the manager is delightful to speak with and is sincerely interested in the customers needs, I have witnessed this while eating breakfast,sitting in the lobby.we love the pool.Dog friendly.we will be going back in the spring of 2012!

Room Tip: waterfront is the best but if you can't get that, the poolside is nice, we have stayed there ,to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank robyn3kids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surfside543, General Manager at Surfside Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, 22 November 2011
Thank you for your review on Trip Advisor. We know our pets enjoy Provincetown as much as our guests do. Always helpful to our guests are our pet station to keep the property clean and the pet shower to keep our pets clean after a swin in the bay. We love to hear feedback from our guests so that we may improve our property and guest services. Look forward to seeing you in the Spring of 2012.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malvern, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 October 2011

Nice hotel with clean pleasant room, decor a bit dated.Tea and coffee making facility,microwave and fridge in room.Drinks also available in lounge.We had an ocean view room with a terrace to sit on and beach chairs available.Rest of hotel is across the street with a good size pool.Continental Breakfast was included,very good.
Bit of a walk into main area and harbour,we had bikes which was a bonus.
Provincetown is fun and lively.
Not sure about dogs allowed at hotel,could be a bit noisy at times.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bentleybelle0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surfside543, General Manager at Surfside Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, 17 October 2011
Thank you for your Trip Advisor comments, we are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We will be redecorating the rooms in our waterfront building over the winter months, I'm sure you will be pleased with the new decor should you stay with us again next season. We do allow dogs in our hotel, however, have never had noise complaints, if there is any barking we have all dog owner's cell phone number and they are called immediately to return to the hotel and take care of their dog.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Menominee, Michigan
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 October 2011

This property is rundown. The location is great, but the room was bad. Even the balcony was in poor condition. The room felt dirty. We will noy stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank JGB62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surfside543, General Manager at Surfside Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, 17 October 2011
We appreciate you Trip Advisor comments, however, I'm not certain you have the right property. All of our decks were completely repaired and have Deck Teck Decking on them, they are in very good condition.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plainsboro, New Jersey
Level Contributor
32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2011

Went 2 weeks ago for a friends wedding. Got into the room -- it reeked. Hideously decorated. Sliding glass door only secured with a small pin. Holes in the drapes. Tried to call the front desk to request a different room -- the phone didn't work. No pillowcases on the "decorative" pillows. In the middle of thr night, my wife tried to get an extra blanket, only to find an empty grape juice bottle in the bag with the extra pillows (no blanket). When we complained about it in the morning, the manager said, while apologizing, never sent anyone up to take it away. We almost left to go to another hotel, but everything else was booked. Under no circumstances will we be going back, I advise everyone else to stay away!!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Orren S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surfside543, General Manager at Surfside Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, 17 October 2011
We are sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay with us. We have checked the phone in this room and found nothing wrong with it, not sure why you were not able to use it. The decorative pillows in the room do not have pillow cases as they are just there for decoration and for use when sitting up in bed reading or watching television. When you let us know that the juice bottle had been put into the storage bag for extra pillows I did apoligize to you and my executive housekeeper went in to take the bottle out of the room and make sure the rest of the room was up to our standards. I'm sorry there was not another room to move you to, however, the house was full, all other guests from the four wedding groups we had in house seemed to have enjoyed their stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Provincetown hotels
1.1 km away
Harbor Hotel Provincetown
Harbor Hotel Provincetown
#5 of 14 in Provincetown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 848 reviews
1.4 km away
The Provincetown Hotel at Gabriel's
2.9 km away
Provincetown Inn Resort & Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 km away
Crowne Pointe Historic Inn & Spa
2.1 km away
Sandcastle Resort
Sandcastle Resort
#13 of 14 in Provincetown
3.0 of 5 bubbles 223 reviews
1.7 km away
Brass Key Guesthouse
Brass Key Guesthouse
#7 of 14 in Provincetown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 305 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Surfside Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Surfside Hotel & Suites

Property: Surfside Hotel & Suites
Address: 543 Commercial Street, Provincetown, MA 02657-1724
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Cod > Provincetown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Provincetown
#4 Business Hotel in Provincetown
#4 Family Hotel in Provincetown
#5 Romantic Hotel in Provincetown
Price range (per night): ₹ 10,964 - ₹ 28,494
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Surfside Hotel & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 88
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking Cape Cod Bay and Provincetown Harbor. Private beach, outdoor heated saline pool, complimentary breakfast, free WIFI, free parking. Courtyard with fire pit, bar service from our Lighthouse Bar. Easy walk to town, 3/4 of a mile through the art district. Pets welcome, pet treats, pet station and pet shower. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia and Agoda so you can book your Surfside Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Surfside Hotel And Suites
Surfside Hotel Provincetown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing